We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sheraton at the wharf needs an overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Ranked #109 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grass Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Sheraton at the wharf needs an overhaul”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was disappointed with this Sheraton as most of the Sheratons are so classy. This is an old hotel but needs some remodeling to update the lamps and then make a bigger lounge area or a cocktail lounge Period. They only had a coffee counter then they also make drinks not fancy ones just gin and tonic type . The nice thing was outside they had seating areas with firepits.
The room was okay we had to call as a lamp shade was cracked and broken pieces out of shade and also the door lock wouldn't work.

The bathroom itself was small there was a dressing room but toilet and bathtub area was so tiny.

The location is great just walk one block to the famous bread company and water areas and great resturants.

Overall the Sheraton here in San Francisco was not the best and parking fee was $50 for the hotel guests also. they should give a reduced rate for people staying at their establishment. Just high priced when paying the overnight parking fee and there is no where else to park. So they have you over a barrel. Staff was nice. nothing special that I can brag about just normal hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamMartin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Miriam,

We appreciate your business and comments. It is nice to know that our location, the fire pits and our staff were positive. Sorry that the decor did not meet your expectations. Where the hotel did receive a make over a short time ago, the theme was somewhat retro. Some Guests love it, some not so much. We will count you in the later grouping and keep your comments in mind as we make plans for future updates.

Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    1,613
    1,069
    388
    195
See reviews for
1,187
1,463
111
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
coulsdon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On arrival was informed parking was an incredible $50 a day ! Was a Sunday afternoon and roads were very busy, and after a long drive just accepted what I considered to be an outrageous amount of money for a hotel guest to pay for parking. I had 2 days at hotel, so with tax that was over $100 to park a car.

As we were all very tired, tried to be nice to reception staff and ask for a good room for the 4 of us. Was told none of the rooms had a good view, and was given a ground floor room at the same level as the side walk. We had people walking past looking into the room. I immediately rung front desk and asked to be moved. They then provided a better room on 3rd floor. Why do I get impression hotels always try and fob you off with their most undesirable rooms ?

Apart from a great location, this hotel has little else going for it. I stayed in 9 hotels in a 2 week period whilst touring California with family, this was the least desirable.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floors - don't expect any of the rooms to have any views other than busy streets or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LureMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear LureMaster,

Thanks for staying with us. We are sorry that you did not have a favorable experience here. Parking is expensive in San Francisco but our hotel does not charge more than similar hotels in the area. In fact, parking here is less expensive than at hotels in the downtown district. We regret that this was a surprise to you as we include this information on all confirmations as well as on our website.

We hope that you will consider a return trip here.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

SFW was not my first choice on this business trip but its location relative to client meetings and compliance with our travel policies made this hotel a decent alternative. I must confess that I was thrown by the name, since the hotel is actually 2 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and surrounded by a Radisson and large parking structure to the north and a municipal car barn for the city's fleet of buses to the east. There's nothing to see either to the south or west for that matter, but lack of a view was not the most irksome part of the experience.

This hotel requires a significant upgrade throughout the facilities. The rooms are adequate, but the common areas are tired and and require a full blown makeover. The lobby is crowded, the bar serves up everything from cocktails to souvenirs, the restaurant is quite shabby. I did order room service for breakfast, and the food was quite good and service arrived right at the designated time. Fortunately, finding quality fare throughout San Francisco is easy and close enough to overcome the limitations of the SFW.

The room was comfortable with nice bedding, but had awful towels and amenities. At more than $300 per night (and that was a corporate rate), I expected better facilities, and unless there is a major upgrade in the future, I would not likely choose this hotel again, notwithstanding location or travel policy.I rated the hotel average only because I do not think it's representative of Sheraton properties in general. But it does look and feel like a converted Holiday Inn instead.

Room Tip: If you book a room at SFW, avoid the rooms facing east. On a positive note, however, breakfast was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Steve,

Thanks for staying with us. Where we were glad that you found our room service timely and good and room very comfortable, we regret that other aspects of your experience did not live up to your expectations. We will continue to look for ways to improve and thank you for the feedback.

We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hated the first room as over busy bus depot and beeping of reversing buses would have disturbed my sleep. However, the hotel moved us the next day and we had a pleasant quiet room. The hotel was clean, safe and had a small pool to cool off after sightseeing. Didn't use the restaurant as it was plain and basic- but their is a super bakery a few minutes walk away which has full menu and great atmosphere too(Boudins). However, the hotel food could be good if that's your preference. The staff are very good and the location is just perfect if you are car free. Therefore I really recommend- just check you are not given the rooms looking over the bus depot if it might bother you. Overall- recommend for mid range decent lodgings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncasterdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear doncasterdarling,

Thanks so much for the 4 star rating and nice comments. We are thrilled that we found a room to suit your needs and our staff was friendly and helpful. We love Boudin Bakery, too. It's been on Fisherman's Wharf since 1849.

We look forward to welcoming you back. Make it soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you want to be walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, cable cars, Lombard Street and multiple souvenir shops, this is the hotel for you. Staff is absolutely amazing! I cannot begin to say enough nice things about the front desk staff, concierge staff and valet staff...every single one that I came in contact with was polite, friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms are large and clean but dated. A few fire pits and couches available outside to sit at and relax at the end of a long day - nice touch. Restaurant is limited and closes too early - same with the lobby bar. This is not horrible due to there being an ihop across the street, a Starbucks a block away, and a multitude of restaurants at Pier 39 to meet a variety of different dining needs. Outdoor pool is ok. Price for a room is definitely not cheap and cost of parking is ridiculous, but when you keep in mind that this is a big city and all of the hotels are overpriced, in the end, the staff and location make it all worth it. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for upper floor away from bus terminal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Joyce,

Thanks for the amazing review of your stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. We were smiling while we read about your experience with our staff members, clean accommodations and convenient location.

We appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The location and my husband's rewards points is what brought us to this hotel. It was clean and convenient but could use a bit of a "facelift". Still, it was clean, quiet, and met our needs. Across the street there is a little shopping mall which has a Safeway grocery store which is convenient if you need to get some quick food to go. The Wifi is free in the lobby which is appreciated by all. Outside there are gas fireplaces where you can enjoy a snack or a drink. That too was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZurichPizazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Zurich,

We were happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf. Thanks for pointing out our convenient location, clean accommodations and, of course, the fire pits in our outdoor living rooms.

Thanks a lot for sharing. Come back soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked from Australia 7 months in advance through our travel agent, pictures looked good, but how wrong they can be ! This hotel is dated and tired, when you think Sheraton you usually think quality, certainly not in this case.
No fridge, no mini bar, no separate shower, no room service before 5pm! We went to check in after travelling 24hours with no sleep, and were told our room ....nor any room was available at 2:10pm and to go for a walk for and hour which we did, at 3:15 we were told our room still hadn't been cleaned and to go away for another hour ! At that point we complained ! Got a room eventually with a balcony that looked out onto a internal rooftop with a sling door that didn't lock and was rusted out. Think twice if you are looking for a quality hotel

Room Tip: If you are seeking anything more than a 3star hotel on Australian standards then look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripSA5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Trip,

We regret that your stay wasn't all that you expected. We reviewed your comments with our staff in order to better understand the situation and follow up. We hope that you will accept our apologies and consider a return stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Hirsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,055 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#62 of 229 in San Francisco
4,112 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel

Property: Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel
Address: 2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1450
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel is steps form Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz Island, and the Cable Car lines. We have 9,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor function space and 531 luxurious guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Francisco
San Francisco Sheraton
Sheraton Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing