We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #109 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our first stop on a recent trip to the US. Nice clean rooms, comfy bed and pillows. Well appointed to get about. We were disappointed that the generator/air con system for the hotel outside our window was so noisy it prevented a good nights sleep. It was so loud that the room vibrated which seemed to defeat the point of having such a nice bed. Was exhausted by the end of the 4 night stay. Other guests in nearby rooms equally baffled at the constant noisy and rumble. Would stay in North beach if we visited again. Fisherman's Wharf is a bit too contrived and overpriced.

Room Tip: Keep well away from the air con system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Fiona,

Glad that you found your room comfortable and the hotel's location perfectly suited for your needs. Sorry to hear that their was some noise from some machinery in the area. Sounds like something that we could have fixed had we known. Please accept our apologies and hope that this did not detract substantially from an otherwise enjoyable experience.

Please come back to see us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    1,576
    1,048
    373
    186
See reviews for
1,133
1,421
109
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, worst experience of our entire US holiday. the best part of the hotel was it's location close to fishermans wharf and pier 39. but the location is where it ends, $57 a night for parking a complete joke once we finalised our bill and went to leave we were locked in the car park as the snob at the front desk didn't tell us we had to validate the ticket and the valet. we were locked out of our room as they said they couldn't debit our credit card but when i checked we had been charged not once but three times! and upon them finally agreeing to check it was discovered it was our bill but someone elses asked when we would be refunded told it would take 30-60 days. $14.95 per 24hours for wifi i don't mind paying for wifi but this was way more expensive then we had paid else where, we don't even pay that much in Australia! stuck in a room next to the ice machine and when asked to be moved we were told no despite the hotel being near empty! the room was small and the bathroom so small you had to get in the bath to shut the door.

worst stay of our 13 week trip to the US.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Michele,

Where we are glad that our location suited your needs, we regret that you found the parking charges off base. Our pricing is in line with similar hotels in our area and less than comparable hotels in the downtown district. Parking is expensive in San Francisco due to very high construction costs driven by water table and seismic concerns. However, we do offer a parking package in which you may find a better value.

Thanks for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great Location - close to Fishermans Wharf restaurants and nightlife, Big Bus tour office, Piers for Alcatraz/cruises/tours, supermarket & gift shops.
Clean room and very comfy bed - maid service was good and bed and pillows were very comfortable.
Overall service - bellhops were friendly and courteous and Manager did offer compensatory champagne & strawberries after we were moved to our third room.
BUT.... standard of room, décor in hotel, behaviour of guests and hotel security were not what we expected from a Sheraton hotel - bathrooms were pokey and cramped, hanging space was limited and sliding doors made access difficult, corridors looked like hospital corridors, one family brought their hire bikes through reception into the carpeted guest corridors while they used the pool area and others brought glasses and bottles from the bar to the poolside despite numerous notices. Two obvious non-residents gained access to the pool are through an unsupervised gate and bathed in their underwear. And although the main lifts and corridors required room key access the back lifts and corridors did not.
This is more like a good motel with primarily short stay and business guests. There were a lot of conferences taking place during our stay and we had two weekends so lots of family breaks or travellers on route to other destinations.
Not a hotel for a long term stay ( we stayed 10 nights) - a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Eyeforabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for staying with us. It is nice to know that you found our staff friendly and accomodating, however, we regret that the hotel layout and decor did not suite your personal taste. We will take these comments in mind as we plan for future updates.

We hope that you will consider a return visit.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Cozy charming hotel in excellent location . Font desk staff was very friendly. I did late night check in and got key just in minutes. Front desk manager Gino extremely nice and professional person we have a little misunderstandings during stay and the way he can handle situation made big impression on me. We left very happy and looking forward to come back soon.

Room Tip: Need help- find Gino( front desk manager)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Alex,

Thanks so much for the 5 star review. We were thrilled that your experience at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf was exceptional. I am especially glad, but not surprized, that Gino was able to assist you. He is a great service champion for us.

It was a a pleasure to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back. Make it soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the best locations for touristas like us in SFO. Central to everything that a traveler to my fave city would want. Cable Cars, Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf ... all right across the street! We had an awesome time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacificoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Pacificoaster,

It was awesome of you to stay with us at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf! Thanks for the very positive review. We are happy that your experience was excellent.

Please come back to see us again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

First - Location.
You can't beat this location if you're here to see all the gloriously touristy things San Francisco has to offer. You're within walking distance to the Embarcadero, Pier 39 (sea lion show daily), and ferries that will take you to Alcatraz and/or Oakland. Head in the other direction, and you're at Ghirardelli Square where you can overdose on chocolate and ice cream while gazing out on the glorious bay.

Staff.
The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. There was one misinterpretation where I was told I'd be receiving 1500 Starwood points for declining cleaning services as part of their green initiative. My stay was from Tues-Fri, which as it turns out, only entitles you to 1000 points. Would have been better had that been communicated up front.

The Hotel.
They're doing ok with what they have. The lobby is warm and inviting. There are tables outside with fireplaces for guests to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day. Unfortunately, the tables line the driveway so there are cars coming and going with guests. Kind of ruins the atmosphere. The rooms are good- they've done a nice job brightening them up with white linens and interior items (paintings, lamps, chairs, etc), but you can tell the place needs a face lift. I will say the rooms are a pleasant upgrade from the hallways that get you there. The carpets are old and conjure up images of mold. And the bathrooms - nothing to write home about. They are set up with the sink outside the bathroom so you run the risk of waking up a roommate should you use the sink in the middle of the night.

All-in-all, now that I know what to expect I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Just because you're a Starwood member, does not mean that they won't put you in a room looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Caitlyn,

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate the review especially the nice comments about our staff. Sorry about the misinformation regarding our Make A Green Choice Program. This program gives our Guests the opportunity to opt out of housekeeping services to help us achieve our sustainability goal of 30/20 by 20 (30% energy reduction, 20% water reduction by 2020.)

Glad that the remainder of your stay was enjoyable. Please come back to see us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgeware, Middlesex
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here two nights en route to the UK. We found the staff very efficient, polite & knowledgeable about the area. We were given a quiet room as requested & found the beds to be very comfortable. The bathroom was very compact & we think had a design fault in that there was no light switch actually inside the bathroom. This meant that it disturbed the other person if u turned on the light in the sink area to find it! Also looked as though our room had been newly refurbished.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evieroselily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear evieroselily,

We are super glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for pointing out our convenient location, knowledgable staff, comfortable beds and quiet rooms. Sounds like a nice experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing