We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #99 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent location and good service”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I spent 4 nights here and it was a pretty decent stay albeit kind of pricey. But based on other reviews I've read about SF, the rates seemed par for the course. My biggest complaint was the smell in the hallways. It smelled like a hotel that just recently instituted a non-smoking ban. I don't really know what it was but it was not pleasant. However, the staff is very friendly and cordial. If there was any reason why I would return it would be because of the service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgar312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Edgar312,

Thank you for your review! We have not heard many complaints about the smell in our hallways, but we will investigate and see if any of the housekeeping chemicals we use are too harsh. Thank you for your feedback, and we are glad that our service exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your next visit to The Opal San Francisco! Thank you again,

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    526
    301
    73
    70
See reviews for
262
348
99
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of the city, so it was easy for us to travel to various downtown attractions with buses and cable cars. The older gentleman that checked us in was super nice! He gave us a larger suite (free upgrade, woohoo!). I'm not sure about the other rooms, but this one had really high ceilings. The hotel is old yes, but it's got its own charms. If you like old, quaint, rustic hotels, then you'll like this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zumishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

During our recent trip, I ran the San Francisco Marathon. Our first few nights in SF, we paid the big bucks to stay at the Hyatt Embarcadero so I would be close to the start/finish line. Our stay at the Hyatt was not perfect . . . it was expensive, very noisy, and the area was of course touristy. The restaurants around there were limited, and we didn't necessarily feel safe walking at night due to all the homeless.
Our vacation really started once we switched to the Opal. We were able to either walk or take the bus wherever we wanted to go. Japantown was a short walk, and we enjoyed seeing the homes on our trek to Haight. Like the Hyatt, the Opal wasn't perfect. But for the price and location, the Opal was by far the better deal. We had some issues with their dryer (took forever!!), and the bed at the Opal can't compare to that of the Hyatt's. I also wouldn't recommend walking the neighborhood near the Opal at night, but there are better, more reasonably priced restaurants to venture to during the day. Mel's Drive-In is connected to the Opal and serves your standard all American food. Nothing fancy . . . comprable to Denny's but with a better atmosphere. Tommy's Joynt is located across the street. It was recently featured on the Food Network as one of the best dives in the US. (We ran out of time and didn't make it there!) I am running the marathon next year, and I will skip staying near the start/finish line . . . I'll stay at the Opal and just take a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a nice hotel, located in van ness and Geary ave. 7 blocks from Union Square, good location.
This is not a 5 star place luxurious; this is just for sleep and rest, nothing special.
Rooms are clean, but the floor carpet had some nasty stains, making the room look older than it really was. Service was really good and helpful, free wi-fi included.

One thing I consider important when I am travelling is free breakfast, and Opal has a decent breakfast, which consists in (eggs, bread, yogurt, fruits, beagle, juices, and muffins).
I have read reviews of the homeless and safety of the neighborhood, let me tell you something, San Francisco has thousands of homeless and buns, you will find one in each street asking for money, you will also find also naked people walking the street or riding a bike.

Advice: Room doesn't have fridge nor microwave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Opal for 5 nights. While the room was small, it was very clean and well kept. My boyfriend even ran his hand over the top shelf in the closet because we were worried after reading other reviews. There was a modern tv, plenty of outlets and lamps. The bathroom was small, with a pedestal sink and only a small shower. However for the price it was fine. The staff was friendly and accommodating. There was continental breakfast every morning was was well stocked (if not a little crowded). The hotel is right up against a grittier part of town, but if you simply stay away of your surroundings I don't think it will be a problem. However the central location was nice as we were able to walk to union square, and if we really wanted to walk to the Wharf as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very nicely furnished, old-school hotel, located centrally in San Francisco. However, even the nicer rooms won't have a fridge or microwave, and the morning breakfast will give you the heeby-jeebies if you're nervous around crowds in hot, cramped rooms. Parking is available in a gated garage, which is good, because the surrounding neighborhood is what some would most generously describe as "colorful". But it's close to a cable car line, and we found it a great location to use as home base while we used Uber to get around to places beyond walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFE92MFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,327 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#125 of 229 in San Francisco
768 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#93 of 229 in San Francisco
1,001 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 229 in San Francisco
1,136 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#98 of 229 in San Francisco
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Property: The Opal San Francisco
Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring iPod docking stations and LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include limited onsite gated parking (for $41/tax per night), on-site ATM, ice machine, vending machines, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing