We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to complain about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff are generally professional, efficient, and friendly. From front desk agents to the bellmen, everyone was always willing to help. The rooms have all basic amenities. If you need something such as a fridge, housekeeping is happy to send you one. The housekeepers are very nice and always smile and greet you in the hallways. Though I think they could pay a little more bit more attention to detail when cleaning the rooms. Location wise, this hotel is perfect. You could take the F bus to Fisherman's wharf or Ferry Building. The bus stop only less than 5 minutes away. Chinatown is about a 20 minute walk. The bart is just down the block.There are plenty of restaurants and stores nearby. A movie theater is across the street.
Although I don't usually like to stay in typical franchise hotels, I enjoyed my stay here. I always felt safe and welcomed. This is a Marriott Marquis in downtown, so you can't walk in here expecting a ultra-modern, quiet, beach view room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FebSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear FebSnow,
Thank you for your glowing review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis! We’re so delighted you were pleased with your experience. Our hosts strive to make each of our guest’s stay special…they will be pleased to hear your comments. Thank you so much for choosing us for your recent visit and please come see again real soon!
Best regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,260 - 3,266 of 5,653 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

My GF and I stayed at the SF Marriott this past week for both business and pleasure. The hotel is conveniently located near the financial district, the Moscone Center, the Westfield SF Mall with a great Food Emporium, and great restaurants all around.

Beyond location, what distinguished the hotel for us were the little things that demonstrate an attitude and commitment of superior customer service. Our letters to the hotel's management below (abbreviated), give 2 examples of this service attitude:

"We'd like to take this opportunity to recognize the staff member who checked us into the hotel. We believe her name was Carly. Her service demeanor was impeccable. We had several questions and she was resourceful. She made us feel welcome and the service was not rushed; nicely attentive. Carly was an excellent representative of the level of service received (by us) at the property and how it's managed. Please let her know that we appreciate her work."

and

"Claudia, Wow! I am impressed. That was incredibly fast response [from my email only moments ago] by you and the Guest Care Management staff here at the Marriott Marquis. Please accept our sincere thanks."

This hotel just seems to understand how to execute upon a superior service delivery model.

I'm only too happy to recommend them in SF.

Room Tip: We had a high floor room, 24th, which afforded views of the SF Bay, AT&T Park, and the Bay bridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MACSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear MACSr ,
Thank you for your lovely review of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis. It is so pleasing to read your wonderful comments especially regarding Carly and Claudia and that their attention to detail made your stay a memorable one. We appreciate your recommendation, and hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Three of us stayed for 3 nights in July in a 2 queen bedded room. Check in was fast and simple, and having booked a standard room we were pleased to be upgraded to a city view room on the 20th floor and also given free wi-fi access.
Our room was large, plenty of space for the 3 of us, spotlessly clean with a great bathroom and powerful shower. But my abiding memory is that wow those beds are the comfiest I have EVER slept in! We had a great view over the city which was even more special at night with the city all lit up.
We used the View Lounge on the 39th floor - absolutely amazing views from the ceiling to floor windows and a good atmosphere. I just wished this was open during the day, as to eat breakfast here would have been fantastic.
We had the hotel breakfast buffet on one morning, which had a very wide selection of options, plus omlettes or waffles made to order. The other days we had breakfast out locally.
I would definately recommend this hotel, it provided all that we needed plus more, and all the staff we came into contact with were helpful and polite. A great trip.

Room Tip: Ask for as high as you can get as the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Lisa W.,
Thank you for your 5-star review and fabulous recommendation of the San Francisco Marriott Marquis! We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed all aspects of your stay especially your comfy bed, our location, yummy breakfast offerings and city views. Come back soon!
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very nice hotel in a great part of the city very close to transit. Very clean and the staff were super friendly. We flew in to SFO Airport and took the BART and it stopped right around the corner from the hotel. $9 BART ride was much cheaper than a taxi. So easy to jump on a bus or trolley from this area an get anywhere you want to be in the San Francisco area. There are a few restaurants in the hotel which are a bit pricey, but that's not unexpected. A lot of other food options close by also. Plus, if you need anything, there is a Target right across the street!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Angie H.,
Thank you for your 5-star review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us especially our friendly hosts and amazing location. We appreciate you sharing your tip about using public transportation not only to explore all San Francisco has to offer, but using BART to get to and from SFO. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our beautiful city.
Best regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We selected this SF hotel based on the rather favorable reviews and its location which was perfect for what we had planned for this visit. Overall, the hotel was OK. It is very large, and the lobby was similar to a noisy pedestrian thoroughfare; a huge number of guests camped out in the lobby using the free Wi-Fi. Security was visible everywhere. Our room was a satisfactory size and faced the interior--no view but no street noise, which is what we prefer in SF. The staff we dealt with were all very pleasant, professional, and eager to assist.

We had the breakfast package, which included breakfast for two adults. Since there were three of us and I am a light breakfast eater, I had planned to order something small off the menu, but I found out I could not do since they only have the buffet. When I asked about it I was told to order room service. I was sorry we opted for this package as there are plenty of Starbucks, etc. in the immediate vicinity (including the hotel lobby), as well as other restaurants. We tried the View Lounge that everyone recommends, but we didn't care for it too much....very crowded and overly expensive drinks (even for a hotel); however the lobby bar (Bin 55) was great and we noticed many people having dinner there. Actually it was the only place in the hotel to get dinner. The bartenders were very welcoming and provided good service. It was peaceful, dark and relaxing with a varied selection of wines and draft beers.

Housekeeping was a disappointment. Although the room was cleaned promptly and stocked with towels, no toiletries were put out during our entire stay meaning that we had to stop by the front desk to request that someone bring shampoo, etc. to our room.

The fitness center is one of the best I have even seen at a hotel--quite impressive and open 24 hours.

On future visits to SF I believe that we will opt to stay elsewhere. The sheer size of the hotel and the food challenges outweigh for us the convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear michbren,
Thank you for sharing your impressions about your recent stay. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our ideal location, pleasant and helpful hosts, fitness center and quiet guestroom, we are sorry to hear not all aspects of your stay lived up to the Marriott and the San Francisco Marriott Marquis standard. We appreciate your comments and feedback, both positive and constructive, as we will use these to further improve our services. We do hope you’ll stay with us again the next time your travels bring you back to San Francisco.
Warm regards,
The San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I'm not much for huge chain hotels, but the Marriott Marquis in San Francisco is amazing. Even though it was a busy tourist weekend, every person we came in contact with asked if there was anything we needed and if we were having a good time. Restaurant servers were the same and we never had to wait long for service. The one exception was at Starbucks, where the line was long and slow, but I assume they lease space. Even the complimentary buffet in the concierge lounge was hot, tasty and always replenished. Internet access was slow, but that's our only complaint.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Denise A.,
Thank you for calling us “Top Notch!” We are thrilled to hear our hosts wowed you throughout your stay with us…this is the high standard of guest experience we strive to achieve each and every day. We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Was greeted by a very courteous and professional person working at the reception desk. Ended up with a Cityview room on the 28th floor. Definitely worth it to go high up in the hotel. Stayed for three nights over all with four of us in 82 queen room. The room was large enough for the short stay. Didn't have any of the food in the hotel, skip the overpriced breakfast buffet and instead patronize one of the local breakfast restaurants. Or, go to a local Walgreens which in San Francisco has a large food market area, where you can buy muffins croissant hot coffee yogurt etc.
This hotel has a good location, it's near enough to the tourist stuff where you can jump on a bus or even the cable car. The Powell and Hyde cable car turntable is a block away.
After we checked out we decided to spend the day in San Francisco, so we left our bags with the bellhop, and retrieved them at the end of our day.
It is definitely an expensive hotel, but that is to be expected in the city. Over all we were very pleased with our stay there.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank JackBronson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear JackBronson1,
Thank you for your great review and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your San Francisco getaway! We are so glad you enjoyed our location and service. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
2,991 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,366 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £139 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing