We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #44 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The best place to stay down town. This was are 2nd. time to stay with them and we will always try to stay with them when in town. The best staff and the best service. To bad the rest of Shell's time shares don't have the same level of training. We love them and the location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadbuttru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here 2 nights - clean and quiet except for Sat night - there is a nightclub near which even on our 8th floor room was very loud. Apart from that I cannot fault the hotel - it is close to Union square and the Market cable car for sightseeing and the staff were very helpful. Watch out for beggers everywhere in SF.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were fortunate to stay at this gem for 4 nights the last week of September! We had to reschedule our Spring trip and Chris Magsakay, the Assistant Guest Services Manager, made sure we had comparable rates and a great room when we arrived. I love a hotel where they treat you like family- greeting you by name, remembering your requests, providing top notch service, ensuring that your wish is their command! Our room was immaculate- with a comfy, cozy bed- and spacious to boot! My only recommendation would be to update the bathrooms- which would put this destination over the top! Carlos, the Bellman, was always equipped with a smile and could answer ANY question you posed. I loved that parking was included in our rate! We were a block away from Union Square- and walked EVERYWHERE- discovering fabulous, affordable restaurants nearby. The free WIFI worked like a charm- and any glitches were quickly solved by Bobby at the front desk. We took advantage of the complimentary coffee in the Club Room on the top floor every morning and evening! We will definitely be back and have spread the word of this treasure to all of our friends!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at The Donatello for 3 nights in mid October 2011. The location was wonderful - very centrally located which was great since we did not rent a car while staying in the city. We used the concierge service many times during our stay for restaurant recommendations and information on public transportation and they were extremely helpful! We also found the check in staff to be very helpful, happy and efficient!

The room was very large, especially given its central location. I would agree that the decor leaves something to be desired, but that doesnt bother us - the room was kept very clean during our stay which is much more important to us!

After reading several tripadvisor reviews, we asked for a quiet room at check in and had no issues with noise.

We will be back if we ever return to San Fran!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rm0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Donatello is a first class hotel/ timeshare facility 1 block from Union Square, the heart of downtown San francisco tourist area, but a block in the other direction from the Tenderloin District the heart of the homeless/prostitute/drug addict district. Both areas have their own personality. Hotel itself is very well maintained and rooftop lounge terrace is an added bonus. Staff is very willing to help and there are what seem like an unlimited number of good restaurant choices within walking distance. Try the cornflake covered french toast for breakfast at Max's in the square at Maison and Geary or if your budget is lower Jack in the Box across the street has 2 eggs, bacon, home fries and toast for $2.99.

For best overview of San Francisco try drinks(or breakfast, lunch or dinner) at the 36th floor Grandview Lounge at the Hyatt.

The best way to travel San Francisco is public transportation muni. It is about 45 minutes from one end to the other and covers all major tourist attractions. An unlimited 7 day pass is $27. It includes the cable car which is fun attraction once but not a regular mode of transportation as lineups are 30-40 minutes most of the day.

One final hint, book a limo to and from airport rather than a taxi. It is about $5 cheaper and a lot more comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for upper level room to reduce street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 243Furby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at The Donatello for four nights. It is in a perfect location for the city centre and access to all transport. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet, if slightly tired looking. It also has a really nice Italian restaurant attached and a cosy bar where there is entertainment during weekend evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Hotel was very nice, staff were very helpful and efficient - just what's needed after a long flight. The room was very nice and spacious. The central location near Union Square was brilliant for our sight-seeing and much nicer and more "authentic" than Fisherman's Wharf. The concierge service was very helpful. The only downside to this hotel was the noise - the windows didn't appear to seal properly and the hotel is positioned across from a noisy club where you can hear people queuing and leaving the club, and the staff clearing up and throwing out glass bottles. Try and get a high up room if you stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bongo_Craigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,199 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £124 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing