We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Ranked #94 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 May 2013

From start to finish, I was completely impressed. We had a group of 15 ladies in town for a bachelorette party and we reserved 5 rooms. The staff were super accommodating and really amazing to work with. Everyone from the housekeeping department (who tried to arrange the room cleaning around our activities) to the manager, to the front desk.... we wanted for nothing. Thanks soooo much for making our special weekend so memorable. On Friday night we spent some time at the Starlight upstairs and it was so much fun! The music was great and we danced until the wee hours of the morning...

As far as location goes, it is in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square so we were able to walk a lot of places (which for large parties is extremely helpful). Overall, we were super happy with our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sclarke03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear sclarke03:
Huge congrats and happy to know that your Bachelorette party went super! I really appreciate your recognition of my staff's service and consideration to our guests. It means a lot to them as well as me that their service made your stay a memorable one. Our location is indeed one of the best whether you are travelling with a group or a single. Transportation can be expensive and yes, you can pretty much go anywhere you want to go on foot from our hotel!
Hope to see you back at the Drake!
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,273)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,850 - 1,856 of 3,273 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

I have to start by saying I love the Kimpton Hotels. Love the brand and the people behind them. This is an old hotel and with that comes some quirks. The bed was super comfortable and there was a nice work area. But the wifi connection was iffy at best. And, the bathroom was super small to the point that I found myself looking for space to to place my toothbrush. At one point the toothpaste tube fell into the toilet. The space is that small! To use the toilet you have to close the door. Overall it was just a very tight space.

The service was excellent and the check in was a breeze. However, just the postage size stamp of a bathroom will most likely have me looking for another place next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Kathy W:
Thank you, first of all for being a Kimpton lover! As each and every Kimpton hotel is unique, the Drake certainly offers something for everyone! Our building is one of the historical buildings in SF and yes, it was built in 1928! With our recent $9mil renovation, several modern amenities have been added. Our bed is one of many guests' favorite! We welcome all comments and suggestions on our bathrooms as we aim to make our guests' stays as comfortable as possible.
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel has a great vibe. The lobby is stunning, the service is excellent and I don't think you can do better for location for easy access to all the attractions and shopping. Great restaurants are steps away. In fact, the food at Scala's, located in the hotel was fantastic. It's a very comfortable place suitable for a romantic dinner for two, a group of friends or special family meal. The attentive service was also exceptional.

Room Tip: High rooms facing the street have very nice views through very large windows and we did not find the...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JE4061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear JE4061:
Many will agree that our lobby is stunning, some says that it is grand! Thank you for appreciating that! Our location is given and it is close to all the shoppings and dinings you can do...but you are right about our own, Scala's IS one of the local favorites as well as many tourists who are not staying with us.
We'd love to show you the service you expect from the Drake again on your next visit to SF!
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I checked in at the Sir Francis Drake and I was greeted by a friendly front desk agent who was quick, helpful and very nice.

Once I got to my room, I noticed it was a very small with a tiny bathroom. This is not the place to stay if you're traveling with kids more than a couple. The bathroom doesn't have anywhere to put your toiletries, etc, do keep a plastic bag and a toothbrush holder handy. I really enjoyed the C.G. Bigelow products that were provided in the guest room.

The bed was really comfortable and I made use of the yoga mat that come with the room.

You can't beat the location. It was in the heart of Union square and was a convenient location to hop on the Cable car to get to Fisherman's Warf. or to go down to some great shopping at Powell and Market.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Cy M:
I appreciate your review! Aside from our ideal location, I'm thankful to have my front desk team who is always eager to help our guests as friendly and as efficiently as possible! They truly love their interactions with the guests. Wow, happy to know that you utilized our YOGA mat! It is our new program to have a yoga mat in every room...thanks for spreading the word! As for the bathroom, we try to come up with different ideas of how to maximize the storage area... in the meantime, yes, everyone seems to enjoy the product we offer.
Hope to see you back at the Drake!
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Room was a bit small, which is the only downside, but expected. Great location, with cable cars right out the front door and right in the heart of the downtown. Breakfast that's included is excellent with the option to use the vouchers as credit toward anything else on the menu. Friendly front desk and concierge staff; however, valet was hit and miss. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1980_Tim_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear 1980_Tim_1980:
Thanks for your feedback! Although, valet is opearted by a 3rd entity, it is definitely a reflection on us and I will definitely address it to the owner of the valet service. As one of the Kimpton hotels, we put as much as focus on our food and always welcome a nice comment on our food as well as our hotel.
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have a huge bias....I love Kimpton hotels. I love the style of the hotels, they are always clean, service is great, there is a free wine happy hour from 5-6, and the restaurants in the hotel are always above average. These statements are true for the Sir Francis Drake. Check-in was easy and as always the people behind the desk were very friendly and accommodating. As a Kimpton In-touch member (their loyalty program) you not only get free internet for the duration of your stay, but you also get a $10 credit for the mini-bar and a personal welcome note. We spoke to three different concierges at separate times during our stay and found them to be personable and very helpful. We ate dinner at Scala's one night and it was very tasty.
There are also some cons to this hotel. First, as you may expect (you are in downtown San Francisco) the rooms are small. Our room was actually bigger than I anticipated (since I had already read to expect small rooms) but our BATHROOM was SO SMALL that your legs actually touched the sink vanity while sitting on the toilet. The vanity was extremely tiny as well...no room to put makeup etc. on top. Secondly, the mini bar is actually only room temperature items (i.e. no sodas or drinks other than water and wine) since there are NO refrigerators in the room.
Overall, if I were staying in Union Square again, I would still select this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindid2001us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Mindid2001us:
Thank you for being a loyal Kimpton guest! Yes, each and every Kimpton hotel is unique in its style, but when it comes to our service, it is across the board helpful and friendly! Please know that we do have several types of rooms; historical rooms to suites.. but you are right, the Drake is a city hotel, not a resort. People from around the world come to SF to explore what the city has to offer and the Drake can't be any more perfect than where it is located!
I'm glad that you enjoy our daily wine hour and Scala's for some delicious food. Hope you enjoyed our free coffee/tea service in the moring, too.
See you soon at the Drake!
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is a classic beauty in a great location. Guests are greeted by an adorable doorman in full costume. We found the concierge to be incredibly helpful even when we needed to make some last minute changes to our itinerary.
The hotel is 85 years old so the rooms are tiny and the bathrooms could use an update, but the location, value, and staff make it a great place to stay in SF.

Room Tip: Lower floors get a lot of street noise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear RobinWebb:
You are absolutely right! Staff makes a huge difference in whether making your stay a nice one or so-so one. Glad to know that our concierge team was able to help you with the last minute change. They truly love SF and love to assist making our guest's visit a pleasant memory! Although, our building is 85 year-old, it is recognized as one of the historical buildings in SF and we went through a $9mil renovation in 2011 and just completed our meeting spaces as we speak!
Hope to see you back at the Drake soon!
Jim Gross, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#55 of 230 in San Francisco
489 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
3,288 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Address: 450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504 (Formerly Sir Francis Drake Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £154 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, housed in a landmark building in the heart of Union Square, is quintessential San Francisco: exciting, romantic, timelessly elegant and unique. The ornately decorated lobby, old-world hospitality, and Tom Sweeney, the hotel's infamous Beefeater doorman, transport you to another time and place. The legendary Starlight Room, the adjacent Scala's Bistro and unmatched hospitality complete the picture to create an unforgettable San Francisco experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Sir Francis Drake Hotel San Francisco
Drake Francis Sir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing