We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Francisco Marriott Marquis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #24 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 September 2014

Nice central location, convenient to all landmarks and bay. Bell employees make taxi life easy. Not expensive rides. Hotel clean, rooms small but also clean. Sky view lounge exceptional view of City, unfortunately always crowded, hard to get a seat. Management needs to consider rail glass seating to accommodate more guests. Lobby lounge and menu boring, however several establishments across or down the street. Nice place ....will return

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,383 - 3,389 of 5,906 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

We were at the Marriott Marquis for a High School reunion attended by approximately 500 people. The hotel is very large and can get very busy in the lobby during check in / check out times. Through it all, the staff were all welcoming and eager to help. We were in a suite on the 11th floor. Very quiet, clean and comfortable room. The amenities in the bathrooms are very good - something you might have in your own home. The bed was extremely comfortable. Definitely visit the View Lounge on the top floor. The views of the city were amazing and the tapas and drinks were terrific. This was a great place to wind down and enjoy some time with your travel companions. The hotel is across the street from the Metreon, a large shopping mall, and is not far from Union Square. Taxis were plentiful and we never waited more than 2 minutes for a cab. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JYS109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Recommended. Stayed here for three nights. Although the area is very bustling with tourists and shoppers (and homeless) it also turns out to be very convenient to getting around San Francisco. Train, bus and cable car are all very nearby. Very good restaurants are also walking distance. (Try Tropisueno just behind the hotel for good Mexican). Our room was spacious with two queen size beds and a view of the bay on the 25th floor. There are free pool, jacuzzi and fitness facilities on the 4th floor which we used on two occasions. The beds were very comfortable with good pillows. We went up to the 39th floor View bar for a cocktail and while the view is spectacular the bar is expensive and noisy. Previously stayed in quieter areas of SF but had to take cabs more..We would stay here again if we returned.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

The staff was very nice and knowledgeable during my stay. I enjoyed the coffee bar staff Expecially. Every morning while getting my coffee I was greeted with a friendly smile. There were no major issues with my stay however the rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade. For the advertised price I was shocked at how dull and boring the room and property was. You have this pre conception of a grand hotel based on the outside of the building and it's location but once you enter the property you feel as if your in a discount hotel. The lobby was plain and simple with nothing impressive. It was however clean which I appreciate. The rooms were small compared to other upscale Marriott. I will probably not stay here again until it is remodeled.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ricci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Ricci D,
Thank you for selecting us as your hotel for your San Francisco visit! Your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate both your positive and constructive comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our location, delightful and knowledgeable hosts and breakfast offerings. However, we are sorry we fell short on your décor expectations as we completed a rooms “rejuvenation” last fall. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our city.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I stayed here for a conference at the beginning of August, coinciding with my first trip to the bay area. This hotel was a great spot to consider my home away from home during our days exploring San Francisco and the area nearby.

The rooms are pretty much standard Marriott rooms, however the lobby and meeting facilities seemed a cut above what I've experienced at other properties. The staff did a phenomenal job of managing a mass check-in of some 1200+ guests all on the same Sunday afternoon. I did manage to skip a portion of the line by flashing my Marriott Rewards Elite card, which was a welcome relief. Our corner room included views of the Bay Bridge and downtown.

The location of the hotel made it easy for us to take BART from the airport, and then walk just about everywhere else we wanted to go. For longer trips, the cab stand out front is very efficient, or if you're more tech savvy, the location of the hotel allows for easy pickup and dropoff using services like Uber or Lyft. A bonus feature is the Hertz location that shares a portion of the lobby. It allowed us access to a car to get to Muir Woods and up for a day in Napa Valley.

Perhaps one of the best features is the high-rise bar that offers an absolutely stunning array of views, particularly in the early evening before a night out.

The bottom line is that I would not hesitate to stay here again on future visits to San Francisco.

Room Tip: The corner room we had was excellent. Higher floors will likely offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MD1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff very courteous and friendly. Rooms very nice with great views. Food in the concierge lounge was exceptional. Hertz counter at the hotel made renting a vehicle very convenient. Pick up and return of rental car is handled through the Valet desk. Very nice especially when parking downtown is basically non existent.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel is a short walk from Union Square convenient to all the sights and shopping in the SOMA area. . . and that's about the only thing going for it. With nearly 1500 rooms, this hotel has zero personality and reminds me of a shoddy airport hotel or a low-end resort island hotel. Check-in/Check-out times are an absolute zoo with hundreds of people crowding the lobby. The executive lounge is run like a cafeteria with plates and silverware piled up on racks against a wall and never enough seating to handle all the guests. The rooms need upgrading. My "flat" screen TV appeared to be from the late 90s and the furniture was worn out. My limited interaction with the staff was generally positive, and the rooms are basically clean. Weigh these plusses and the convenient location against the overall "assembly line" feel of the hotel to make your decision.

Room Tip: Always ask for a higher floor room. . .anything below the 10th floor will have zero view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magicbinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti C, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Magicbinthai,
Thank you for selecting the San Francisco Marriott Marquis for your San Francisco visit! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location, hotel cleanliness and friendly hosts. However, it was disappointing we did not meet all of your expectations. Please know your feedback will be shared with the appropriate department heads; as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards from the San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,758 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,473 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £136 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover awe-inspiring views, astonishing amenities and unparalleled customer service at San Francisco Marriott Marquis. Located just south of Market Street in SoMa, our luxurious Downtown San Francisco hotel offers easy access to the city's best attractions, including Moscone Center, the Yerba Buena Gardens, Union Square shopping and AT&T Park, home of the Giants. Before embarking on your Bay Area adventure, enjoy a buffet breakfast at B55 Craft House & Kitchen or grab a to-go snack at Mission Street Pantry. In the evening, break a sweat in our modern fitness center, treat yourself to a massage at our full-service spa, or savor inspiring penthouse views and cocktails at The View Lounge, located atop the hotel on the 39th floor, before retiring to deluxe rooms with sleek decor and high-tech amenities. Our hotel also offers more than 121,000 square feet of sophisticated event space for corporate events and meetings. Book your escape today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing