We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Got Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #30 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It Got Better”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

So, it's Pride weekend in San Francisco. For those folks that ever attended Pride Weekend, it can be a circus. But we decided to give the Marriott Marquis another opportunity. I have to say, they have improved quite a bit. The biggest area of improvement is the room. Last time we were there (about 22 months ago, we had a suite and let me tell you, it was horrible. The room was old, dark and dirty. There was mildew in the bathroom.

Well, this time, we just got a regular room in an upper floor. The furnishing were updated and there was no mildew in the bathroom. A couple of other great improvements include:
1. Soft close toilet lid (we have these at home and when i travel, i forget that i'm not at home and they always close with a bang!
2. Updated toiletries. I have to say, I like the new soaps and shampoos so much better than what they had before!!!
3. Updated plugs. There were plugs by the bed for my iphones. WOO HOO!
4. Check in was great (though that could be because i have status).
5. Housekeeping dropped off my foam pillows without me having to request them!!!

What still needs improving:
1. Parking!! it's way too expensive. We parked and took BART into town.
2. The Pool/outdoor area. There isn't enough sun!!!! and way too many kids...
3. The executive lounge should offer free beer and wine. It was an honor bar, but in Europe, we got free beer and wine....

Room Tip: Always ask for an upper floor!!!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Again, as is our practice, we didn't have the sheets replaces, just refreshed towels.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear A W,
Thanks so much for choosing us once again for your trip to San Francisco! We were so excited to read you enjoyed your stay and all our upgrades since your last stay with us. We appreciate your comments, as we will use them to further improve our services and facilities. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Best regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,879
    1,956
    612
    161
    100
See reviews for
881
900
172
2,126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Safe location, affordable and great amenities. We had two nights to explore the city with the kids on a budget and this property fit well. Close enough to the wharf with plenty of public transportation and located in a safe, central location in downtown.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Damian B.,
Thank you for your fabulous review and recommendation. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your San Francisco adventure and that we could be a part of your memories. Hurry back soon for another expedition…we’ll be waiting!
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

What a classy and happenin' hotel! From the moment I pulled up to the Valet stand I knew this was one seriously nice hotel. The staff were helpful and kind, the open areas were big enough to not feel crowded, but not so large as to make me feel small. The lobby bar was a dream and I simply had to walk in and get a glass of water just to be in there the first time I passed by. The room was luxurious, large, and open with a great wide expanse of windows facing East and North, allowing me to enjoy a great view of the Yerba Buena Park and the Church next door. The bad was the most comfortable I've been in for some time. The climate controls were ideal, at no point was I hot, cold, humid or too dry, and when the blower was on it didn't blow directly on my at the desk or bed like the freezer or furnace blast I usually get in a hotel room.

The lounge was top notch, with quality snacks and deserts, and the room service was amazing.

I love this hotel and will go out of my way to find a reason to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear fcflint,
Thank you for your excellent review and please know we loved having you! Find a reason soon because we can’t wait to welcome you back.
Best regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Marriott Marquis on Mission Street was opened about the time that the October 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake struck Northern California, and it has been shaking up the SOMA neighborhood ever since. The hotel has been freshened and updated a number of times but it remains a reliable and steady hotel for us.

- I noticed that the reception area is now less foreboding with a walk through for the associates to pass to the customer's side to hand over the key cards, a feautre at most Renaissance Hotels where we've stayed.

- The concierge lounge has been moved to the 2nd floor from an upper floor. It is spacious and well-staffed. The food choices are better than most Marriott Lounges where we've stayed. There are plans to make the lounge more modern, which would be a plus.

- Rooms, especially on the upper floors have amazing views of the city and are very well appointed. The desk in our suite was huge, and well placed. The beds are amazing and the bath exceptionally well appointed.

- WiFi was fast (a rare event for most hotel wireless set-ups) and complimentary for Platinum members (otherwise there is a charge.)

- The exercise center is huge and machines and weights are first class. Platinum members can use the gym's locker rooms for free, otherwise there is a daily charge.

But these are brick and mortar things. What sets this hotel apart is the quality and attitude of the hotel's staff, the associates, who make a stay exceptional. From the folks at reception, to the concierge, to the senior management staff, everyone of them makes sure that the customer feels wanted and appreciated. Marriott's Spirit to Serve is alive and well at this hotel. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better views. Corner rooms (suites sometimes) have incredible views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Marriott has been a leader in environmental stewardship for many years. The entire hotel is working to reduce waste, recycle, and be a good neighbor.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear RD24
You have a wonderful memory…we open and closed on the actual day of the Loma Prieta earthquake October 17, 1989. We will be celebrating our 25 Year Anniversary and we are so very excited! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again and you wrote such a thorough account of your experience with wonderful comments too! We do hope you'll return soon.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was there for a solar conference.

Conveniently located across the Moscone Center and righ beside Powell this is you perfect located hotel for both business and pleasure.
Don't come a car - they only had valet and this was $64 per day!!!
I went across in a garage for 34.

The rooms are like all Marriotts nice and the beds just wonderful.
They have a great Gym with top notch equipment.
Indoor pool is on the same floor, but not a highlight. Looks a little out dated and smells all from chlorine.

Whi I was disappointed was the concierge lounge.
Where this is the heaven in most Marriotts I travel around the world, here is more like a beehive.
Overcrowded and average selection of food.
They close breakfast already at 9 and the food presented is more like in a Fairfield Inn or Courtyard. Paper napkins, you have to get your silverware and plates from a big tray and behind the curtain you can hear the noise from kitchen and dishwasher people.
Anything else than silent and lounge style.

Beside this, I can recommend the location, bed and Gym.

Room Tip: Ask for the high floors. From 29th there was a great view into the water and a park in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear roman b.,
We are so pleased you found our beds to be comfy, our location great and fitness center top notch! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for the Fourth of July weekend, which was extremely busy. When we checked in, the lobby was insanely full of tourists, however, we checked in with ease and found our room to be perfect. The concierge was very helpful everyday, guiding us to the all of the sights to see by foot and cable car. The location was excellent, close to many good restaurants and good shopping, an easy walk to Chinatown. We will stay here again. The only reason I didn't give five stars is because of the high parking rate. You don't really need a car here tho.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jessica C.,
Thank you so much for spending the Fourth of July Holiday with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful comments regarding your experience with us here at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. It was a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our hospitality and our concierge team kept you "in the know”. We can't wait to have you back!
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is located in the center of SF financial district, walking distance to the convention center, Union Square and the cable cars. The hotel is huge but with a friendly and helpful staff. The room was very clean but traditional, the bathroom is small with old fashion bath tub and toilet. The hotel should undergo a complete refurbishing of its rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conradowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear conradowa,
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our central location and friendly and accommodating hosts, we are sorry to hear that the guestrooms and amenities did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate your comments, as we will use them to further improve our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you to the Marquis on your next visit to San Francisco.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#33 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing