We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but hotel overrated ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #109 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good location but hotel overrated ”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel to be average and a bit overrated. Location is good for Fishermans Wharf, with F Line stop right outside.
One of the pillows had a blood stain on it, not mine and not very pleasant.
My room was incredibly noisy with what sounded like 400lb person on the floor above (very heavy footsteps that were crystal clear); as well as the delivery trucks right beneath my room from 6am onwards.
I chose the 'green' option whereby you're given a $5 voucher for choosing to not use housekeeping, but couldn't use it to buy a beer.
Overall I found this hotel adequate, but not worth the cost.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sarahu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and will certainly follow up where needed.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    1,613
    1,069
    388
    195
See reviews for
1,187
1,463
111
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. I love the service here and rooms are nice and comfy. Great beds! Great location as it is steps away from Pier 39. You can walk to lots of eateries and most tours start stop location is in walking distance.

Loved- Hotel, location, staff, outdoor lounge area w/ firepits. Security, you have to use card key to access elevators.
Not so in love with- Charge for fridge/ microwaves. This is not a budget hotel and I'm surprised that you would not get a comp microwave/ fridge at request. If you're staying for an extended period of time you're forced to eat out for every meal and trash the leftovers because there is no where to store or reheat your food. Also, I stayed on the 2nd floor room 2235. There was an odor that made my gag reflex kick in each time I walked down that corridor.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that requires elevator use. The card key requirement gives a little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRYPCHYCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear TRYPCHYCK,

Thanks much for the 4 star rating and nice comments about your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We are pleased to know that you had a good experience especially enjoying our staff, our great location and comfy beds.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to your third visit.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location was very convenient and I enjoyed my stay here. The room was pretty average and the hotel in general was a little outdated. The food in the lobby is good but overpriced. The fires outside are really nice to hang out by and stay warm. A woman from the hotel staff even came by with candy when we were relaxing out there! so nice!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear JMB,

Thanks for the nice comments about our location, our cozy fire pits and the nice lady with the candy. (I know just who you are talking about!)

It was our pleasure to serve you. Please come back again.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. Jennifer at the Concierge's desk went above and beyond to assist us. Both prior to our arrival and during our stay, I communicated on numerous occasions with Jennifer via email and phone regarding restaurants and touring options for our stay. Needless to say, each one of her suggestions was top notch. Jennifer is a gem and an asset to the Sheraton! Thanks again.....John & Vicky :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bittysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear John & Vicky,

Thanks so much for the nice review of your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We were thrilled to read that Jennifer at our concierge desk made such a favorable impression. (You should have seen the smile on her face when she read your review!)

Come back soon to see Jennifer and the rest of the crew here.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Single mom traveling with 2 daughters, 20 and 18 and we loved the hotel. We were placed in a twin queen ground floor room and although this is usually a security issue for us we felt very safe. You needed your room key to get into most halls, use the elevator and get back into the hotel from the gym or pool.

Rooms were very clean, beautifully designed and bright. Plugs everywhere which is great when traveling with multiple people and lobby was a great hangout place. Perfect location for walking around San Francisco. Right by the wharf where there are tons of things to do and places to eat and easy access to public transportation to get around town.

Downfalls; no mini-fridge in room and you had to pay for wifi while it was free in the lobby. Paying customers can't get wifi but anyone who walks in can use it? Kind of irritating. Also food was a bit pricy but these were all minor issues.

I'd definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Samantha,

We loved reading your 5 star review of your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. So nice of you to share your experience here. It is great to know that you loved your room, felt safe and enjoyed seeing everything conveniently located in this area.

Sounds like a nice trip. Please come back to see us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Sheraton on the 11/6/14 really nice room two double beds I took one and the wife took one ,really comfortable we would just look over at one another say goodnight and have a good nights sleep we travelled from Glasgow to New York then flew in to San Francisco on the same day so we were both shattered really lovely hotel nice staff had breakfast in bed one morning cost less than 60 dollars good value .loved the outside fire pits you could chill out with a drink and watch the flames really relaxing would go back to the Sheraton without a doubt

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear John,

Thanks for the brilliant review of your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We really appreciate the nice comments about how comfortable your room was and how accommodating and friendly our staff is. It's great to know that you stay was extraordinary.

It was a pleasure to serve you. Please come back soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is located right within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and is a central location to a lot of the tourist attractions. The check in process was ok - they had our room ready. The foyer is a little congested so arriving with a lot of others and luggage makes the check in a little frustrating. But we had our room and it was in the main part of the hotel. The room size was just enough for the two of us (with 2 queen beds). The decor is nice and pretty. The washroom was small, but again, just enough for what we needed. The beds were comfy. The hotel has a bar and patio in the lobby where you can buy some breakfast items in the morning, or drinks at night. The prices are very expensive, but it's handy in a pinch. The Wharf and pier areas have breakfast places within walking distance, so I'd rather go there. We stayed for 5 days and we were glad to have such a central location - we were able to walk back to the hotel in the middle of the day to drop off shopping or change our clothes from active wear to dinner wear with ease. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is in the main building and not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky_charm2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Lucky,

Thanks so much for the 4 star rating and nice comments about your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. It is great to know that you enjoyed our location and comfortable accommodations.

We appreciate your recommendation to others and look forward to seeing you again, too.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,055 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#62 of 229 in San Francisco
4,112 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing