We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #23 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon. Firstly, the staff at the Concierge was beyond helpful. They were friendly and were always quick to provide assistance. The bedding was comfortable as every Marriott hotels are.

The location is conveniently located at the heart of the city. There was public transport for easy travelling all around and even to the airport. Shopping was a breeze as not only were there malls but so many other stores just all around. You can also take a slow walk down to the pier.

Food was easy to find too and the 24 hr diner around the corner is a must! Their food is exquisite. A definite must stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazreen_Muntaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Nazreen_Muntaj,
We are delighted that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us. We appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon if not for your 1st Anniversary!
Best wishes,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,672 - 3,678 of 5,916 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Marriott Marquis in San Francisco is a world class hotel in a world class city. Not much more needs to be said. It is expensive like everything in San Francisco. The location is excellent, with endless shopping, eating and drinking options nearby. It's an easy walk to AT&T Park as well. There is a public parking structure kitty corner from the hotel's front door that's half the price of the Marriott's valet. We felt our car was reasonably safe in the public parkade. An expensive drink at The View, the Marriott's top floor lounge, should be considered mandatory. Of course you can go up to the lounge and skip the drink but still take in the stunning views.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear protravel1,
Thank you for your amazing review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis! We are delighted to hear you and your family had a wonderful time exploring San Francisco and enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming your and your family back soon!
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
P.S. Thanks for sharing your great photos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have stayed all over the city and this is one of the best. Great location, nice lobby, friendly and helpful staff. Comparable to Hilton or Nikko. Throbbing street life on three sides, and close to excellent dining and sightseeing--about a 20-minute walk to North Beach. Room was good size and very comfortable. No bad views on upper floors, and a 360 from the bar at The View. Not quite the view you can get at the Mark Hopkins, but there it's not 360. All sorts of transportation options nearby. I came just to enjoy San Francisco and this hotel filled that bill very well.

Room Tip: Construction on the Fourth Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Dukesnyder,
Thank you for your 5-Star review! It was delightful to read you enjoyed all the San Francisco Marriott Marquis has to offer along with the vibrant neighborhoods just steps from our door. We can't wait to have you back soon!
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the SF Marriott Marquis for MacWorld 2014 at reduced rates. A wonderful time as the folks at the Bin55, View, Bell Hop, and Mission Grille were all very cordial and provided outstanding service.

Had dinner a couple of times at Bin55 and Cathy one the main servers those evenings was very kind and absolutely made sure my order was correct and promptly provided. Other servers like Alina and the nice gentleman also made sure my order was correct.

The room I was in was perfect temperature wise and just right. The heat or AC barely kicked at all in the week I was there. The only negative item of my the room was the beds were a bit short and I'm under 5' 9.

Room service was very responsive the nights and breakfast time I ordered. Maybe have been a bit pricey, but I enjoyed it. Taxis are easily available, the nice man with the Top Hat at the Taxi area, easily whistles for the taxis that literally arrive every minute. The. Viatorm bus tour service also picks and drops you off here if you had a pre-arranged tour; another wonderful perk of staying here.

WiFi costs extra in your room, but I brought my own Verizon 4520L modem with me so had zero impact to me. The other times, free WiFi in either the lobby area or Starbucks or at the Moscone center where the MacWorld 2014 was held.

On the day of the checkout, it was very quiet. A very nice stay and love to come back here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank fratwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear fratwell,
Thank you for your 5-Star review! It gives us great pleasure to read such wonderful compliments regarding your experience with us, particularly your praise of our Bin 55 Team. Please know we will be sure they are recognized in our next Staff meeting. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Marquis the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.
Kind regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I've stayed here half a dozen times over the past 6 months. The location is close to the office, BART, a few blocks from Union Square, across the street from a mall, and has a Starbucks in the lobby. The rooms are nicely sized and the staff has always been kind and efficient. This location also works particularly well when my family decides to tag along.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank luvwatercantswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear luvwatercantswim,
Thank you for your fabulous review! What an honor to read you have been staying with us for many of your visits to San Francisco. We are so delighted you have been enjoying your stays along with so many attributes the San Francisco Marriott Marquis has to offer. We can’t wait to welcome you back and hopefully your family soon to the City by the Bay!
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the Marriott Marquis for 4 nights and we were happy that it was right across the street from parking (in hotel parking was too expensive!) and walking distance to chinatown, awesome shopping and great eateries.

The View gives a great view of the city and is a must do for a romantic evening. The only problem is that it gets very crowded and it's hard to get a seat. The waitresses are very nice & although we couldn't find them when we were ready to leave, we understood that she was very busy.

We didn't get to eat at the Mission Grille restaurant at the hotel bc they closed so early for breakfast & kind of expensive. And the Bin wine bar next to checking closed at 11pm... What if we wanted a drink at 1115?

So the hotel room was a decent size and comfortable but when our flight was cancelled and we needed to extend our stay for 1 more night, we were at first told that it shouldn't be a problem. When we tried to confirm a few hours later, a manager (I think his name was Craig Nicholson) demanded we tell him who we spoke to earlier because they were wrong - we would not be able to stay at the quoted rate ... We were very upset bc we had already paid for 4 nights and they would rather get someone else in off the street than let us pay for another night even thought we offered to pay $100 more than what we had paid for previously. He was very rude, unyielding and unsympathetic. We have been loyal patrons of the Marriott chain for almost 10 years but because of this one rude manager and one incident, we will never stay at a Marriott hotel again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Everlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Everlyn R.,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We appreciate your honest and valuable feedback; as this assists us in further improving our services. We do hope you accept our sincere apology for your experience with one of our front office managers when trying to extend your reservation. This must have been very frustrating and we are sorry it occurred. This is not how we wish to treat one of our valued guests. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.
Kind regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is my 3 or 4th stay here, its been a couple years. Hotel has been remolded nicely!

The rooms were updated nicely, clean and more modern rooms. Comfy beds and a good atmosphere.

front desk check in was easy, nice friendly staff. Malte was excellent, much appreciate his great service.

Concierge lounge is nice for those level rooms and elite members, Breakfast was large and quite good overall.

If you have a conference at Moscone West, this is the closest hotel by far to the show, Less than 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Brian C.,
Thank you for your 5-star review! It was an honor to read you have stayed with us for several of your visits to San Francisco and we value your loyalty and support of Marriott when traveling. It was a pleasure to learn our location worked perfectly for your stay; our hotel has one of the premier locations to the Moscone Convention Center, and is just steps away from Union Square, fine dining and transportation. Your wonderful comments and compliments regarding all aspects of your including our host Malte are appreciated. Please know Malte will be recognized during our next team meeting. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £135 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover awe-inspiring views, astonishing amenities and unparalleled customer service at San Francisco Marriott Marquis. Located just south of Market Street in SoMa, our luxurious Downtown San Francisco hotel offers easy access to the city's best attractions, including Moscone Center, the Yerba Buena Gardens, Union Square shopping and AT&T Park, home of the Giants. Before embarking on your Bay Area adventure, enjoy a buffet breakfast at B55 Craft House & Kitchen or grab a to-go snack at Mission Street Pantry. In the evening, break a sweat in our modern fitness center, treat yourself to a massage at our full-service spa, or savor inspiring penthouse views and cocktails at The View Lounge, located atop the hotel on the 39th floor, before retiring to deluxe rooms with sleek decor and high-tech amenities. Our hotel also offers more than 121,000 square feet of sophisticated event space for corporate events and meetings. Book your escape today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing