We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for Fisherman's Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #110 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good location for Fisherman's Wharf”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed recently for 3 nights, found it was within easy walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and pier 39.
The hotel is adequate, we were a party of 3 adults and the room was big enough for us. We stayed at 4 hotels in California and 1 in Las Vegas and found the Sheraton the only one charging for room wifi.
The hotel is near a major bus car park so depending on where your room is, can get noisy.
Staff were friendly enough, would recommend for a few nights based on location only.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandar044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Amanda,

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate the positive feedback about our location and helpful staff members.

It was a pleasure to serve you. Please come back to see us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    1,587
    1,056
    375
    189
See reviews for
1,146
1,433
111
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As many have mentioned, this is a great location for tourists - 2 blocks gets you to the bay, near Fisherman's Wharf (5 minutes walk), Ghiradelli Square (10 minutes), Pier 39 (5 minutes) etc. Tons of restaurants and shops around, and central location for catching bus or trolley to another district. Also on the plus side - rooms appear recently renovated, with a great blue and white beach decor, comfortable beds, good bathroom (if small). Concierge, bell hops, and front desk staff very friendly.

On the negatives - this neighborhood can be LOUD, between traffic and noisy pedestrians. The windows don't appear to have any soundproofing, so the noise with window open wasn't significantly more than with window closed. Kept us awake until after midnight. (This was NOT people inside the hotel - but outside it) Also, be prepared to pay out the nose, not just for the room, but for parking (don't take the offered valet, park yourself!), for WiFi ($15 for a day pass), for breakfast...even for coffee and tea. Yes, they have a coffee maker in the room (no tea), but the set up in the lobby isn't free, and the small coffee bar there was PACKED with a line 20 deep.

Would I stay again? Definitely not in the summer - maybe in low season when I can actually sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for middle-building and top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank physicsmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear physicsmom,

Thanks for pointing out our great location, attractive room decor, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We are glad that we were able to contribute to an enjoyable stay. Please note that it is customary for San Francisco hotels to offer a la carte room pricing plans but we do offer some packages that include amenities like breakfast, parking and internet. You may find a bit more value in those offerings when available.

We look forward to your next visit here.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Perfectly located for Fishermans warf, Pier 39 and 33 for Alcatraz trips and also all MUNI transports right outside. Our room over looked the pool and had a small balcony which was lovely but some rooms are right on the busy roads, so ask where your room is situated. Small pool area, only 4 loungers that weren't broken and right on road but otherwise functional. The room was good only complaints were no fridge in room and bath and toilet area very cramped. Good stopover for a few nights, would return
Valet parking very expensive at €55 per day plus tax, so factor that into your costs.
We found johnny rockets diner just at back of radisson excellent for breakfast and better value than hotel buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordshireCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Carol,

Thanks for the 4 stars and the nice comments about your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. It is great to know that our location and rooms met your expectations. Thanks for pointing out the issue with the pool furniture. It has been addressed.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

No clue how this was rated as a 4 star.........more like a Days Inn

Needed to change my dates and was on hold over 1 hr and 45 minutes. Called the hotel from another line, put through to voice mail, called back and finally reached a person who was very helpful for the date changes. Ended up reserving one additional night online and when I called to have the two reservations merged they said they only had a handicapped room, which I said was fine.

Unfortunately, it overlooked a bus parking lot and had a sliding barn type door on the bathroom, which offered no privacy or storage for hygiene items. A lame photo was the only decoration (beds only covered in white sheets/duvet). I felt like I was suffering from visual deprivation. The only thing worse was looking out the window at the buses.

When calling the front desk (from in or out of the hotel) the staff can't hear you because of the excessive noise in the lobby. I suggest calling after 11pm. The concierge tried to be helpful.

I couldn't check out fast enough......had to wait an extra day - ended up at the Mark Hopkins Intercontinental on Nob Hill (surprisingly was less $$) with a great view and lovely room. Nob Hill is not as convenient a location to Fisherman's Wharf, as I was traveling with two teenage girls. I figured if I was going to change rooms, I may as well change to a better hotel. In my experiences I feel the Westin St Francis and Mark Hopkins Intercontinental to be 4 stars and Hyatt Union Square a 3 star.

I had stayed here once before about 15 years ago and remembered it being equally as disappointing, but I thought with two teenagers accompanying me this time that it would be a good idea - WRONG. Some things just don't change.

Room Tip: Request a room not overlooking the bus parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear travelwmn,

We regret that you did not find our hotel up to your standards. We will redouble our efforts to ensure that each and every Guest is satisfied.

We wish you continued safe and happy travels.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Acworth, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Thanks Sheraton for our one-night stay in Fishermans Wharf. It was exactly what we needed coming from the coast. They helped us book a airport shuttle, get a bite to eat and point us in the right direction. Can't miss the short walk to everything on the piers and great crab and clam chowder. Rooms were good and bed was great. I'd probably compare the room to an upper 3 star hotel but the location and service pushes it to 4 star.

Room Tip: Don't bring a car if you can help it. Heard the parking is quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Nick,

Thanks so much for the excellent review of your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We were excited that your visit was enjoyable and our rooms and staff made it extra special.

We look forward to your next trip. With so much to see and do in San Francisco, why not plan a littel extra time here?

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of June, bit disappointed in the hotel as looked a bit tired but was clean. Excellent location for fisherman's wharf, only a couple of minutes walk to the front.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABIGAIL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Sandra,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the cleanliness and location. We are working on several projects here which I am sure you will appreciate.

Come back to see us.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here at the start of a road trip down the Californian Coast. The Sheraton was in a fantastic location near the piers of Fisherman's Wharf with tonnes of restaurants nearby (good as there is no restaurant in the hotel). The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with all queries. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The only two downsides for us were that WiFi was only complimentary in the lobby area (leading to a very congested lobby) and that the hotel buffet breakfast was quite expensive (although the quality and choice was good). Would highly recommend for anyone visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Adam,

Thanks so much for the 4 star rating of your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. It was nice of you to point out our convenient location, helpful & friendly staff and clean accommodations.

Sounds like a good trip. Please come back to see us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#67 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#62 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,051 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing