We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool Place To Stay”
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hinton, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very Cool Place To Stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Betty & I got there early am and they allowed us to leave our bags b-4 check-in, to start our sightseeing tour in town. Very near all things considered to see in the beautiful city. Our room was small, but, what the heck, we only sleep there, the bathrooms were shared, which was just fine with us, they had a desk computer if u need one, they had comp coffee, water and plenty of directions if needed. The room snacks came in handy for our trip leaving (thanks for that comp). Clean, friendly reasonable rates and a convenient location, all one needs. would return here. Plus the restaurant where we planned to eat was located down stairs which, I will also rate.

Room Tip: ask questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarusbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We provide our guests with a comfortable yet affordable place to stay in a convenient location. We are glad to hear the snacks provided were handy.

We hope you come back to San Francisco soon and we hope you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    407
    120
    36
    18
See reviews for
171
469
110
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location, but the night I stayed was during a heat wave and it was 95 degrees outside. My room had no air conditioning, and the only window led to the main hallway. There a ceiling fan and another small fan which did nothing except push hot air around the room. There was two toilets on my floor serving 20 or so people. There is not much privacy, and some of the guests were walking around in their underwear. I probably would have had a better experience had it not been so hot. The main reason for staying at this hotel was for the short walking distance to main attractions however, after seeing how easy and cheap the public transportation system is, I would recommend finding a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John_Cruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are sorry to hear that you had a bad night. Heat waves in San Francisco are rare and do not last very long, usually the fog, or as we call it, our “natural air conditioning”, kicks in and brings the temperature significantly down. This is why A/C units are rarely installed in San Francisco homes and businesses, and as I write 1 week later, the temperatures are 63° not 95°. Nevertheless we are working to improve the situation for future guests during heat waves.

Furthermore, we are a different kind of hotel that attracts a lot of European travelers. Yes, we do sometimes have scantily clad people in our hallways, but to most of our guests this is normal, amusing, and a part of the overall experience.

We are sorry you did not notice that there are many bathrooms and showers on both floors.

It is with guest feedback we can improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The San Remo hotel turned out to be a wonderful stay for me. It has a quaint B&B feel to it and the staff was wonderful. The location is perfect if you want to be near the main attractions. And to top it all, the price was fair. What more could you ask for? Well done San Remo, keep up the good work because I'll be back.

Room Tip: I picked the room that had no sink. The sink, shower and toilets were 15 feet away form my room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunspots24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that the San Remo Hotel was a positive experience overall in your last trip to San Francisco.

Our staff loves working here, we are glad their passion shines through.

We will be waiting for you when you return to our lovely city. Stay in touch with us through Facebook, Twitter or Pinterest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This unique old Victorian hotel is amazing. The no frills way of staying. No TV, small rooms, just FAB. Fresh coffee and tea every morning. Access to their computer and free wifi. The showers and toilets are VERY clean and warm towels are provided. It can get noisy on trash day, since there is an alley on one side. But overall what great experience. My new home away from home.

Room Tip: The bar side of hotel may be quieter than the restaurant side which is on the alley. There is no po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a great hotel for the location. Just blocks from the touristy areas but most importantly just blocks from Columbus with its streets lined with amazing Italian restaurants (plus a great Burger place called BurgerMeister) and then onto Chinatown. Calzones was our favourite Italian restaurant on Columbus.
Lovely Italian cafes just 1 block away for breakfast too.
Showers and toilets all extremely clean, and the rooms were spotless too. Wasn't an issue at all.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to try something a bit different.
C

Room Tip: 33 was right next to the bathroom on first floor - so you do hear the toilets flushing/showers going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polecatcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My teen son and I were in town for conference. Stayed one nite and was perfect. Sort of like hostel but with private room. Small rooms, no Tv, but son happily used his Ipad with their wifi. I tried the shower-very clean, great hot water and heat lamp and I was very happy. The building and hallway areas are charming. We had twin beds with sink in room and that was nice in a.m. Had a quiet nite. We had a window to outside for fresh air. Really close to Fishermans Wharf and parking very reasonable. Can't recommend restaurant downstairs- terrible service - but enjoyed the hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank logansrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We provide our guests with a comfortable yet affordable place to stay in the City, in a magnificent location. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in San Francisco and your stay at our historic hotel and try to keep it authentic.

The free coffee, lemon water and internet are a few of the new things we give our guests for a more comfortable stay.

It will be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed four days. Perfect location a couple of blocks from Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf, half a block from Safeway supermarket. Staff very polite, friendly and helpful. Happy to have a chat and assist with any problems/ questions. Cute hotel in restored original condition. Owners very low key and willing to help as well. Would recommend to single travellers or couples who travel light, as some rooms don't have a lot of spare space. Serviced daily. Tea and coffee station available until 9pm and includes biscuits, twizzlers and other confec. Recommend bar and restaurant attached to hotel for quiet drink/ Italian meals. Wonderful atmosphere throughout the entire building.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with external window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citlali C, Marketing at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We appreciate your comments about our staff and hotel, they make us happy as a clam!

All of us are here to provide the best experience possible for our guest, while keeping our hotel historic and authentic.

Next time as an added bonus, try our massage chairs. Thank you again, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,141 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#87 of 229 in San Francisco
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing