We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rbeauregard
Roseville, California

Love this hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jul 2019
This was my one and only favorite hotel in SF. I say 'was' because they used to have an indoor pool which was taken out a couple years ago. Having kids, an indoor pool is an evening time must. Whenever I take them, if we have evening down time, I will book the Palace (a Marriott affiliate) or the Hotel Nikko (pricier). Otherwise, we stay at the Marquis. It is centrally located, the rooms are always clean (and nicely sized!) and the concierge lounge is very good.
Date of stay: May 2019
Room Tip: I have never been assigned to a poor room - all seem good.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £122
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Marriott Marquis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £138
  • Expedia.com
    £165
0.4 miles from Marriott Marquis San Francisco
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Heated Outdoor Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £106
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Marriott Marquis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Pool
Regency Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £169
  • Hyatt.com
0.1 miles from Marriott Marquis San Francisco
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Riu.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £205
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Marriott Marquis San Francisco
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £191
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Marriott Marquis San Francisco
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £178
  • Official Site
0.3 miles from Marriott Marquis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £190
  • Algotels
1.8 miles from Marriott Marquis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £123
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from Marriott Marquis San Francisco
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £191
  • Official Site
    £229
1.6 miles from Marriott Marquis San Francisco
Fitness centre
View more hotels in San Francisco
Reviews (8,206)
Filter reviews
8,206 results
Traveller rating
3,805
2,889
934
309
269
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,805
2,889
934
309
269
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the view lounge m club great location convention hotel moscone center union square top floor corner room big hotel market street per day cable car central location around the corner fisherman's wharf ferry building lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
786 - 791 of 8,206 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2019

Would recommend and stay again! Check in/ out easy fast and personal so helpful and friendly. Great downtown access to everything. Pantry over priced but bar55 good food at good price. The view bar is spectacular too.

Room tip: Wi-fi not working well but tech came quickly to fix problem. Still slow.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank sandymon2ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2019

We were on a lower floor room so there was street noise but other than that, all other aspects of our stay was far superior than any hotel I've stayed at before. The service was great & everyone was so professional & nice, suite was spacious & clean, bed/pillows were very comfortable, food at the M Lounge was fresh & had a lot of variety, etc.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JWP1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at Marriott Marquis San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Dear JWP1222,

Thank you for choosing to stay at San Francisco Marriott Marquis. We are delighted to read that our spacious suites and comfortable accommodations made for a relaxing stay. We appreciate your compliments for the delicious food options at the M-lounge and the attentive service from our associates. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

David W.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019

Love this beautiful hotel, the rooms were great and beds were so comfortable. Beautiful bar at the top of the hotel and great place to end the day. Close to the Bart. Starbucks and a mall just down the street. Very convenient. Will stay there again!!!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Janboonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. We got a brand new room which was amazing. Perhaps the hotel is too big for the management to handle. We did not receive our turn down service or our daily cleaning service twice and every time we called to ask for it the answer was an apology and that they would look into it, imagine that!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 491aar_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at Marriott Marquis San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Dear 491aar_nc,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are so glad you loved our newly updated accommodations. However, we apologize that your room was not serviced during a portion of your stay, and we assure you this will be addressed. We are confident you will see an improvement on your next visit. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We hope you will make the same choice the next time you visit our city.

David W.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time in one year. Got to stay in the upgraded room which is pretty neat except for the noise. The loud sounds of the elevator are so disturbing through the night that their fancy sound conditioner failed to beat!
However we left very disappointed because my 2.5 year olds’ stuffed animal got lost from our room. We probably left it in our bed and during cleaning it may have been taken away accidentally by the cleaning staff. It could’ve been something more valuable and it just goes to show how careless their cleaning staff is. I tried reaching out to the front desk, lost and found and then also the manager about it but they couldn’t do anything. The issue was reported within an hour and still they couldn’t do anything about it. Hard to believe they couldn’t track their laundry and don’t know where it went. We left very disappointed because our 2.5 year old has no way to understand what happened to his baby shark and is pretty sad. I hope they are able to still find it and ship it to us as they promised and also are very very careful in the future when making the beds and cleaning the rooms to not be wrapping up people’s precious things in.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Marriott Marquis San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2019

Dear A G,

Thank you for returning to our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your upgraded room, however, we are disappointed the remaining areas of your stay were less than perfect. Please accept our apologies for the surrounding noise and for any inconvenience this caused you. We want all of our guests to have a relaxing experience and regret we let you down. We appreciate you bringing the issue you encountered with the stuffed animal to our attention. Please allow us some time to investigate the matter further. We will reach out to you directly once our investigation is complete.

Sincerely,

David W.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews