We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge but excellent location and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #25 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here for 4 days for a conference. The hotel is enormous and caters predominantly for business stays. Despite this the staff are extremely pleasant and check-in queues are rapidly and efficiently cleared. There are several elevators to the numerous floors divided into two blocks catering different levels so that you never wait long for one. The rooms are large, bright and the beds extremely comfortable. The bathroom is excellent. They charge for internet in the rooms but don't tell you that it is free in the large lobby and bar area. There are several seats there to work on your computer for free! The location of the hotel is superb - within minutes of the Moscone Centre in one direction and the main shopping area, tram etc in the other. I would certainly stay there again..

Room Tip: Can be long walk from elevator to room - try for room close to elevators if returning frequently to...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Hello,

Sounds like you had a great time.. Good to know how much you enjoyed our hotel and location... Hope to see you soon!

Our best Sincerely... S.F. Marriott Marquis~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,506)
There are newer reviews for San Francisco Marriott Marquis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,259 - 4,265 of 5,514 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Have stayed here several times in January with colleagues for an annual convention at the Moscone Centre. Location for Moscone is excellent. Everything about the hotel is adequate if you get an advanced room rate of ~$250. Rooms, catering, facilities are all functional. I would be very disappointed at the last minute rate of $550.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is a very nice hotel. My husband and I stayed here for 5 days. Everything is close by and they have a wonderful bar on the top floor for drinks and app. Beautiful view of the city and no cover charge. Only problem is our GPS had trouble finding it so have a map of the city handy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDNSEAMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Greetings, and thank you for being our valued guest.

Best regards,
S.F. Marriott Marquis~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Was suprised at the friendly staff and the superb decor. I stayed here for a business trip.. rooms were clean and staff was very helpful. Everything I needed was in the room. If I'm in town for the night again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

nice staff and everything you could need right there, but the rooms need to be updated for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear guest,

We do apologize that your room was not what you would have excepted. Yes we can agree our rooms need some TLC. And we are very excited to share we will have a complete redo in our guest rooms beggining in ealry 2012.

Best regards,
From the S.F. Marriott Marquis~~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed here for business recently and was really impressed by the staff and their attentiveness….several people went out of their way to make my stay and my experience great. I needed to run to a meeting offsite but upon my return, I needed to have my car waiting for me. They took my request, had my bag and the car waiting for me. Big kudos go out to Kathy at the Bell Desk and Paul at the valet. I will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EEC1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Greetings,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments and great gestures regarding our staff.

Sincerely,
S.F. Marriott Marquis~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Large Hotel with all the amenities and generally well kept. Service was good. Room was a good size, as was the bathroom. Everything needed for the business traveller and decent location for vacationers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Greetings,

From the S. F. Marriott Marquis... We do appreciate your comments. Thank you.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
2,976 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,278 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
3,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £138 - £583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing