We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel with Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Ranked #91 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel with Great Location”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I recently stayed here 3 nights for business and had a great experience. I arrived early and the room was not ready however the concierge immediately assisted with bag check so I could walk around and enjoy the day while waiting. The room was a king bed suite that had been newly renovated and very nice for a historic hotel. There is a hosted happy hour each evening, which is a very nice amenity. This hotel is located near Union Square and is close to nice restaurants, shopping, a cable car stop and Chinatown. The door man was very helpful locating cabs and a car service for the airport travel. My meeting didn't end until noon and I asked and was immediately offered late checkout [1 pm] gratis. I have stayed at many other hotels in San Francisco and this was one of the best hotels recently.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a higher floor, traffic on Powell can be a little noisy on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    1,145
    600
    255
    156
See reviews for
558
1,167
161
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is excellently located next to Union Sq and the staff were very friendly and helpful (not unusual in the US, but really very welcome).
The hotel is a bit dated but everything is very clean and well looked after, a bit noisy but this adds to the experience for me. The bed was fabulous, comfy and big, just what I like.
Valet service top class (I drove in from the airport and travelled as well, so this was a big help).
Overall, I can only recommend this as great place to stay to visit SF - not to mention it is straight across the road from Lori's diner where you get the best breakfast evert!!
Well done to SFDH, will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, they are nice and big and have cool views of the street!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nash1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

How wonderful it is to step into the Drake's lobby and feel like you you have arrived. As always, the staff is professional, friendly and up beat. I like the fact that lobby is alive with traveler's enjoying stories and drinks. This charm is transferred to the guests as you always get a greeting on the elevator from a a fellow hotel guest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thornhill, ontario
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

many previous reviews by other travellers. this hotel is all about service. every employee we met went out of their way to be helpful. arrived 6 a.m. and although the room we booked was not ready until 3 pm they offered us another room and we were able to shower and refresh. this was amazing. the coffee in the a.m and the wine and pizza at 5 pm were a nice touch. got a reasonable rate bidding on priceline. building is older with charm so don't expect ultra modern. we asked for a non pet room which was not a problem. Location is absolutely ideal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear DWR,

Thank -you for the 5 star review; your right about the location we are steps from world-class shopping and great restaurants and attractions. I really appreciate the comments about the great service our team is really focused on the guests happiness; its nice to know that it shows.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed two night this past weekend, and enjoyed everything about our visit. The service was courteous prompt and always helpful. We had a corner room on the 4th floor overlooking the cable cars. Wasn't too noisy, and we slept very well in our nice king bed.

Room Tip: Our corner room was magnificent, but can't say we did anything special to get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Blake40,

Thanks for the great review; long weekend, wonderful corner room, great sleep and quiet.
Priceless Thanks for staying.

Cheers...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great location, great hotel, very old fashioned and classy (in a good way). If you're after a modern looking hotel though this isn't for you. The only two issues I have is the bathroom is tiny and can really only fit one person and the window in the room had a draft coming in. The hotel could do with some maintenance work but all in all I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikig1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Mikig1978,

Thanks for the review; I appreciate the comments about the gap in the window we will correct that asap. I'm delighted you enjoyed the central location; we are steps from great restaurants and union square we are pet friendly and have an awesome wine hour from 5-6 pm served on our mezzanine.

Cheers..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearlake, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel and staff are incredible. We stayed over Valentine's Day and had a fantastic time. We have four dogs, (three small and one medium) and this boutique hotel was more than happy to accommodate us with zero pet fees. There are certainly cheaper places to stay, but I know I'll be back to the Sir Francis Drake the next time I'm in the bay. I have nothing critical to say about this hotel. What a remarkable and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khanspawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,484 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Union Square
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Clift Hotel San Francisco
#72 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Property: Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Address: 450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504 (Formerly Sir Francis Drake Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, housed in a landmark building in the heart of Union Square, is quintessential San Francisco: exciting, romantic, timelessly elegant and unique. The ornately decorated lobby, old-world hospitality, and Tom Sweeney, the hotel's infamous Beefeater doorman, transport you to another time and place. The legendary Starlight Room, the adjacent Scala's Bistro and unmatched hospitality complete the picture to create an unforgettable San Francisco experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Sir Francis Drake Hotel San Francisco
Drake Francis Sir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing