We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel for Conference Goers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Ranked #28 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel for Conference Goers!”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The Marriott Marquis is centrally located to many attractions, and is immediately adjacent to the Moscone Conference Center and the Yerba Buena Gardens. Union Square and its high end shopping is just a mere four blocks away. If you must bring a car be warned that valet parking is $55 daily and off-site parking is $32 daily. Cab fare to SFO airport is only approximately $38 and a BART subway station is only one block away. The rooms are modern and clean, and the windows can be partially opened for fresh air. The rooms contain flat screen TVs and good workstations. The gym is modern will a good balance of weights and cardio equipment. There is a full service spa on site offering various cosmetic and massage services for fair prices. The staff are very friendly and engaging, even when the hotel is slammed with conference guests. The View Lounge, located on the top (39th) floor offers fantastic views of the city with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres after 4:00 every afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Good day,
We are glad to hear you found our location easily accessible for both business and pleasure. Also that you enjoyed the usage of our fitness center, which has been newly renovated with all new state of the arch equipment. Yes it may seem that our parking rates can be on the higher range however we are in line with other properties in the area, and we do offer a great service. Regarding our View Lounge Bar, yes we do have spectacular views while enjoying cocktails and hors d'oeuvres at the Marriott Marquis. We welcome you back to enjoy your stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,126
    2,063
    634
    167
    108
See reviews for
995
971
178
2,296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I agonized over the choice of Marriott's for the family vacation.
Overall, I was satisfied with the Marquis. The location for younger kids was not ideal, its better suited for convention or shopping trips. There are not that many activities to walk to with the kids. I would probably try closer to fisherman's wharf only becasue we seemed to be in that area frequently. The staff was very good at the hotel, the conceirge desk was staffed with at least 2-3 ppl at all time and when I asked questions they were very helpful. We had breakfast at the restaurant one day and I would say that it was average (suggestion to ease up on the peppers and onions in the hashbrowns), we also ate in the conceirge floor for 3 days and say the staff and food was excellent. It was very busy but food was always refilled and tables cleaned fast to keep up with the demand (suggestion to upgrade the facitilty with more tables to sit). I ordered room service 2 nights and found it average as well. We had an executive suite and found the extra room with a family of 5 was well worth the extra money. Again, nothing wrong with the hotel even though it is very busy, the staff handles it well.
As for the vacation itself a few hints and suggestions. If you go to Muir woods (I highly suggest a trip) and plan to drive you had better get there as early as possible or you will walk a looong way. Alcatraz is highly suggested, book at least a week early and go early am to get in before its too crowded. Take advantage of any tours being given (the escape one was very good) the staff is very knowledgeable. We also visited Pier 39, its a tourist spot for sure but has many kid friendly restaurants and there was a nice magic show by the water. Make sure you see the sea lions laying on the docks, kids thought the "barking" was hilarious. One other suggestion, visit Exploratorium, its full of experiments that target kids as well as adults (under 5yrs old might be a little bored).
A trip down Lombard street is always fun especially with kids...they enjoyed walking down in the middle of the street.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Greetings,
We are glad to hear how much you and your family enjoyed our hotel. Yes, its true were are in a great location and lots to do. Sometimes it just depends where you want to be, and what you want to see. We do cover a variety of near by attractions just depends what you are looking for. Our concierge staff is very informative and from all that you were able to do and see, seems like we made your stay with us a memorable one. That's fantastic ! And for that we are proud. Fisherman's Wharf, Exploratorium, and Muir Woods are all great sites and we are glad to hear that you and your family were able to see them all. Also for our dinning venues we are always updating our menu options, so we thank your for your suggestions.
Warm Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed for 3 nights (July 29th - August 1st) and I cannot say enough good things about our stay. All the staff (from doorman, to concierge to front desk to restaurant staff) was extremely friendly, helpful and courteous from the moment we drove up till we checked out. The room was spacious, clean and very quiet. Room service was fast and food was delicious. Location is fantastic...easy to navigate anywhere you'd want to go in the city. San Francisco is an expensive city, but price for stay was very reasonable considering amenities. Helpful tips to save a few bucks if you're more budget concious - if you don't mind self-parking use Hearst Garage over on 3rd Street (1 block away...5 minute walk) to park car for $20 overnight....versus $55 for hotel valet. Denny's or Mel's Drive In literally around the corner for quick, reliable breakfast. We did eat at the Mission Grille first morning and it is lovely too! Walgreen's around the corner for snacks and souvenirs...Ghiradelli chocolates were cheaper here than elsewhere. Whether you're watching your budget or want to splurge I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks for making our short stay in San Francisco so wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiedonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Good Day,
It is a pleasure to have received your review, and all the wonderful things that you have shared with us during your stay. Beginning with our doorman, front desk,concierge, guest rooms, room service, and staff. We strive to have each of our guest to experience the quality service in which you had received. Along with having the best time and leaving with found memories of our location. We will ensure that your comments are shared with our staff and continue to be the best in San Francisco, thank you so very much and we look forward to having the opportunity to meet your expectations once again in the near future.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I really enjoyed this hotel. This was my 2nd trip to SF and 1st time at this hotel. I love Chinatown, shopping and the bars. This hotel was walking distance to all 3 areas of town. The room was clean, nice toiletries, great bed and great service. Starbucks is in the lobby of the hotel as well as a gift shop. Check in took 15mins, but it seemed normal for the amount of rooms and people coming in and out. Nice bar next to the elevators with local brews. I would definately stay here again. Got the room for $126 a night as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This hotel is fairly good. The room had the necessities, with HD TV and a very comfortable bed. Nothing special beyond that. The overall feel of the lobby, restaurants, concierge, etc. is large, crowded and noisy. When I walked into the lobby and saw the very long line to check in, I was astounded but fortunately they had a separate line for elite members so I could use that. There were long lines for everything. And, for some reason their restaurant wasn't open for lunch. With the crowds, I found that strange. So, don't go here if you want cozy feel, attentive staff, or special attention. It's a classic conference hotel and they do a decent job at that for the size.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Buff_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Good location in San Fran, but know this is a huge, very busy hotel. Lobby is always packed. Worst thing...the concierge gave us a terrible restaurant recommendation -- John's -- supposedly a San Fran institution -- maybe the building is an institution, but the food was beyond awful. You would think a concierge would get feedback on such things.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RochesterSicilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I am truly sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience at John's. I have discussed your feedback with our concierge department so they can keep this in mind when recommending restaurants in the area. San Francisco has many wonderful restaurants to choose from and we hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel back in June and I was very impressed with the staff in the lobby. My first impression was great. My room was a corner room and it was nice and spacious. However, there was a large iron burn in the middle of the room on the carpet and the light socket blew a fuse the 2nd day. Could use newer style carpet and furniture for the quality and price you pay for the hotel. One word of advice: don't move the water bottles in the refrigerator unless you plan to pay for them. There is a sensor in the fridge that tracks if you take them out, so if you were like me and just moved them out to make room for your own drinks they showed up on my bill. The staff did remove them from my bill after the misunderstanding though.. .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richland_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Marquis, Manager at San Francisco Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Greetings, it was a pleasure to have received your response. We value your feedback and continue to focus on our guest satisfaction. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 228 in San Francisco
2,900 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,158 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,152 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#62 of 228 in San Francisco
3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Property: San Francisco Marriott Marquis
Address: 780 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3113
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francisco Marriott Marquis 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel San Francisco
Marriott San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing