We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel centrally located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #41 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel centrally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very nice hotel with a friendly staff. It's been a long time since the check in clerk showed me to the elevator. Room is large with all the essentials and a nice view. The area is centrally located to restaurants and night life. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 3844 has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank originalmissscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear originalmissscarlett,
Thank you for your excellent review and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis during your recent visit to the Bay Area. We realize you have many lodging options available when traveling and we appreciate you choosing Marriott. We pride ourselves on providing high customer service and we are always very proud to read comments relating to our attentive and friendly hosts. It's pleasing to read our excellent location allowed you to enjoy your time by seeking out fine restaurants and “hot spots” just steps away from our door. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.
Kind regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,655
    1,872
    595
    157
    93
See reviews for
810
848
163
1,943
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is ideally located at 4th & Mission just steps away from Moscone Convention Centre (1 block north). I stayed here for 3 nights last weekend for a conference. The Starbucks in the lobby was a plus for the early mornings. It was also walking distance to Union Square for some convenient shopping.

There were 3 sets of elevators - for low, mid-level and high levels. I stayed on a low level (6th floor) and my room was a pretty far walk from the elevator. The room was very big and spacious, but unfortunately also very dark due to lack of windows (there was only one very small one). The king bed was comfortable and the washroom was a bit dated (with a tub).

The best part of this hotel was The View Lounge on the 39th floor. We came here twice for drinks. The view was very pretty, and the bar got very busy as soon as the sun set. Unfortunately due to the high volumes of people, the service was very slow. It always took forever to get a drink.

Overall - this hotel is everything expected from a big chain hotel next to a convention centre. I would probably not stay here if I was travelling for personal vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Danactive,
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visit to the City by the Bay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your thorough feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Kind regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in very good shape with a very courteous staff. Rooms are sized right and in modern shape. Concierge lounge is especially god with great breakfasts and nice evening spreads. My one complaint would be that there are no high end restaurants on site but there are places to feed you for each meal. Gym was very nice also.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank matthewedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear matthewedward,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis! It was a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait to have you back!
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel, don't usually stay in such large hotels as I usually favour more smaller boutique styles, none the less the hotel was in a great location, rooms were clean and comfy and staff were very helpful. The largeness of the hotel made in slightly impersonal, it really was huge.
Rooftop bar was had a lovely view of the city at night. Would stay again simply for the location was so easy to just walk to tram lines and buses to get around the city.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blairokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Blairokitty,
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your visit to San Francisco. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are one of the largest hotels in the city, we are sorry we came across as one of the largest hotels. This is not at all how we want our guests to feel when staying with us. We want our hotel to be your home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back to our great city.
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I travel a fair amount for business, and we most often stay at Marriotts in various cities -- so that's the lens through which I'll view this hotel. Which means that if you're looking for a place to take the family on a trip, there are probably other reviews that would be more germane.

The more I stay at them, the more I enjoy Marriotts -- for business travel. The beds are (always!) comfortable. The rooms are large, clean, nicely appointed and great places to crash after long work days. The housekeepers are professional and conscientious -- and they're more than willing to provide the small touches that make all the difference in this kind of travel.

The location was very convenient, both for our business needs and for a little bit of off-hours tourism as well. Very near the financial district, a short walk to Nob Hill and Chinatown, a shorter walk to the city's historic street cars and the Powell Street terminus for two of the city's storied streetcar lines.

The Mission Grill breakfast spread is really good, though they don't do dinner. (Lunch? Don't know; was always working through lunch.) The lobby bar/restaurant menu is good, though portions are a little small and the general lobby design and layout mean that you'll be eating in a space that doesn't approach a relaxing, intimate dining experience. The food was good, though.

One of the hotel's attractions is the 39th floor -- a very nice bar with great views of the city (and beyond). Food service as well. But because the lobby bar/eatery closes at 11, the 39th floor gets (even more) crowded after that. It ends up being noisy, and crowded -- which can be fun. But it definitely wasn't a particularly relaxing space after you've been working all day.

Really like this hotel, and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Sean M.,
Thank you for your wonderful review and your valuable comments. We appreciate you for becoming such a loyal Marriott guest and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visit to the Bay Area. We are so pleased to hear you will be staying with us once again when your travels bring you back to the City by the Bay and we can’t wait to welcome you back!
Kind regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Marriott Marquis in celebration for my birthday. Prior to making this reservation, I had researched many hotels, and finally decided on this one. I'm so glad that I had! As soon as we pulled up to the hotel, the valet guys were extremely nice and accommodating. Checking in was smooth, and they even upgraded us to a suite!!! The room was extremely large. It was beautiful.

Then it was time to go to dinner. It was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel to eat at E&O Trading Company, and another 8 minute walk from there to check out the Metreon. This hotel is in the most ideal location. I highly recommend not driving anywhere, and walk. There was shopping, good eats, excellent bars, and 2 movie theaters! What more could you ask for?!

The bed was very comfortable. Usually, I have a difficult time sleeping in strange places, but that night, I knocked out! It was very quiet. Lovely...

Thanks, Marriott, for yet another excellent stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightkine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear wrightkine,
Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so delighted to hear were an “Excellent Hotel” during your birthday celebration in San Francisco. We can’t wait to have you back soon!
Best wishes,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a nice time at the Mariott hotel. It was nice rooms and friendly staff. The best thing was that the hotel was so central. We were a little disappointed in the pool area because you had to pay extra to get access to the Sauna . Otherwise we were happy with everything.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria_travel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Maria_travel2014,
Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us and taking the time to share your kind review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We are pleased to read our hosts assisted in making your day a memorable one. Although the use of the pool and fitness center is complimentary; please accept my apology the fee for using the sauna was not explained properly to you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#60 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,342 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#57 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing