We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They really don't have wireless access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #30 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They really don't have wireless access”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have been here for 3 days and paid for wireless access but coverage is minimal. They are going to credit me back but that doesn't compensate for the frustration..

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnychristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Good day,

We appreciate your honest feedback, and truly apologize for any inconveniences during your stay regarding our internet services.

Sincerely,
S.F. Marriott Marquis~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,902
    1,964
    613
    163
    100
See reviews for
887
907
173
2,142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Some of the negative things that have been written about this hotel are true in that: 1) it is fairly expensive (but what decent hotel in San Francisco isn't?); 2) it is a standard full service Marriott property and all that goes with that (nice, but unremarkable); 3) the rooms are beginning to look a little tired; and 4) the Concierge Lounge (for you Gold and Platinum members) is average, at best.

Offsetting these factors, however, is a perfect location. You are literally across the street from Union Square shopping. And there is a great mall a block away that, in addition to shopping, has a fabulous food court and grocery store for affordable, tasty, and healthy dining.

I am in San Francisco frequently for business and I have stayed at a number of hotels in town. The Marquis is my pick for value and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a view of Union Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Greetings, and thank you for your recent stay...

Regarding our guest rooms we have fantastic news! We have began renovations in our guest rooms, and will be completed by late 2013.

We do hope that you will visit back with us once completed. Have a wonderful day~

Sincerely,
S.F. Marriott Marquis~~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed here for 4 days for a conference. The hotel is enormous and caters predominantly for business stays. Despite this the staff are extremely pleasant and check-in queues are rapidly and efficiently cleared. There are several elevators to the numerous floors divided into two blocks catering different levels so that you never wait long for one. The rooms are large, bright and the beds extremely comfortable. The bathroom is excellent. They charge for internet in the rooms but don't tell you that it is free in the large lobby and bar area. There are several seats there to work on your computer for free! The location of the hotel is superb - within minutes of the Moscone Centre in one direction and the main shopping area, tram etc in the other. I would certainly stay there again..

Room Tip: Can be long walk from elevator to room - try for room close to elevators if returning frequently to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Hello,

Sounds like you had a great time.. Good to know how much you enjoyed our hotel and location... Hope to see you soon!

Our best Sincerely... S.F. Marriott Marquis~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Have stayed here several times in January with colleagues for an annual convention at the Moscone Centre. Location for Moscone is excellent. Everything about the hotel is adequate if you get an advanced room rate of ~$250. Rooms, catering, facilities are all functional. I would be very disappointed at the last minute rate of $550.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is a very nice hotel. My husband and I stayed here for 5 days. Everything is close by and they have a wonderful bar on the top floor for drinks and app. Beautiful view of the city and no cover charge. Only problem is our GPS had trouble finding it so have a map of the city handy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDNSEAMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Greetings, and thank you for being our valued guest.

Best regards,
S.F. Marriott Marquis~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Was suprised at the friendly staff and the superb decor. I stayed here for a business trip.. rooms were clean and staff was very helpful. Everything I needed was in the room. If I'm in town for the night again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

nice staff and everything you could need right there, but the rooms need to be updated for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear guest,

We do apologize that your room was not what you would have excepted. Yes we can agree our rooms need some TLC. And we are very excited to share we will have a complete redo in our guest rooms beggining in ealry 2012.

Best regards,
From the S.F. Marriott Marquis~~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#62 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing