We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Ranked #89 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Sir Francis Drake in San Francisco February 12 - 15th for a Valentine's Day getaway. Didn't know much about the Hotel, aside from what we had seen online. We were wonderfully surprised at just how accommodating and pleasant the staff was. They helped us with directions to get around town, referred us to fantastic restaurants and genuinely made us feel special. We even got a private historical tour of the Hotel.....Wow...what a story the hotel has....We want to acknowledge some specific members of the staff, as they were most involved with our stay and again, made sure our experience was wonderful. Vilen Gabrielyan..."Thank you so much for the tour and for taking such good care of my wife and I, you were absolutely the best....Micheal, at the front desk, for ensuring that we didn't miss the wine tasting."
- As for the management, and others who make the big decisions,...The hotel is absolutely fantastic, can't imagine staying at a different hotel. But, it is people like Vilen and Micheal that truly sold the experience for us at the hotel. The Sir Francis Drake will be in our hearts for a long time to come, and we will definitely be returning soon.

Thanks again, and take care of the "Drake".....She's a special place.

Best,
Chris and Chrysi Greene
206-877-2128

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    1,123
    585
    245
    152
See reviews for
548
1,147
158
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel on my last night using a Jetsetter deal. It is a really beautiful hotel and my room was really lovely. My room overlooked Powell street - the cable cars run up it all day and into the night (it stops around midnight) so if you find the noise annoying, ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. It is right next to a Starbucks and there's a great American diner on the corner that I got an excellent fish and chips at.

Everyone was very friendly, especially the concierge who helped me book a shuttle to the airport. I would have loved to have spent more time here and the bed was very comfy, but I had an early flight to catch.

Green Features: I believe there was a program where you get a credit to your room if you refuse housekeeping. Since I was only staying one night, I could not take advantage, but it's a great idea.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My company has been holding events at the Sir Francis Drake Hotel for many years now and we’ve been very pleased with everything this hotel has to offer, including its central location and outstanding customer service. Last year, I had the chance to work with Becca Dinow and Stephanie Hiatt and it was truly a pleasure to interact with them from the planning stages through execution. They did everything possible to accommodate all of our requests and remained deeply involved throughout production. I have great respect for the Sir Francis Drake Hotel and would highly recommend this venue to anyone looking for a hotel to stay or to host a corporate event.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hershel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Beautiful historical hotel, excellent customer service, great location. Great staff and service, Christine Nolan in sales helped me get a last minute reservation while traveling to SF for business, even though my company doesn't have a special program. Love the amenities at Kimpton hotels, especially the wine hour.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilsa_Steele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My company has been working with the Sir Francis Drake Hotel for years to book guest rooms, meeting rooms and host corporate events. Although the hotel location is certainly a plus (Union Square) I am particularly happy with the service they provide. Last year we worked with Becca Dinow and Stephanie Hiatt who went above and beyond and accommodated all of our needs. They made sure all our requests were attended, which resulted in a seamless experience. I would recommend the Sir Francis Drake to anybody who is looking for comfort, convenience and efficiency.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiceMKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

As a meeting planner, I depend on attentive and dependable service at the facilities I use. I have nothing but rave reviews for the Sir Francis Drake meeting crew. Becca Dinow and Albert Sabado are top notch! Very responsive both before the meetings and during them. My meetings have gone splendidly: outstanding service, food, rooms, etc. We've done two meetings there—one for a group of 24 and one for a group of six—and the hotel has been able to accommodate every need. My meeting leader could not have been happier.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomitweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was my second stay at the Sir Francis Drake and though I was there for a business retreat I couldn't get over how beautiful the hotel is. It's so beautiful that it's on the short list of places I want to get married!
The staff was incredible at taking care of my company as we put on a business retreat for 80 participants. Becca Dinow was especially considerate and on-top-of-it the entire weekend.
This hotel is a landmark but the staff doesn't rest on it's beauty. They work hard and deliver great service all around.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. it's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#35 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Property: Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Address: 450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504 (Formerly Sir Francis Drake Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, housed in a landmark building in the heart of Union Square, is quintessential San Francisco: exciting, romantic, timelessly elegant and unique. The ornately decorated lobby, old-world hospitality, and Tom Sweeney, the hotel's infamous Beefeater doorman, transport you to another time and place. The legendary Starlight Room, the adjacent Scala's Bistro and unmatched hospitality complete the picture to create an unforgettable San Francisco experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Sir Francis Drake Hotel San Francisco
Drake Francis Sir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing