We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, now has wireless Internet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #23 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mariott Marquis for 4 nights in May. It was a great stay, and now the hotel has internet! Previous reviews say the hotel doesn't have internet, but that is not true anymore! Internet was no extra charge!

We did agree with other reviews when they say that food at the hotel is very expensive. Drinks were even more expensive. The hotel was great, but we ate elsewhere.

Otherwise, the hotel was clean, and the bed was so comfortable. We were lucky and got a great corner suite with a city view! I would recommend getting a room on a higher floor, not only for view, but to avoid street noise.

Great location to Chinatown, union square, trolly car and the Bart. The hotel was in a great spot to walk around the entire city, or close to all transport if walking isn't your style. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchbebe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Pleasure to receive your comments regarding our "now available Wireless Internet" in our guest rooms. We are very excited to share this great news as well!

Thank you and have a wonderful day from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,895 - 4,901 of 5,916 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

Purpose of stay was a convention - had no choice.
Asked for a fridge and they provided one free - good thing too - hotel dining was VERY expensive, so we shopped at walgreens or ate off site.
In-room intenet was $15 a day for wired. Free wireless only available in lobby but my Dell laptop picked up the signal (24th floor!!) so I connected free - slow - but free all 7 days.
Housekeeping staff excellent. Concierge helped with all local tours.
Starbucks across Market street cheaper than on site. Plethora of restaurants within walking diatance and the concierge desk has a list of eateries with maps within 9 block radius - very helpful.
Rooms sort of small, but very comfortable pillow top beds.
Parking is $76 a day - but all major public trans go right past the hotel on Market Street.

Room Tip: Get a room facing MArket Street or 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubynRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This was a planned get away for the hubby and I. We used Trip Advisor to review hotel and area and must agree with the majority of the comments. Hotel was just that, a hotel, nothing outstanding (other than the staff) to say about it. Staff was outstanding, Concierge Desk staff was great and extremely informative. Hertz staff was not, I actually chose to use the 800# instead. We were quite surprised that the hotel restaurant closed in the early afternoon and was not open for dinner.
Area around hotel was questionable, depending on which direction you chose. To walk south or west, was iffy at best. Lots of homeless who became rather invasive. Standing in line for the Trolley at Market and Powell the transit authority employees were actually having to shoo the homeless away repeatedly. Walking East and North was a completely different story and we walked it without any feelings of insecurity at all. We did however, make a conscience decision to be back at the hotel before dark.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czigle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

San Francisco is a favorite destination. I stayed at the Marriott at a recent conference held at the Mascone Center. The hotel is conveniently located to Mascone and to the complex of museums like SFMOMA and the Contemporary Jewish Museum. The overall feel for the hotel is "we've got you captive to your conference location, so don't expect a whole lot." The hotel itself looks tired. The reception area needs a freshing up with a better lighting and a more contemporary feel. Options for dining at the hotel is extremely limited. In a town filled with tapas and wine bars, I'm surprised that there aren't better options in the hotel itself. Breakfast was basic and uninspiring. The room at the hotel was uninspiring. The air vents and cooling system were loud and made for a long night of tossing and turning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LevGonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I stayed at the Marriott Marquis for four nights in May, in town for cultural tourism. On the upside, they did follow most of the options requested on my Marriott Rewards profile and provided a mini fridge in the room and a down-free room. On the other hand, no newspaper was delivered to my room. The coffee maker in the room didn't provide enough decaf, and was not as good as several other hotels I have stayed in recently. The television selection was also somewhat limited, with a narrow range of cable channels. I never tried any of the restaurants, but did notice that the lobby Starbucks had limited hours. On the upside, the room was large, in good condition, elevators were ample and came quickly, and I didn't experience excessive hallway noise. I would probably stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and sharing your thoughts and experience with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Was in town for a confrence and the convention center is a quick and pleasent walk across the street. My room was huge and the price was the best I have found in San Francisco. The bed was great and so were the sheets. Shower pressure was great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissieMom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Our Best, from S.F. Marriott Marquis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Stayed 3 nights here at this hotel on the 16th flr (Mid-Rise). The hotel is within 2-3 blocks of the Powell street BART/Muni station. Had ordered a refrigerator for medication at check in but had to go back to the front desk about 2-3 hours later to ask about the refrigerator again. It was delivered shortly afterwards. The room had a comfortable bed and great water pressure for such a large hotel. I never had to wait more than 10 seconds for an elevator. The fitness center had plenty of cardio and weight machines especially for a hotel gym.

I will agree with other reviewers that there are a lot of people hanging around in the lobby area but I guess with a large hotel that is to be expected. The check out process was very easy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjones4180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you for being our guest, and we do hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £135 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover awe-inspiring views, astonishing amenities and unparalleled customer service at San Francisco Marriott Marquis. Located just south of Market Street in SoMa, our luxurious Downtown San Francisco hotel offers easy access to the city's best attractions, including Moscone Center, the Yerba Buena Gardens, Union Square shopping and AT&T Park, home of the Giants. Before embarking on your Bay Area adventure, enjoy a buffet breakfast at B55 Craft House & Kitchen or grab a to-go snack at Mission Street Pantry. In the evening, break a sweat in our modern fitness center, treat yourself to a massage at our full-service spa, or savor inspiring penthouse views and cocktails at The View Lounge, located atop the hotel on the 39th floor, before retiring to deluxe rooms with sleek decor and high-tech amenities. Our hotel also offers more than 121,000 square feet of sophisticated event space for corporate events and meetings. Book your escape today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing