We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rodeway Inn Civic Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Oasis Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Coach Motor Lodge(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel EPIK(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
The Embassy Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Opal San Francisco(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Civic Center Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Phoenix Hotel SF(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Monarch Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
7
25
58
32
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
25
58
32
63
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I am appalled by the management and customer service at this location. We had separate reservations because we used points for one night and was told that for the nights with the points we did not need to check in again that day. I confirmed this several times while checking in. We then get a call at about midnight telling us we we're suppose to check in! When I asked in the morning why they found it necessary to wake us up, all he would say is that we were "suppose" to check in. He continued to argue with me, giving me excuses such as new hires but that still is no excuse for calling our room late at night! He never did apologize. There are several different ways this situation could have been handle in a more professional way! There was also a day that we came back to our room at 5:30 pm without having been cleaned yet. There was stains on the towels as well and my husband was so disgusted he wouldn't use the shower in order to not use them. We will never stay at a rodeway inn again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A good value for the money. Microwave and mini-refrigerator in the room. Convenient to transportation and a short distance from most activities. I stay here often and they have free parking.The room is somewhat bare, there wasn't even a chair in it to sit at the desk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binarynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were in San Francisco during America's Cup racing, so some accommodation was hard to find. We chose the Rodeway Inn because it had "free parking". There is limited free parking there, and in San Francisco this is worth a lot. Having now been to SF, if you are only going to be downtown I would highly recommend NOT taking a car, and staying closer to the centre. Parking and driving in SF is problematic. We needed a car, and the Rodeway Inn does provide limited safe parking inside - we didn't have a problem getting a space each night, but it is on first come first served basis.
The hotel is basic, but everything worked fine. Good showers and internet.
We were surprised that the room was still being prepared when we checked in at 4 pm, but this seemed to be the time they cleaned the rooms as the cleaners were busy at a similar time the following night.
No street noise, but with the carpark underneath it is a little noisy if a motorbike drives in late at night (noise echo's through the middle of the hotel).
We did have difficulty finding a nearby eatery. There are good places in Union Square about 15 mins walk away, but the immediate vicinity of the hotel is not one we would venture after dark.
Overall we were pleased with the choice - very good value especially with parking near the San Francisco downtown area, but some travellers may be after something better (and will pay more accordingly).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the Rodeway Inn last year with a couple of friends. It's a moderate accomodation which we chose primarily because of it's excellent location. After our 3 night's stay - we have to admit that the location is probably this hotel's only strong suit.
It's a cheap hotel that says you have free parking available - but in reality it's on first come first served basis. The parking lot is cramped and it's difficult to park even mid sized cars. If you come late you have to park outside on Eddy St.
The rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Our bathrooms and beds were moderately clean - considering the rest of the hotel and the rooms did not have any foul odour. The elevator is really tiny though - so take the stairs if you can.
We were located on the 2nd floor, but even downstairs it was pretty quite at night. Breakfast is poor - to put it plainly. The wi-fi worked properly all the time. The manager was nice and friendly and apologized for the lack of sufficient parking. The parking lot entrance isn't closed at night, so outsiders can peer into your car; but the stairs to the room and elevator is gated.
Now comes the good stuff. It's located right on Van Ness Ave which is one of San Francisco's main thoroughfare. San Francisco has excellent public transport system; besides - driving in the busy, narrow city streets and parking parallel in the often 20 degree inclines are a nigtmare for most drivers - so you'd like to stay as close to bus stops or train stations as you can. Rodeway Inn serves that purpose. There are multiple bus stops within a 10 min walking distance. Powell St station - which connects to all of San Francisco as well as neighbouring cities via BART - is a 15 min walk. The cable cars leave from 4th St - right in front of Powell. A word of caution though. If you choose to walk to or from Powell St via Eddy - you pass through Tenderloin - which isn't amongst San Francisco's best neighbourhoods. (Me and 2 friends walked down Eddy at 1 AM in the morning - and upon reflection - realize it was a mistake). I'd definitely not recommend walking after dark.
Other nearby attractions that you can walk to are Union square, the City Hall and the Asian museum of Art. We visited a fantastic farmer's market that was located right infront on City Hall on a Sunday morning.
There are several eateries within a few yards of the hotel including a Pronto pizza (yummy!), a sushi place and the usual Burger Kings and Mac'Ds. Most remain open till late.

Accomodation cost in San Francisco is exorbitant - so even for a cheap Rodeway like this one - expect to shelve out almost $130 a night. This hotel suited our purpose, was relatively cheaper, had excellent location and felt safe and quite. This isn't a Hilton - but if you are looking for a cheap centrally located place for a few nights - try it out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smonda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Not much. I was sent to this place since the Oasis next door gave away my reserved room to a higher bidder. A run-down motel that should cost 50 bucks in the real world - but everything in SanFran has a fantasy price attached. I will come back after I won the lottery but not to the Rodeway Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pushkasmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews