We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sir Francis Drake Friendly Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Ranked #89 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sir Francis Drake Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great friendly service when you walk in. The front desk always has a smile on their faces and always happy to accommodate your room needs. The lobby is friendly and lively with little
thoughtful services and the rooms always make you feel very special. Clean, open, great views, great location, free coffee in the morning

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for what you want, a quiet room, a big room?
See more room tips
Green Features: The Drake is on the cutting edge of being environmentaly friendly.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    1,123
    585
    245
    152
See reviews for
548
1,147
158
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Even before you enter this grand historical hotel, it becomes an experience~ The doormen are always more than helpful, courteous and pleasant. They are proud to wear their Beefeater uniforms and ready with a smile and helping hand. There is a plaque on the sidewalk which honors the tradition and one man who has been there 27 years. We met this gentleman and I can assure you that he is proud of his tradition, a lovely thing to behold in this world of change and outsourcing.
Check-in was a breeze and most pleasant and we were given a voucher for a free glass of champagne too. The staff was very professional yet friendly and smiling.
We. stayed in a grand queen room on the 7th floor and it was large, lovely and quiet. It was elegantly appointed and several in our group with similar rooms commented upon how pleased they were with the accommodation. I had read that one could hear street noise, but our room faced the Neiman Marcus side and it was very quiet.
The lobby was lovely and had a large comfortable bar that was always busy. The mezzanine too was lovely, comfortable and drinks are served there also.
The Sir Frances Drake is an historic hotel and beautifully maintained. The single rooms in the hotel are very tiny, but I understand cannot be changed so I would suggest that you upgrade to a larger room if you want a more comfortable space.
We stayed 6 days and enjoyed the benefit of maid service only twice because one can get a 10. VOUCHER each day that one does not have this service (each third day the room must be cleaned)
I especially appreciated having the choice to have a coffee maker in the room...I need my coffee first thing!!!!!
I must mention the general manage,,Mr. Jim Gross. He was ever present in the lobby area, checking to make sure that the guests were well accommodated. He was very pleasant and sincerely wanted the guests to have a comfortable stay.
We would definitely stay again and again!
Hats off to a very well run establishment!
One last comment, the general manager

Room Tip: Do not get a single small room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowansmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Having lost a day of our honeymoon due to flight problems we arrived at The Sir Francis Drake tired and weary and were disappointed to be given a small room at the end of a corridor next to the fire escape.The room was at best very average.Hotel appears to be using boutique status as an excuse for poor room facilities.Bathroom was small,cold and in need of upgrading .Hotel seems to be geared for business groups rather than individual travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iain w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Iain w,

We are a newly renovated ($11 million) historic hotel that is located in the heart of Union Square. We have many different room types at the hotel some small and some much larger; we are always happy to move a guest if they have noise issues or even if they want a larger room. Our goal is always the same we want our guests to be happy.

Thanks for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The best thing about this hotel is that it's basically right on Union Square and super close to a lot of shopping/restaurants/attractions. There are also a lot of other hotels in this area for around the same price and there's nothing specifically awesome about SFD that would make me want to stay there again but here's the breakdown.
- Free coffee/tea in the mornings in the lobby
- No on-site spa although you can get in room services. Although with the small size of the room, I'm not sure there's enough room for a massage table and definitely wouldn't recommend it.
- No fridge in room so mini liquor bottles and white wine is room temperature- yuck.

PROS:
- Location
- If you sign up as a Kimpton guest (which is free), there is free wifi the whole time you're there (added value of about $10-15/day)
- If you forget some toiletry items (toothpaste, razor)- they will bring you these items
- CO Bigelow products are nice (but not travel size so can't take the mini's home with you)
- If you skip the housekeeping each day (except the last), you get a $10 credit to be used in the bar

CONS:
- The first room I was in was on third floor facing Powell and boy was it LOUD- I could hear Jazz music from the restaurant downstairs, people screaming, the Trolley going by, cars, everything. I suppose this is not the hotel's fault but the windows are OLD and not properly sound proofed. I called and complained and was promptly moved to a room on the 11th floor which was better, but still a bit noisy.
- The rooms are small, but keep in mind this hotel was built in 1920s. There's the bed, a little room around the bed, and a desk. It's not like you're going to be throwing a party in your room any (at least I hope not for your neighbor's sake)
- The bathroom is TINY and has minimal counter space. I could barely fit a hairbrush, toothbrush, and makeup compact on the before things started falling off or into the sink.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Tiffany M,

Thanks for the comments about our fantastic location, nice amenities and complimentary morning coffee and tea service. We have many different room types at the drake some of our rooms are small, but most of them are much larger, and we are always happy to move you to another room when we have one available. We always appreciate the feedback.. Happiness of all guests is paramount for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Walking distance to all of the great stores and restaurants.Walked to the fabulous Hakkasan restaurant. Cable car stop outside. Right next door to Saks, --what more could a girl ask for?? The hotel was very nice. Very beautiful. There is a secret "Prohibition/speakeasy room in the hotel. You have to ask for a private tour, which we did. We had the most wonderful young woman/staffer show us the special room. (Alenia or Elenia-can't quite remember the correct spelling, but she was super. Not only did she show us the special room, in which she had to disable the elevator to take us to the secret room, but she did so in such an enthusiastic, interesting manner. She looked like an old fashioned pin up girl! So pretty and kind. Very knowledgeable. The best part of hotel was this interesting, secret room. Ask for the tour. Cons: The room didn't have a coffee pot ??? But the room had a yoga mat? I really enjoy a cup of coffee in the room. Sometimes, I just don't want to walk to Starbucks. They have coffee but you have to go to the lobby. I didn't like this about the hotel.

Room Tip: See the "Prohibition" room. Ask for the personal tour. It was so cool. Especially if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghost595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have to say that I was not extremely impressed. Maybe my expectations were too high. The rooms were extremely small. There were only two of us but we could barely walk around each other in the room. Housekeeping left a used cloth napkin on the floor for three days, which tells me that they did not clean thoroughly. The front desk staff was very nice but the conciege rep could have been more helpful. Key phrase for the rep - follow through... On a positive note, the hotel is located in a prime location and I valued that perk...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Well_In4med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Sir Francis Drake has a couple of good points...firstly location it is really close to Union Square, and then the Starlight Rooms on the 21st floor which is a bar/nightclub. Unfortunately the not go good points out weigh the good points! The rooms are small and tired and in need of a refresh. The Soap was not re-filled during our visit and ran out on day 2 ...there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. My wife order a pot of hot water through room service so she could have a herbal tea! 10 minutes later they brought exactly that a pot of water, no cup! She requested a cup, which turned up an hour later after a second call. We also booked a 6 seater cab through the hotel to take a group of us onto a restaurant. When we queried why it hadn’t arrived they said we hadn’t booked it and we should get 2 cabs from the street...so much for service! On the last day we checked out and left our bags with the hotel...upon our return to pick them up it took 20 minutes to find the porter with the keys and retrieve our bags! So as we only asked the hotel do perform 3 tasks in our 4 day stay and they performed them all badly I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We value your feedback and always strive to improve. We have several room types available. Our team is always happy to change a guests room if requested. We also have Kuerig coffee makers upon request as well. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed Starlight Room on the 21st floor with the best views of the city. We would love for you to visit us again and experience the true Kimpton Spirit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#35 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Property: Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Address: 450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504 (Formerly Sir Francis Drake Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, housed in a landmark building in the heart of Union Square, is quintessential San Francisco: exciting, romantic, timelessly elegant and unique. The ornately decorated lobby, old-world hospitality, and Tom Sweeney, the hotel's infamous Beefeater doorman, transport you to another time and place. The legendary Starlight Room, the adjacent Scala's Bistro and unmatched hospitality complete the picture to create an unforgettable San Francisco experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Sir Francis Drake Hotel San Francisco
Drake Francis Sir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing