We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Shocking management!”
Review of Seal Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seal Rock Inn
Ranked #148 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location. Shocking management!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spent weeks researching for this place as accommodation with kitchenettes are rare in San Francisco. I happen to be a celiac and relied on preparing my food. This place is away from shops and restaurants, so after a long haul flight from Australia, ( and after explaining my condition and arranging room for 3 day stay with kitchenette on phone with staff weeks prior to arrival) we turned up with fresh food and frozen products to be told we had been upgraded to a room with no cooking facilities or kitchenette. I explained that I needed a room with kitchenette but the guy on the desk had to empathy . He said that the room I had previously booked , was ready for guest who were arriving the next day . We couldn't have it. After a distressing conversation we were given a filthy room for one night then moved to a room with a kitchen for the next two nights. The better room was ok. If we could have stayed in the room we booked when we arrived, this review would have been better. The manager was rude during our stay and the pool was closed. I usually write positive reviews but I can't with this one. They should pull the place down in my opinion.....

Room Tip: Check all vacant rooms, as some are good and the others disgusting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    97
    25
    21
    22
See reviews for
66
77
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was the 4th hotel on our 6 hotel road trip round USA. The staff were really friendly and did try to do everything for you but the hotel itself was not the best we had stayed in. The view across the San Francisco Bay was gorgeous although it was foggy most mornings that wasn't the hotels fault. We never give bad reviews as we are not fussy but although we enjoyed our stay to a certain extent the downfalls were :-


- The room smelt really weird like must or cats

-We chose this hotel as the only one in our price range with a pool but when we got there it was closed - the reason we were given was that there was a new American law that all pools needed a disabled chair for access (which we knew was true as all the other hotels we had stayed at had them) but what we didn't realise was this law had been in force for a while and the hotel hadn't got the chair so had to close the pool. Even when we advised that that was the reason we had chosen that hotel obviously they couldn't do anything about it.

-the restaurant closed at 4.00pm so we couldn't eat there unless we got in really early which on a 2 day whistle stop tour of san Francisco was impossible.

-the hotel is not central to San Francisco and although has lovely views and there was a bus for 2 dollars per journey to downtown san Francisco it was a 3/4 hour trip each way with some dodgy people on it especially at night

-the restaurants for the area around it all closed at 9.00pm so it was very limited where you could eat unless you got the dreaded 3/4 hour bus to downtown.

-we did find a brilliant restaurant called Pacific Café which was about 7 blocks away that did still close at 10.00 but we managed to get in at 9.30 one night. It was a fish restaurant which only sold fish so if you don't like fish you are stuck but if you do it was the best restaurant I have been too. Very authentic, nice staff, gorgeous cheap food and you also get a complimentary glass of wine on arrival - good for me.

all in all san Francisco had two sides to me - loved fishermans wharf and the trolley cars - but not quite sure we chose the best motel in the right location

Room Tip: We had a top floor room with gorgeous views but was a bit smelly - not sure what the others were lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMT0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Upon arrival staff were great. Really friendly and helpful. However room smelt stale but we were hardly there so it was not a problem. The poolwas closed due to them not having disabled access fitted. They need to sort that out. If you love the beach its right next door. We did not realise however how far off the beaten track it was from main attractions. The plus side is there is a bus number 38 which takes you to the centre for 2 dollars. Takes 40 mins and we felt like we were going to work!! The restaurant we were told has nothing to do with hotel and was closed in the evening. We were out all day so never got to use it. We were stuck in the evening for somewhere to eat. The beach restaurants were really expensive and all the local ones closed at 21.30. We were saved by the receptionist who told us about the Pacific restaurant 10 blocks away and it was amazing. If you want cheap this is the place. Overall ok but location not great.

Room Tip: Can ask for view of pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebaybazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

During several stays over a period of 15+ years, I've never been disappointed by this place in a city where I once lived. If anything, the accommodations here have become better and better without radically raising the rates. The location, above Ocean Beach, across the street from Sutro Park and a very convenient bus stop, not far from a terrific oceanside hiking trail, near the Cliff House Restaurant and the Palace of the Legion of Honor Museum, cannot be beat. By the way, the on-site restaurant serves savory food for both breakfast and lunch. Why stay downtown when you can enjoy this environment without breaking your travel budget? Besides, you can ride the bus down there from here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Kern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here 2 different weekends in August, splitting our time with a stay near Yosemite. We chose this location because we have family nearby. The Seal Rock Inn is located just 2 blocks from the ocean where you'll find a beautiful beach. We enjoyed watching the kite surfers and walking along the beach and adjoining parks. Check in was quick and the clerk friendly. We were told when we made the reservations that the office was not open 24/7, so were sure to get there before 10 pm. The beds were comfortable and the room was large. This is an older property, so the furniture (other than the beds) was more "vintage" than you'll find at a newer plush hotel. The attached cafe was decent and prices reasonable. There is a garage to park in. There are ocean-view rooms, but you should know that there is a bus stop on the street just outside, and this is the last stop so they might be parked there awhile. It didn't bother us, but if you're a light sleeper it might. The weather along the coast is cooler than in the city and usually pretty foggy.

Room Tip: Ocean-side rooms can be noisy because there is a bus stop just outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we were welcomed by some friendly staff who were very helpful. although our room was homely, it wasnt very clean. in e bathroom there was false eyelashes, we also found a pair of glasses under the bed. we dont recomend to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borischelski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our main goal for this trip was to visit the Legion of Honor, so this place fit the bill for location. HOWEVER, we would NEVER stay there again. The room was large but dingy, the WI-FI never worked. The walls were thin and we almost could have participated in the conversation next door. The weather was great but the pool was closed. The towels in the tiny bathroom were so thin we thought they had gotten them after Motel 6 threw them away. We were supposed to stay two nights, but mercifully Rick let us leave a day early without charging us. Oh yes, we're both readers, but only one side of the queen bed came with a reading light.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank milasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
469 reviews
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#151 of 229 in San Francisco
205 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn & Suites San Francis...
#173 of 229 in San Francisco
130 reviews
The Richmond
Geary Parkway Motel
Geary Parkway Motel
#114 of 229 in San Francisco
317 reviews
Mirage Inn & Suites
#154 of 229 in San Francisco
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seal Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seal Rock Inn

Property: Seal Rock Inn
Address: 545 Point Lobos Ave, San Francisco, CA 94121-1499
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the quiet, scenic surroundings of Sutro Heights Park and Land's End, we are located away from the noisy downtown traffic and crowds, yet still in the city in a resort-like location. We are just a block up the hill from the historic Cliff House and a few steps further to miles of beach along Ocean Beach. Enjoy a wonderful breakfast or lunch at our own restaurant which serves all day and every day. Our spacious guest rooms, many of which have excellent park and ocean views, provide our guests with many amenities including free high-speed Wi-Fi , cable TVs, dual-line phones with voice mail, free locals calls, in-room iron/ironing boards, and hair dryers. Other hotel amenities incude complimentary but limited covered parking, a private patio with swimming pool, ping pong and badminton. All our guest roomsrooms are non-smoking and some with fireplaces. So if you are ready to try something different in San Francisco then consider us as your home away from home along San Francisco's ocean front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seal Rock Hotel San Francisco
Seal Rock San Francisco
Seal Rock Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing