We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$307/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beck's Motor Lodge(San Francisco)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$466
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$419/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$352/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$339
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$384/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chancellor Hotel on Union Square(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$401
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
527
208
55
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
208
55
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineapple cupcakespineapple waterpineapple themepineapple hospitalityunion squarerooms are smallgreat hotelboutique hotelevery afternoonnight's sleepgeary streettenderloinloved this hotelqueen roomcomfy bedfew blocksbig city
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Hotel very swish and well located just a couple of blocks from Union Square.
Room on the small side but manageable.

First night - crap night sleep, due to a combination of traffic noise and plumbing noises. Someone somewhere had a bladder the size of a walnut and was using the plumbing half the night.

Asked desk for a move, now on 7th floor so traffic noise was reduced, neighbour’s bladder size to be determined.

A lot of money has been spent on the refurbishment of this building with the exception of the bedroom windows, These are "secondary" double glazed and don't provide adequate sound insulation. Given the location on a busy junction, a major failing

Room Tip: Highest floor you can get
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paul51_and_Marg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fungai M, Manager at The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Paul51_and_Marg52,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us. Also, thank you for approaching our Front Desk and sharing your experiences with us directly and in so doing, giving us a chance to address your concerns and move you to more comfortable accommodations. The Hotel is indeed very newly renovated and with all of the aspects that we have greatly improved on, we realize that we are not yet at the finish line and can thus always continue to improve. Thank you once more for choosing to stay with us.

Best regards,
Fungai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The room was beautifully decorated with a nod to the 50's and a yellow and black colour theme. Service was very friendly. Great Bar serving drinks as well as snacks and breakfast items. Complimentary cup cakes and coffee in the late afternoon to welcome you back from your day. The building is an old Victorian in the downtown shopping, hotel and restaurant district. It has been completely renovated and has a big elevator. The bathrooms, in particular, were glamorous and completely up-to-date. The prices are reasonable and we would definitely stay at the Alise (Pineapple Stay) in San Francisco again.

Room Tip: The only noise came from the hotel next door which had an outdoor patio and was only an issue in the bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fungai M, Manager at The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Janet C,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our Hotel, our friendly service, well appointed rooms and of course our well renowned complimentary pineapple cupcakes! We are thrilled to hear that you loved your stay and truly honored to know that you will definitely be staying with us again, hopefully soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Regards,
Fungai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Great service, great lobby bar, great bartenders, great breakfast. Extremely clean. Rooms are small but beautiful. Neighborhood is okay, kind of noisy at night. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Francine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fungai M, Manager at The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Francine P,

Thank you for the wonderful review and for the glowing compliments about our cleanliness (which we clearly take very, very seriously) and also about our great service, beautiful rooms and "super helpful and friendly staff!" We appreciate your kindness and absolutely look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Fungai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

I didn't stay here so can't comment on a stay. I was here for a party outside in their courtyard & 2 bars. The patio was very large & overlooks Geary. Nice bars & nice ambiance, seems like it would be s nice place to stay

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fungai M, Manager at The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Stephen K,

Thank you for the shout out. The Bar that you were at is actually not affiliated with the Hotel, although we are indeed in very close proximity. We are however as you quite rightly pointed out a very "nice place to stay" so we hope you come in soon and experience it first hand.

Best regards,
Fungai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

I struggle to understand why this hotel is so highly rated. It's a decent remodel of a classic building, but with a lot of downsides to go along with it.

Pros:

- Friendly and generally helpful staff at the front desk.
- Interesting remodel of a classic building.

Cons:

- Right on top of the worst neighborhood in San Francisco (the tenderloin). Walking around the hotel at night is not exactly safe.
- Not the greatest selection of restaurants within walking distance.
- Not a big deal, but this was the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in, and it wasn't exactly cheap.
- The hotel ostensibly offers two tiers of wi-fi. "High speed" and "Basic". You have to go through some sort of verification process to get access to the high speed offering (which you need to stream anything, e.g. YouTube). After speaking with the front desk and also emailing info@staypineapple.com (never even got a response from the latter) I still was unable to use the high speed wi-fi. Not the end of the world, but another con in my experience.
- As other reviewers have noted the sound proofing is rather lacking, plan on wearing earplugs to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fungai M, Manager at The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Sean M,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. It is most unfortunate that we did not manage to fully meet or exceed your expectations on your most recent visit, and for that we sincerely apologize. We always strive to be a bench mark of quality, service and comfort and it is for those reasons that we come as highly rated as you mentioned. Please kindly reach out to me directly on 415.869.4105 so that we can speak personally about your experiences and beyond that, how we can make things right on your next stay.

Best regards,
Fungai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews