We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #108 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I do not understand why do they keep this property under the Sheraton brand?! it is very different, in the bad way, from what I am used to expect from a Sheraton..... Good rooms, fantastic location, free WiFi (this is a standard in Bulgaria, but mostly a rarity in the US...) - and these 3 things are pretty much the only good things about the Sheraton. Service is poor, cleanliness is average, (BTW, my room windows were the dirtiest hotel room windows I've ever seen!), the lobby bar is like a Starbucks, or is Starbucks..... In my region this place will have 2 maximum 3 stars!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Stan,

Thanks for staying with us. Where we were gald that you enjoyed our location, we regret that certain other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We keep these areas in mind as we make changes for the future.

We hope that you will consider a return trip.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,763 - 1,769 of 4,271 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

I booked this hotel through Booking.com a few months earlier but after a 2 hour coach journey, 10 hour flight and 30 minuted taxi ride, i was told on arrival that i did'nt exist on their system despite me showing them a copy of the booking .Luckily for me ,they said there were available rooms and i was given a nice one overlooking San Fran bus station !. After a decent 4 night stay in this amazing city i found when i got home , through my bank statement that they had made two withdrawals from my account and i had overpaid by £139 ! After a number of emails to sort this matter i was told a mistake had been made (again ) and it was debited as a No -Show penalty charge - Unbelievable !....Only the friendliness of the staff and a good location save this hotel because it is poorly managed and riddled with incompetence..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Neil,

We are sorry that there was confusion surrounding your reservation but are happy that we were able to resolve this issue. It is nice to know that you had an enjoyable visit to San Francisco and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Everyone in uniform at this hotel smiled and spoke to us - very impressive. They were also helpful both with parking, storing our luggage, making restaurant reservations and tour reservations, and answering our questions. This is older property that has been renovated, looks fresh and colorful. Very convenient to Fisherman's Wharf. Room was nice. Wish they had more space in the bathroom or set up makeup space on the other side of room. Loved the outside lounge areas with fire to keep warm. Nice area to relax or wait for pickup. I did not like the congestion of Fisherman's wharf area so probably would not stay in this location next time but would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Linda,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your lovely review of Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We were thrilled to read about how our staff made such an excellent impression. Also happy that you liked our decor and fire pits. Great place to relax after a day touring the area.

Fisherman's Wharf is a busy area but we do hope that you will return here. We'll miss you too much otherwise!

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I usually love staying at Sheraton hotels. I'm a Starwood member and found that the room I stayed in was just ok. Not great. Very basic for the high price.

The concierge and front desk staff were amazing and helped us score Opening Day tickets for the Giants game. They also handled check in and check out really efficiently.

I ordered room service for breakfast and was happy with the meal.

The location is a good one as it's close to the tourist areas and your within walking distance of bus tours and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluewater08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear bluewater,

Thanks for staying with us. We were happy to read that our staff was helpful and you liked our room service. Glad you found our location perfect for your needs.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here in April 2014 with wife and kids. Hotel looks to be recently renovated in key areas such as lobby, pool, hallways, elevators, rooms, courtyards. I really like the design of the hotel with a private driveway of sorts, underground parking, and most rooms facing one of the courtyards instead of the street. Rooms were somewhat small, with beds one size down from queen (is that a "full"?) in the two-bed rooms, but I think that's typical for SF downtown. Location is great, 2 blocks to fisherman's wharf and easy walk to Pier 39, cable cars, trolleys, etc. Parking was $50/day but that gives you in/out and the garage is very convenient, right under the hotel. There is an outdoor pool and it was about 75 degrees the 2 days we were there so people were definitely taking advantage of the nice weather using the pool! I was not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing a courtyard, probably a courtyard that does not face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear ChicagoTraveler,

What a nice review! Thanks so much for the 4 star rating and the kind words about our decor and the pool. Coming from Chicago, it must have been a nice change from this winter's weather.

It was a pleasure to serve you and your family. Please come back to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf to see us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Mainly stayed at the Sheraton due to its location close to Fisherman's Wharf. It was an easy walk to many tourist attractions. The hotel is a bit dated though and there was no fridge in our standard room which we didn't realize till checking in. They did allow early check in which we appreciated and the valet was very helpful with directions. Be aware they charge for WiFi unless in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JL1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear JL,

It was great to have you stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience especially our location close to all the action in Fisherman's Wharf. Please note that we do have refrigerators available upon request. Thanks for pointing out our helpful valet staff.

Please come back to see us soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The reason I chose this hotel was because I saw in the Agoda map that it's near all the major attractions in Fisherman's Wharf. I regret doing so. Everything was a mistake. This hotel is outdated and needs to be demolished!

First, I booked 2 King Rooms in Agoda but upon arrival they put us on the 3rd floor with twin beds in each room. I didn't bother to complain as we were exhausted from the 12 hour airplane trip.

Second, we had a terrible sleep experience! At 4 or 5 in the morning, the guests above us were early risers. I mentioned this hotel needs to be demolished because apparently light structures were used. Every single step the person above us made created LOUD squeaking noises which drove us nuts! How can someone complain about that?! I wouldn't be surprised if this structure goes down quickly in a strong earthquake.

Third, parking is a rip off! We're in-house guests and we still have to pay $50 a day… $55 if valet!

Fourth, internet is expensive! $4.95 for 15 minutes, $14.95 for 24 hours and $64.95 for 1 week access. I own a chain of resorts in the Philippines and I give away the connection for free to our guests! This is America and I expected something much better!

Others worth mentioning… besides the bathroom being so small, it also has no exhaust ventilation. Avoid eating cheese or anything that will upset your stomach otherwise you and your companion will suffer the gas chamber effect which emanates to the bedroom. Open the sliding doors and stay out there for about half an hour!

No minibar… but they have beverage dispensers outside.

There are many other hotels along the same street. Best to choose your options carefully when planning a trip to Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickyTraveller555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear PickyTraveller,

Thanks for staying with us. We are glad that you found our location perfect for your visit to Fisherman's Wharf. We regret that some aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations. We will certainly keep your feedback in mind as we make improvements.

We hope that you will consider a return visit.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 231 in San Francisco
2,464 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#29 of 231 in San Francisco
427 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £143 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing