We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Ranked #98 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“3 nights in San Francisco”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice place in the shopping center area of San Francisco and very close to the oldest districts of the city. Easy to move by walking or by tram all around. The rooms are in a typical empire style with all modern facilities. We enjoyed also the neighborhood in the evening for the dinner. Better to stay in case shopping is the first goal, a little bit far if you want to enjoy the seaside, but not too much, 30 mins.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Airone_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Airone_111

Thanks for the review; very nice place, close to world class shopping and great restaurants are things we love to hear from our guests. Please make sure that when you stay with us you visit the Starlight Room on the 21st floor for dancing and excellent cocktails overlooking the city and of course don't miss Scala's bistro for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Thanks for spending your vacation with us; see you next year!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    1,169
    622
    265
    164
See reviews for
571
1,203
165
708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

PROS: proximity to Union Square (1/2 block), rooms with 2 queen beds (hard to find in San Fran), free wine at 5pm each day, Scalas restaurant onsite which has great breakfasts and dinners, friendly staff, responsive room air conditioning/heat, reasonable price. CONS: beds were a bit soft, bathrooms are super small and design of rooms and hallways is a bit odd but kept in mind it is a historic hotel so it didn't bother me. I didn't find it noisy - our room faced an inner courtyard which was pretty industrial to look at but very quiet. I would stay again.

Room Tip: we had a Grande Queen which offered a large sitting area which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GilliGorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Gilli Gorilla,

I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel; thanks for mentioning the complimentary wine reception, Scala's Bistro and the properties friendly staff (that makes me smile). Don't forget our great location, steps from world class shopping (Nike, Pink, Apple) and a cable car stop in front of the hotel. I appreciate the positive feedback.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Drake is a historic hotel in a fantastic location downtown location off Union Square. It's quirky and fun, with doormen dressed as beefeaters, and a giant gummy beefeater (fake? who knows, you'll have to try...) over the lobby bar. The staff are fun and quirky, and very helpful (I worked with Christine in sales).

A couple of other highlights are the must-see, hilarious, drag show at Sunday Brunch, and the Starlight room, a great weekend night spot/

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Nomatic Wombat,

I really appreciate you wondering into the Drake; historic hotel in a great location that is quirky and fun... Sounds perfect Your comments about the Drag Brunch are spot on; it is a must see when you are visiting San Francisco.

Please wonder in again!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the Sir Francis Drake for 2 nights and loved every minute of it. It is in a fantastic location, and everything about the hotel is beautiful. We only had one minor issue with the service. I called ahead to request 2 beds, but when we checked in, the front desk associate (I believe her name was Mary) stated that since we had purchased the room on priceline, rooms are not guaranteed and they only had a double room for the first night. Her attitude was not helpful or friendly. HOWEVER, that night I again approached the front desk and the young lady helping me more than made up for it- I wish I remembered her name! She was very warm and friendly, and she assured us that it would be no problem for us to stay in he same room for both nights. Aside from the minor service glitch, this hotel is excellent, and we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txrosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim G, General Manager at Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Txrosley,

Thank -you for your feedback and for staying at the Drake; we really do have a beautiful hotel with warm friendly associates that are anxious to please our guests. I can't wait for you to come back and see us again.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I just returned home from an enjoyable two night stay at the Sir Francis Drake Hotel. We had the "Standard Queen" room which was just fine for us. Besides the bed, there was a comfortable chair as well as a desk and chair. There was a nice flat screen TV with satellite stations. The wifi worked great in our room. The hotel is well located near Union Square so there is great shopping as well as many restaurants. Also, there is a Starbucks right next door and a Walgrens across the street which are very handy. I think the staff was the friendliest I have ever encountered. They made us feel very welcome. As others have mentioned, the bathroom is very small; however, it is very cute and clean and wasn't a problem for us. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor in a room facing Powell. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryellen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I was at the Sir Francis Drake in early Februray for my brother's wedding, and it was a fantastic weekend! The ceremony took place in one of the ballrooms, and it was simple and elegant. We then had a cocktail reception in the lobby area, and it was perfect. For the reception, we headed up to the top of the hotel to the Starlight Room & Lounge, and it was one of the best reception spots I've ever seen. The views were gorgeous, the food delicous, and the drinks flowing. The hotel rooms are modern and sleek, but they are a bit on the small side (but I guess that's normal for SF!).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Anniversary / Birthday visit present for my wife and I. We only stayed overnight here and made the most of it. Dinner at Lori's the 50's diner on the corner was fun good food open 24 hours. Starlight Room for a drink and the view is worth it. Located on the 21st floor opens at 6pm slip in before it gets busy to get a window seat. Sears fine food across street we went in to look wanted to eat there but ran out of time looked delicious as my grandson Nathan would say. We stayed in room 427 facing Powell, RV style bathroom ie not much room. Noise yes from the street added to the flavor of the experience for us. Window opens a bit to get fresh air a plus for me. Quite the place. Do not pass up the chance to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank sromo522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
1,155 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel

Property: Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Address: 450 Powell Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504 (Formerly Sir Francis Drake Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel, housed in a landmark building in the heart of Union Square, is quintessential San Francisco: exciting, romantic, timelessly elegant and unique. The ornately decorated lobby, old-world hospitality, and Tom Sweeney, the hotel's infamous Beefeater doorman, transport you to another time and place. The legendary Starlight Room, the adjacent Scala's Bistro and unmatched hospitality complete the picture to create an unforgettable San Francisco experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Sir Francis Drake Hotel San Francisco
Drake Francis Sir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing