We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #43 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for a convention I attended. The rooms are beautiful and most of the rooms have a great view of downtown. A couple of drawbacks though. No free WiFi in the room and some of the rooms have it when you walk into the room you immediately have the bathroom right there. Little awkward with the doors.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank stowellb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,640
    1,864
    592
    156
    93
See reviews for
807
843
162
1,926
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
152 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

A luxe Marriott property in the heart of the city, location is its best feature. Overflowing with summer visitors when we visited, and truly busy. Check in took some time as a result.
Parking was expensive (as with all downtown hotels); better priced public parking is available within easy walking distance (about a block).
Public areas did not generate a 'fresh' feeling; maybe it is just due to the colour palette used.
Our suite on the 17th floor was spacious with a generous sitting area, and well appointed.
The bathroom was reasonably sized, clean and we found the 'Thann' products supplied, to be very good indeed. Housekeeping was very responsive to our need for extra supplies.
Indeed, all employees we met were helpful without being coldly efficient
The bed was comfortable, climate control was efficient and we had a good night's rest.

We used the hotel as a base for our walking around locally, and therefore did not use any of the in-house dining options. We did not have any notable 'view' from our suite.
Nevertheless, this hotel was just what we needed in San Francisco.
At the price we paid, we found it to be excellent value, and would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Trips56,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are very grateful for your business and for your excellent travel tips and would be more than honored for your to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a Marriott Marquis and the expectations are very high.

Check-In was a quick pleasure.

I had a corner room on floor 25 (out of 39).

It was comfortable and well disposed although not exceptionally large.

King bed, armchair, large desk, medium sized TV, automatic minibar, safe.

The bathroom had the shower in tub with curtain and appeared old, although in good order.

The room service menu was limited and vague about real restaurant dishes, but the pizza was good enough.
Breakfast (on 2nd floor restaurant) was rich enough of the common buffet items.
In my opinion this hotel lacks a good restaurant.

In the lobby there is a gift shop with common "convenience" items.

Internet was available both wireless and wired, but I had lots of problems with wireless, especially in the evening: continuous drops and no automatic reconnection.
I ended up using my ultrabook with a wired adapter and I could use internet reliably; speed was fair.
On the second day I had to use the internet customer assistance because their system did not let me in; fortunately the problem was quickly resolved.

If you drive and prefer self parking, you can park in the Jessie Square Garage: access is from 3rd street, turn into Stevenson and you find the garage.
Please note that the garage is closed at night (23-5, -6 weekend).
Exiting the elevator you get into the pedestrian plaza, facing 3rd St, Mission on the right, the Marriott on the back.
So you turn around and head for the Marriott. This is a back entrance and a room key is required, so if you do not have your key yet, you must go around via Mission (on your left) to the main entrance on 4th St.

Location is pretty good, adjacent to Market St, a short walk to Union Square and the Ferry Building.

Everything considered, this is a very good hotel; some aspects would put it in the 5 star category but others do not, so I am assigning 4 well deserved tripadvisor stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Alberto P,
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent visit to San Francisco. We appreciate you sharing your experience and your detailed feedback! We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

As elite members of Marriott we usually receive good service. However, the SF Marquis was very busy (summer tourists) when we arrived and we took advantage of the advance check in app on our phone. This app is probably the best way to check in since we didn't wait in line, the front desk manager assigned our room and we received an exceptional corner room. The staff was very helpful and attentive even though they were quite busy. Although the Marquis is more on the expensive side, you get every penny's worth...plus you can't beat the central location in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Any corner room toward Mission street are good. There is an old (1850 or so) church next door that t...
See more room tips
Green Features: In the middle of a California drought, they request that the guests conserve but don't push it.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear NPC3,
Thank you for being a loyal Marriott Rewards member and choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your recent stay! So glad you’re enjoying the efficiency of Marriott’s check-in app. It was a pleasure to read your stay was delightful especially your guestroom, our accommodating and attentive hosts and ideal location. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
261 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here many times the last few years, the central areas are feeling a little 'tired'. Room was nice, club level breakfast was great and the svc is good.

Downstairs bar is a little over priced, but the 39th floor bar is cool.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Anthony H,

On behalf of the entire San Francisco Marriott Marquis team thank you for being such a loyal guest. We realy appreciate you choosing our hotel as your host during your stays in our city.

See you again soon!

The San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here for one night en route to Napa.
The room was spacious and clean and I had a great sleep.
It is centrally located so most landmarks are within walking distance.
It's everything you would expect from a Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Elaine H,

Thank you so much for your review, it is very much appreciated. We are all very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful night's sleep before your trip to Napa.

We hope to see you again soon.

Eric & the San Francisco Marriott Marquis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The service here was excellent from the minute we pulled up to the hotel. Everyone was helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean and the beds were super comfortable. We really enjoyed the pool area. There is a large indoor pool and hot tub. The work out area is very nice as well. The location of the hotel was perfect for our needs. Right across the street is a Target and movie theatre. The Container Store, Disney Store and Union Square are only a short walk. Also if you get a chance check out the restaurant/bar on the top floor of the hotel. It opens at 4 and the views are amazing. We had fantastic service there as well and ordered sliders and a dessert. Nice way to end the day!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenoTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Sales Department at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear RenoTina,

On behalf of all the Hosts at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful views from The View - San Francisco is truly amazing from 39 floors up!

See you again soon,

Eric and the entire San Francisco Marriott Marquis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,332 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#57 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Union Square
JW Marriott San Francisco Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing