We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not worth the money ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location, not worth the money ”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, the hotel lobby is very luxurious, but the rooms are basic and average, the beds were comfortable. The buffet breakfast was ok but not worth the $$. The staff were not friendly/approachable and the bar downstairs a total rip off.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Jacob N,
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visit to San Francisco. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our central location and our famous Marriott bedding. We strive to make sure all guests have an exciting and memorable experience, so it is disappointing to read that you did not experience our usual high levels of hospitality. We appreciate you sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive so we may review the items with our management team members. We do hope to have the honor of welcoming you back on your next visit to beautiful city.
Best regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,233
    2,120
    653
    170
    113
See reviews for
1,055
1,001
179
2,385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

the hotel was very good.workers were very friendly.we loved the hotel.location it was in the centre of san francisco you can walk to the powell street than you can get on a cable car and see that most of san francisco.It was perfect!We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights,beautiful 2 nights.

Room Tip: ıf your first time for san Francisco ask reception to view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Selen E,
Thank you for your 5-star review! We are thrilled you chose the San Francisco Marriott Marquis as your hotel for your visit to San Francisco. It was pleasing to hear you enjoyed our friendly hospitality, superb location for enjoying all our amazing city has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I'm rather late with my review since we stayed here the first week in February when we were in San Francisco for a conference at the Moscone Center. This hotel is very nice, clean, and comfortable. Check-in was friendly; the Concierge desk personnel were pleasant and helpful; and in general, the staff throughout the hotel – Executive Lounge, restaurants, housekeeping – are hospitable, professional, and well-trained.

The cocktail lounge on the top floor has spectacular views of the city. They only serve drinks and small plates here.

Bin 55, the lobby bar/casual restaurant serves rather decent food, a nice selection of wines, and good draft beer, but the noise level is quite high when it is packed with people. In fact, the lobby, in general, is rather loud with noise from the restaurant and so many people coming & going and meeting in the lobby.

The Executive Lounge was very large with plenty of seating. The breakfast buffet was very nice with the usual choices – cereals, oatmeal, eggs, potatoes, bacon or sausage, fruits, pastries, etc. In the evening there is a light buffet. There are plenty of staff working to replenish food, clear tables and help to serve guests.

Our room on the 28th floor was an upgraded room with a view, looking West. It had a comfortable bed, and a loveseat rather than just a single chair.

The hotel is very close to the Convention Center and close to shopping near the Market and Powell Street intersection. Union Square is about 3 blocks away.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay. My only gripe is that at 4:00 am when we really would have appreciated a hot shower before our early morning departure, there was no hot water. We let the water run for a while hoping that it would warm up, but it stayed cold. I can’t say if this was a one-time problem or if they turn the thermostat down at night to save money.

Room Tip: Higher rooms might give you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Souris,
Thank you for your great review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our warm and friendly service, convenient location, delicious dinning selections and The View. We do apologize for the for the hot water issue you experienced. We appreciate your taking time to post about your stay, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice within the past two weeks and have been very pleased with my room and the staff here. They have the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on in a hotel too! Being a Gold club member I had access to free breakfast and an evening reception both if which are delicious! I don't normally eat hotel breakfasts but theirs is actually good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RQ-Traveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear HopMomma,
Thank you also for being such a loyal Marriott guest and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visits to San Francisco. We appreciate your 5-star review and keeping us as one of your preferred hotels! It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your business is much appreciated and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, CA
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This well-located hotel offers easy access to Downtown and some of the best service we've ever had. From the check-in desk to the concierge to the bellman, the service was exceptionally friendly and efficient. Yes, it's expensive to park a car, but that's true all over town. The concierge floors offers a wide variety for breakfast, plenty of bottled water, and evening "snacks" that are very generous. My only complaint is that I didn't find a quiet place, like a sitting area, where I could relax and enjoy a glass of wine or a good book. The lobby and concierge rooms are vibrant with people, but sometimes a tired traveler doesn't need vibrant. How about some wing chairs and cozy couches? In a quiet spot...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Barbara J,
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We are delighted you had a great experience with us. Thank you especially for your fantastic comments regarding our service. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your idea on more “quiet spots”. We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to our beautiful city.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was very fortunate to find a good rate at this wonderful hotel. We stayed from May 21-24, 2014

I was there to take a break from the loss of a family member two weeks earlier. I find San Francisco a wonderful place to visit.

At check in, I received Superior service by Regina L.! She helped me check in early, gave me an upgrade to a corner Room on the 29th floor and followed up with me to see that all was okay with the room!

Regina is the best!

Sabrina at the front desk helped my son, who later stayed with me for the Cisco conference, with one of his Marriott Gold benefits.

Alphonso at the Bell Captain desk was so great. he helped me store my luggage while waitung for my room. Also, a great help with change.

Our room was beautifully kept and clean.!

We appreciate Connie, Romy, Ditas and Larisa who were helpful in Housekeeping

We also appreciate, Stephanie, Mary, Timothy, Caesar and Paula in the Concierge 2nd floor area.

The food was amazing at breakfast, dinner and dessert time!
Paul in the .gift .shop was very kind.

When we needed to check out, I was glad that Regina was there to help us. it gave me a chance to say to her how much she had helped make our stay special!

Roger was outside in the Valet area and helped us with our luggage and hailing a cab for us.

I will be back soon to this great hotel!

LVH, Silver Marriott Member
BCH, Gold Marriott Member

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigherton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Leigherton H,
Please accept our sincere condolences. Thank you for taking the time to post your 5-star review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We realize you have many lodging options available to you when traveling and we appreciate your continued loyalty and support as an esteemed member of our Marriott Rewards program. It’s a pleasure to read our hosts were able to make this stay a memorable one for you and your son. We will recognize them in our next associate meeting. We look forward to have you stay with us again soon!
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Margaret at the concierge desk was wonderful! She helped us plan a lovely day and made us fantastic reservation at WaterBar - review to follow.
The only downside to staying here is that parking (Valet) is pricey $62/day, its worth it if you are in/out during the day but otherwise.....
All of the staff were exceptionally friendly. Kevin at The View bar makes a great Manhattan.
The location if fantastic! Very close to union square and walkable to all the piers.
We lucked out and got a corner room with a great view - nice amenities, very clean, and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear allenhild,
Thank you for being such a loyal Marriott guest and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visit to our amazing city. We’re so glad you found our location so convenient for walking to all you wanted to discover in San Francisco and having your cozy room with a view be a perfect place to rest. Parking can indeed be steep in a "city center" such as ours. We are constantly conducting price comparisons to ensure we are competitively priced. Margaret and Kevin are fabulous, and we appreciate your kind comments about their service! We can’t wait to welcome you back on your next visit.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,929 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing