We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #28 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Busy hotel...”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a big, busy well located hotel in the heart of downtown San Fran....

This hotel is always busy..but the location makes up for it!! 3 lift systems so you never wait long...
Friendly staff. Internet fast-but most guests pay for this.... Room views poor-but to be fair...your not gong to be in your room much are you?..
The hotel has a gym...no pool though ...

All good!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,127
    2,064
    636
    167
    109
See reviews for
996
972
178
2,299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went for a convention with about 3500 people. We have two hotels, but this one had the most. What a terrible venue with lines everywhere. I don't think hotel was at fault as much as the convention people. They should have split between Weston and here. Very dated!! Nothing to do but the 39th floor is great view it helped make this a Average stay.

Room Tip: Choose floors from 3 to 8 as about that is too many people lines for high floors - terrible.
See more room tips
Green Features: Who cares....Hate this question stop the madness!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasChic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear TexasChic13,
Thank you for staying with us during your convention and posting about your experience. We appreciate you brining these items to our attention and will be sure to address them with our management team members. We do hope to have the honor of welcoming you back on your next visit to San Francisco.
Kind regards the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This was my 5th visit to this hotel and it is still fabulous.
Check in by Amanda was smooth and she was very knowledgable and friendly. But this is applicable to most of the staff at the MM-even the security lady I had a chat with (I forgot her name). Damon at the bell desk was cheery and seemed to work incredibly hard. And Greg was a total treasure! We had a really long chat (in which huge hotel will the front desk manager take so much time out?) which was very informative and jovial.
I still love the Marriott marquis and I can't wait for my next visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for a business conference. Room was actually good, except air filter may not have been changed in quite some time. Hotel was very responsive and replaced as soon as I asked. Bars in hotel are good, yet overall the cost per night is very high for a Marriott (we paid close to $450 with the substantial taxes charged in San Fran).

Room Tip: Get a higher room, corner if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flanagans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Flanagans4,
Thank you for choosing the San Francisco Marriott Marquis and for your valuable review. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location, your comfy guestroom as well as our responsive hosts. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our amazing city.
Warm regards the San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights with my wife to kick off our trip down the coast. I have stayed at several Marriott hotels for business and booked this one because they have always been consistent. This was no exception. Room was comfortable and clean, concierge was very helpful. The hotel is centrally located for everything. Parking at the hotel was very expensive, but typical for the city. Garage parking 2 blocks away was more reasonable, yet still safe and relatively convenient. There is an upper level bar that has a great view of the city which is nice, but attracts an outside crowd that you may be greeted by in the elevator when returning to your room from the gym or pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kush33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear kush33,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Marriott and choosing us as the starting point for your coastal adventure! We are thrilled your 4-night stay with us met your expectations making the first days of your trip a memorable one. We look forward to your return visit!

Best regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is your standard Marriott fare. This hotel is in heart of everything...near Yerba Buena, lots of shopping, the Contemporary Jewish Museum, chinatown. Its bustling and loud in the lobby, but the staff is super friendly and helpful. Don't expect serenity until you get to your room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here with family for 3 nights at the end of July. The staff were very helpful as we arrived early and the rooms were not all ready, but they made the effort to let us know when each room was ready, so that we did not lose a day sight-seeing in the city. They had bell services bring up our bags (and there were a lot) and Ricky (bellman) offered us very good advice and information on how to get around. The rooms were all as reserved and all were ready by 3pm. The hotel brought up refrigerators as the in-room mini-bars were not suitable to store medicines or perishables that my family required. Did not use the WiFi, the pool, fitness room, or any of the hotel's restaurants, as we were out and about SF most of the time. The hotel was easy to get to (by car, taxi, or trolley) and was very close to everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable and though the rooms were a bit small, they were still adequate for our purposes. I am not one to stay at a convention hotel due to noise or harried staff, But, the Marriott Marquis seem to excel from a service level. This made our visit that much more delightful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,905 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,166 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#25 of 229 in San Francisco
1,157 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#63 of 229 in San Francisco
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing