We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but ask for a king room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but ask for a king room”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

As others have said, this is a pretty typical Marriott. My only real complaint is the size of the bed. We had a two double bed room instead of one king. My wife and I are not large people and it was a little too cozy sharing a double bed. I imagine that they can't fit two queens in the same area, as the two beds did take up a lot of space. The room was clean and fairly quiet and we were able to get a refrigerator delivered -- it would be nice to be able to request this when booking, though.

This is in a pretty good location, with lots of shopping within a short walk. We did not make it to the lounge, which boasts great views and overpriced drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrewingRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear BrewingRover,

Thank you so much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. During our recent room renovations we were able to add additional room types to give our guests more choices. We now have rooms with two queen size beds and rooms with one king and a sofa sleeper in addition to our king and double/double rooms.

Thanks again for your review and for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,143
    2,073
    638
    167
    109
See reviews for
1,006
974
178
2,312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I arrived at 23:00 last night. There was nobody to help with my bags and no offer to show me to my room. Loud Techno Pop music was being blasting out from the lobby speakers which was completely inappropriate for, what is supposed to be, a luxury hotel largely occupied by business people attending a convention.

The eleveator is located at the end of the building resulting in a long walk to my room which is all the way down the opposite end of a freezing cold corridor. Although I have 2 key cards, neither of them will open the door to my room which means I now have to go all the way back to the lobby and stand in line for 15 minutes to get help.

When I get into my room, the view out of the window is of a service roof with trash and littered broken emtpty vodka bottles (see pics). There is almost no natural light, the wifi is $15 per day and there is not even a courtesy bottle of water in the room.

This hotel is worth no more than $100 per night, not $300. I will not be staying in a Marriott again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wombletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear wombletrip,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I was very disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience during your stay as this is not the usual high level of service Marriott and the San Francisco Marriott Marquis is known for. I will be sure to share your comments with our team and invite you to contact us directly should you wish to discuss your stay further.

Please accept our apologies we hope we can once again welcome you back to San Francisco.

Sincerely,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was not impressed with this Marriott. I try to stay at Marriott when I travel for work for the rewards but this hotel turned me off. The room was boring with a horrible view. There was a homeless man defecating outside in the street. The bar food was boring and they ran out of pinot grigio after 1 glass. The front desk was very friendly and there was a starbucks in the lobby which is nice. Sometimes I think hotels that are in prime locations slack off on amenities because they can. Although I travel here for business it would be nice to have some better features in the rooms like a jacuzzi tub. Also, there is no security and no one stopped a homeless man with mental illness from using the restrooms in the bar. I didn't care so much that he used the restroom but he had to walk by the elevators to get to it and the elevators don't require a keycard to use them, so he could have gone right up and waited outside someones room. You just never know who will be dangerous and this hotel didn't take any safety precautions.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Erin M,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We understand that guest safety is very important and I want to assure you that the hotel does indeed have a very extensive and capable security team. We typically have security stationed in our lobby and we monitor all entrances and elevator banks at all times.

Erin, I truly apologize for the discomfort you experienced and I hope we can earn you back as a valued guest.

In the Spirit of Hospitality,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here two nights in June and really enjoyed it. Had a spacious room (especially for S.F.) with a gorgeous view of the city. Clean in every way with super comfortable beds. Wonderful staff. Concierge staff were so helpful. Great "home base" location close to shopping, some restaurants and transportation to get around the city. Parking was pricey at about $65/day, but there is some parking at a garage a block away that is about half that. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a city view room - worth the extra $$. Don't miss out on a drink or late night snack at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlM0rgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stay at this Marriott quite often when we visit SF. It's our favorite location of all the Marriotts in the area. It's large and was re- done a few years ago to bring it up to date. The rooms are spacious and the staff always helpful. The one suggestion I have is to check its price compared to other Marriotts because it can vary greatly and can be on the higher end compared to the others and then, other times, drop below. It can be noisy though also due to its location. Still, a great choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, CA
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here one weekend for a convention. It's a nice hotel, staff is efficient and friendly. They gave us a free in-room refrigerator upon request. Outstanding blackout curtains, comfy beds and linens. Tons of electrical outlets to charge your portable devices. Neighborhood is a bit noisy, it's not avoidable.
Parking tip: instead of using the hotel's expensive valet parking, park a half block away in the 5th Street/Mission parking garage. Much cheaper and you can self park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MenloMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Great location in the centre of the city and very close to union square. Very plush interior. We only had a basic room but found it to be of an excellent standard. Staff very helpful particularly the concierge. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy12327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,909 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,176 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
1,163 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing