We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #108 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2008

We were visiting Carmel and decided to go stay in San Fransisco for a few nights while we were there. We chose the Sherton because it was a beautiful hotel. We had to get 2 rooms since there were several of us. They were able to put us in rooms right next to each other. The views from the rooms were gorgeous. We walked where ever we went, so it was at a good location. We bought a LOT and the people at the front actually had someone help us load the cars so that we could get out of there soon (we were about to be late for our flight). I want to return there in the future and I'd stay with these folks again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda_Gail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    1,553
    1,042
    369
    184
See reviews for
1,112
1,404
109
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, AL
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2008

We stayed here in between 5 days in Napa and our flight home. We got in early because we had to return our rental car and they had our room ready (11 a.m.)! The lobby was nice and the bellman got our luggage right up to the room. It was large and clean and bright. Everything we needed was right there. The concierge was helpful when we needed advice. Pier 39 was only a block away, which was terrific. And Pier 33, where the Alcatraz tour leaves from, was a very easy walk. We took the cable car to the financial district for dinner and drinks. It couldn't have been more convenient. We would definitely stay here the next time we're in the area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no hot tub
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

Stayed in Sheraton FW 4 nights in beginning of April. The overall impression is very good.
Pluses:
+ location ! - this is probably the main about the place. It is really located very convenient to all the attractions
+ rooms are big enough and clean (the bathroom is rather small though)
+ very nice food stall which become a bar in the afternoon/evening - it is very handy for breakfast (we used it always instead of going the restaurant)
+ the outdoor sitting area with open fire is very nice in the evening

Minuses:
- small bathrooms
- the color concept and lighting of the rooms make them a bit "hospital looking" - white and blue with bright white light.
- the AC is rather noisy
- the walls are really thin and you can hear all what is going on in the neighboring rooms

Overall: great place to be when in SFO. Can recommend to a friend !

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

This is a hotel I have stayed in numerous times over the years. This was the first one with family (children aged 10 and 6). I know that $33m has been poured into the renovation, and the rooms and lobby space are certainly nicer. But overall I cannot recommend. Pluses include the upgrade to the room and lobby; free access to fitness club across the street; friendly staff. The main minus is that the hotel seems to have license to nickel and dime at every last opportunity. Parking is $50 a day (!!), Internet access $15 (the Radisson across the street has free WiFi), a mediocre-looking buffet breakfast is $19.95 (I looked but did not indulge), and the food prices in the lobby cafe are high. Water pressure in the shower is awful. There are also some annoyances from a family perspective - they do not have cots (even for extra $$), there are no fridges in the rooms, and the layout of room is such that there is no way to have only a bathroom light on behind a closed door. There is also not any space in the hotel where it is comfortable to sit. The lobby has tables and chairs and is constantly freezing due to poor design. It's probably better than a lot of the other second-rate hotels in the area. I like Fisherman's wharf because of easy access to GG bridge, the Embarcadero, and great running in the morning. But be warned there is not a decent meal to be found in the area.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Middlefield, CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

Stayed here during our engagement trip. While we heard a lot of bad things about this hotel on this site, we had a good rate and stuck with it. Turns out our stay was great. The room was brand new and very nice. No loud construction noises. Only noise encountered were the Telegraph Hill parrots in the tree outside our room - this was a pretty cool sight and not a drawback!! Guest service were friendly and helpful and location great. No issues here!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rwalsh1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2008

The location of this hotel is the best reason to stay here, but if you can find a similar location for the same price, I recommend you stay there instead. Though the hotel was clean and newly renovated, there was a charge to use the internet, the hotel dining was outrageously expensive ($3 for a cup of tea!), the tv channels were minimal, and the staff was chilly except for the concierge, who was helpful and patient. You are basically getting a room in a good location close to Fisherman's Wharf and North Beach. If you don't expect more than that, you should be fine.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LSinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

Prior to booking this hotel, i read the reviews on here, but having stayed in the hotel 23 years ago, I remember this as being one of the best hotels in Fisherman's Wharf so booked it again. Upon arrival to the hotel on 2nd April 2008, I was pleasantly surprised given some of the comments on here at how nice this hotel really was. The rooms and passageways were bright and airy, and the beds very comfortable. There was a crib in the room for our baby at no extra charge and linen on the crib changed daily. The hotel is in the best location for all the sights in San Fransisco and has a lovely outdoor swimming pool.

At night the front of the hotel has a lovely terrace to the front with tables warmed by fire pits outside. We looked at other hotels in the area whilst we were there and we were glad for our choice, it was very well located for shops, restaurants, trams and sights even had a Safeway across the street! Having been in the hospitality industry for 25 years it takes a lot to impress me and this hotel did, I really dont understand some of the comments on here as renovations were not obvious to us there, the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable and the place was very clean and nice and good value for money.

The only negatives I would raise about this hotel is the expensive car parking charges but thats normal for this area, and that they had a large conference party in while we were there, and they sort of over took the hotel public areas and the people who were on the conference made you feel as though you were intruding, but thats not fault of the hotel but the company that were holding there conference there.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have the best experience in San Francisco, you really wont find better than this on the Wharf.

  • Liked — Location, Comfortable rooms and Good service
  • Disliked — Car parking charge - but its normal for the area
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank julesbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#69 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#52 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travelbag and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing