We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #110 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel was in a great location. The rooms were light and spacious. The standard of the room clendliness was very high. The breakfast was very expensive so we ate out. A bar would have been nice addition. If we were return to SF i would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thornbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Thornbury, many thanks for the 4-star review and your kind comments on our cleanliness, rooms and location. Just to clarify, we do have a lobby bar that offers an extensive martini, sushi and tapas menu should guests have an interest, it is located just inside from the outdoor fire pits off the main lobby. Thanks again for the visit and we are looking forward to your return visit. Take care and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,299 - 2,305 of 4,205 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was very pleasant and location is perfect. The hotel is near the wharf and good restaurants. We liked the room, it was modern and comfortable. The bathroom could have been more spacious. The staff was very friendly especially Mr. Wong, the manager. If we come back to San Francisco,we would love to return to this hotel. We particularly enjoyed the outside gas fireplaces and the comfortable sofas, great for lounging with a drink before supper.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toogreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Toogreat, thanks so much for the 4-star review! I was pleased you found our staff to be pleasant and the location worked out for you. I most certainly will pass on your kind comments to our Front Office Manager Henry Wong as he will be pleased to hear he made a positive difference with your stay. Thanks again for the visit and we hope you can return soon. Take care and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our travel agent managed to get us a good deal for just one night after a cruise that arrived early morning at pier 35. After the usual USA immigration delays, we arrived about 9:30am, but had requested our TA inform them of the early arrival.
The receptionist hardly batted an eyelid when we said that an email had been sent and had a room ready straightaway. The receptionist also supplied a temporary Starwood loyalty card as even though we have been Starwood members for a over a year, we never had a card.
As others have said, the lifts are a bit slow and the hotel layout is a bit confusing until you have been to and from your room a couple of times. The room was advertised as for a Starwood prreferred guest, was clean and spacious, yet the beds were only doubles and not Queen or King, which is unusual.
Food in the coffee bar appeared a bit pricey, but there is a 711, Subway and other eateries close by.
Great location as the Hop On Hop Off bus office and terminus is less than 100 yards away and the waterfront not much further.
Piers 39 and 45 are within easy walking distance.
No refrigerator in the room is poor at this price and the rooms are not double glazed. Our room wasn't dark enough as the Roman blinds let in far too much light and there were lights outside.
At $25, we decided that breakfast was too expensive.
We parked our luggage and the pleasant concierge also booked our airport shuttle, which arrived on time at 6:15pm. We didn't use the pool but we did sit outside late afternoon until the shuttle pick up, in a sunny area primarily for smokers, adjacent to reception. There is an outdoor gas fire for each of the four seating areas which is pleasant enough. We weren't troubled by smoke drifting across either.
The important question as always, is "would we stay again". Given the ideal location, the answer would probably be yes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socram13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Ray_G, many thanks for the detailed review and 4-star rating for our services, cleanliness, rooms and location. I was pleased to hear we were able to assist with replacing your SPG card and I thank you for your loyalty to Starwood hotels and resorts. We are in the process of replacing the internal components of our elevators, so I do apologize you encountered a slow car. Thanks for the tips on the hop on/hop off busses and other area services and attractions and I am glad you were able to enjoy our outdoor firepits. I hope you can return soon and wish you safe travels and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I was here recently for a conference. I had no idea what to expect and felt like the totally transplanted East-Coaster that I am. However, the staff are very nice, the hotel is fine; it's not fancy - but my room was spacious and clean, modern, and comfortable. It's a very short walk to the wharf. I didn't eat in the restaurant but I felt very comfortable and safe here. When you're visiting San Francisco, there's so much to do and see - you won't be in your room much and you'll be happy for the comfort and convenience at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danceout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Danceout, thank you so much for the 4-star review and for your recommendation. I was pleased you enjoyed the visit during your conference and hope you were allowed time to visit our many area attractions. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff and hotel cleanliness. Hoping you can return soon ... warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Location near Fisherman's Wharf nice. Had trouble with room, and moved three times in an 8 day stay. On business travel that was bit frustrating. Hotel manager Dan took care of the situation. Sad that this Sheraton property in California doesn't participate in the Sheraton GREEN program, of all places. We had 12 people in our group and each one of us was told a different story about the internet fee. Some folks got internet for free, others paid, Not good business! Breakfast was very pricey. Overall I would probably not stay at this property again. VERY busy front desk, almost always a line and the main elevators take awhile.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor, it has new ac units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherRuss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Cmarshy, many thanks for the review and advising us that you had difficulties in obtaining the room desired upon your arrival. I was pleased Dan was able to assist and apologize there was confusion over the internet fee. Both answers are correct as we do offer a high-speed fiber optic connected system in all guest rooms at a fee ... AND offer a free service in our lobby. Thanks again for the visit and come back soon. Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

So disappointed, when my husband and I decided to book a weekend get away to San Francisco we decided to try our stay at the "SHERATON" fishermans wharf ...when we visit San Francisco we usually stay at a hotel just around the corner from the Sheraton....Although we are very happy with the hotel where we usual stay, we just decided to give the Sheraton a try... what a JOKE..for the price we paid for what they call the "King room" we expected so much more. We walked into a small out dated room with a very small bathroom... couldnt believe just how small the bathroom was....no in-room refridgerator, safe, snacks NOTHING...our 2nd floor room was very nosiey, but i will say had a comfortable bed.. dont get me wrong, we dont mind spending money and have spent good money on a great rooms...but this was just crazy...and to top it all off, the Sheraton charges their guests on top of their over priced rooms a $45 parking fee...WHAT???...all I can say is this Hotel is over RATED and over PRICED...Never again. NO question about it, We'll just go back to our usual Hotel where its priced right comfortable and just steps from the wharf and has FREE parking..

Room Tip: if you don't mind over priced out-dated rooms, and being charged an extra $45 for parking, this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Cris_r, I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Our hotel was constructed in the 1970's, and although we just completed a $33 million renovation, the bathrooms are smaller than more recent hotel designs, mostly due to the fact that the vanity area is separated with a door from the shower area which gives the illusion that the space is much smaller than a typical open bath area. Our hotel parking rate is higher than most cities, however we are mid-priced when compared to other hotels in the Fisherman's Wharf area of the city due to the high cost of operating a 24-hour valet service in San Francisco. I do apologize we missed the mark with your stay and wish you safe travels and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We travel to SF several times a year and when we go with our children we like to stay at this hotel. It has a pool and the suites are great space with children. The location is touristy but lots of fun things for the kids to do and convenient to a lot of the big attractions. The staff at the front desk and concierge desk are always nice and helpful, really first rate. We also like the gym. THE ANNOYING thing about this property for Platinum members is that the breakfast options are pathetic. One of the fun parts of being on vacation is having a decent breakfast and it is usually included for Platinum members but there is only a coupon for a breakfast bar with muffins and a very long line in the morning. Please, management consider changing this, how much does it really cost??

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGM, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear U4kids, thanks so much for the 4-star review and great comments regarding our helpful and friendly Desk and Concierge staff. We do offer our Platinum members the ability to double up their Starwood breakfast vouchers for a full American breakfast buffet if you are staying more than one night and do apologize you ran into a line at our lobby breakfast bar. I hope you can return soon. Best wishes and warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#51 of 230 in San Francisco
2,358 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
320 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £121 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing