We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GNO (girls night out) in California!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #27 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GNO (girls night out) in California!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Spent two nights at this property. Good location...could walk everywhere AND we did! Rooms were good sized...we had three women to a room. Busy hotel; nonetheless, Check-in and Check-out went smoothly. Valet is pricey but what isn't in San Francisco?! The hotel is massive so was nice that they had elevators going to different sections...for example, we were on the 19th floor so there was a bank of elevators that went from 19-2?? All in all I'd recommend this hotel for it's location and since we booked well in advance the price was right as well!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annab25763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,014
    2,006
    624
    165
    103
See reviews for
937
942
176
2,215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

SF's Marriott Marquis, housed in a giant jukebox of a skyscraper, performs well for you---and trust me, at any given time, there are a lot of you staying there. Three separate elevator banks efficiently take everyone to their destination-a spacious hotel room, the large lap pool, the gorgeous fitness center, the 39th floor lounge with tasty snacks and stellar views. There's always a concierge or two available, smiling staff wherever you need them. With a Starbucks and a Hertz in the lobby, what more could you want? My only complaint, other than the fact that at heart I'm more of a boutique hotel girl, is that when I pay after taxes nearly 500 dollars for a room, it should come with free wifi, especially in a tech Mecca. However, I gotta hand it to the Jukebox. Things run very well there!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis last 31 July till the 02 Aug '14 and we were so grateful we did. This hotel in the middle of humdrum in San Francisco Union Square served as our 2nd home when we visited SFO. We had seen how busy this hotel could get but we feel so accommodated and taken cared of with the ready smile and simple gestures of help every hotel associate so easily share in our every move. All our special room amenities requests were taken cared of before we arrive, our room properly cleaned and turned down after the end of each day, we felt so pampered by April in Bin 55 and Dara I believe from Guest Services or Reception helped us alleviate our stress when we left some of our valuables in the room as she took care of our iPad, Coach purse and our pet real important documents to be shipped to our home address as we left SFO when we realized we left them. Overall, we are really more than satisfied during our stay in this awesome hotel. I'd highly recommend this hotel if reliability and dependability are must-haves for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrive at the Marriott Marques and our room was supposed to have a view. I opened the curtains to see a view of a roof top crane and pigeons fornicating. I didn't bother unpacking as this was an extremely expensive room and I wouldn't want it for the weekend. So they upcharge us to another room with an alleged view. We get to the new room and although it had slightly a better view; it was still the same run down room. Shower won't drain, one sink, very little counter space. Expensive water ($8.) for a bottle and a weighing devise for all the sundries. So don't accidentally pickup that bag of chips or candy, cause it's automatically reported as a charge~! This type of nickel and dime hotels really make me just want to stay home~!! The only thing I liked was the Roof Lounge on the 39th floor although very expensive~!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mark P.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent weekend stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed taking in our amazing city from The View. However, we are disappointed and apologize we did not meet your expectations. We understand value is very important to our guests, and we are constantly conducting market price comparisons to ensure we are competitively priced. We appreciate your candid feedback and will share it with our management team and do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice. Upon checking in, the guy at the front desk (Miguel) was super helpful. He got me set up immediately. I requested a high floor and it wasn't in the system so he upgraded it right away. Overall I had a great time there. The hotel was lively every night. Lots of people and good vibes. Very close to plenty of eatery and shopping.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KimmyDC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent location, service and rooms. The transit stop is within a block. Shopping is across the street. The hotel has an information desk in the lobby staffed by 2-3 people there to answer every question you could have and provide maps if you request. Great bar at the top of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a higher level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a great stay at the Marriott Marquis. The only downside was the smirk that the person checking us in had when he realized we had used our points for the stay.

Outside of that experience, the stay was great. The room was spacious and comfortable. We appreciated the free wi-fi for elite members. The location was great and the concierge was very helpful. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
3,505 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing