We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Donatello is splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #42 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Donatello is splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at the Donatello for one week on a vacation to San Francisco in March. We had not stayed at Union Square before and were concerned we might not be close to attractions. It turned out that Union Square with its shops,pubs central location and easy public transportation venues was the best location yet. Best of all, The Donatello was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. We had a mid level room and a view of a nearby Romanesque villa style building. The room was spacious, elegantly furnished and maintained with the best appliances, electronics, etc. The bath was large and brightly lit. Our room was handicapped accessible,by chance,and we thought it would be wonderful for anyone using a wheelchair. This is because there is a large open area right outside the bathroom door which is as large as the bathroom. In this area, the walls are all covered with mirrors,and this is where the ample closet is located. There was plenty of room to turn around 360 degrees if you were in a wheelchair and there was one nicely upholstered Chippendale style chair in the corner of this area that would make it easy as well. We really liked the top floor lounge and sauna area and for several reasons. First, the concierge manager who works up there is a walking encyclopedia of everything San Francisco, and especially hidden treasures. You just tell him what your tastes are and he will amaze you. Also, they have a nice complimentary wine reception for the timeshare guests on Mondays.You can bring lunch in and dine on the tables outside which overlook downtown in all directions.The container plants on this rooftop terrace are meticulously maintained. Finally, there is an excellent Italian restaurant on the first floor with a great happy hour including appetizers at half price. We walked or used public transportation to get everywhere including Chinatown, The Wharf, North Beach,etc. We caught the streetcars close by and one stops one block from the hotel. Of course, we walked to Sears fine foods every day for breakfast and it is a treasure! The Donatello Hotel has spoiled us completely and we will always want to stay there when we visit San Francisco.

Room Tip: You might ask for a high level room that looks out on that pretty columned building behind the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    943
    158
    55
    21
See reviews for
660
1,190
108
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Hotel was in a good location, central for most things. Arrived early and our room was ready, welcome pack was useful although the timeshare speech wasn't appreciated (neither was the phone call to the room during the holiday). Room was very nice, spacious and well laid out, bed was large and comfortable. Fridge and microwave were very useful during our stay. Plenty of places to eat nearby.
Keycards stopped working for some reason during our stay but reception quickly dealt with it and issued new cards.
I would happily stay in this hotel if I visited San Francisco again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We spent one week via Club Intrawest - Interval exchange program. It was a pleasant surprise because the studio unit is spacious and comfortable. It has a king size bed, large desk, kitchen facility with sink, microwave and small fridge. The club lounge - top floor is open from 700 am to 1000 pm daily serving complimentary coffee and tea. It also has a small gym, shared hot tub and small separate dry sauna in male and female sections. The concierge Peter is most helpful with recommendations on tours etc. The front desk staff are very pleasant and eager to help as well.
The location is one block to Powell st cable car stop and two blocks to Walgreen It is also walking distance to Westfield mall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street as it can be noisy at night time in the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Finaly got round to give a review of the first stop on our honeymoon. This was my 6th trip too SF and this hotel was worth every penny! Delightful room, upgraded too a patio room, free bottle of champagne bought to room as on honeymoon! beautiful decor, sofa, small kitchen unit was so handy. Tv in bathroom mirror!!

Awesome location, staff super friendly and helpful. Hotel driver actualy took is to SFO at a subsidised rate rather than wait for a taxi.

If you have the budget, stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indyrider91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was our First time in SF & we wanted somewhere close to the action. This hotel is only a block from union square, it was clean, rooms spacious, staff were very helpful & has a small gym spa & seating area on the top floor of the building where you can grab a coffee. The put us on the 12th floor, so although we were right in e centre of the city, there was very little street noise. The only reason we don't give this hotel a 5 was because of the restaurant, we ate there on our first night due to being very jet lagged & exhausted, we really think the food quality was poor & didn't reflect the quality of the hotel. Thanks for a great stay, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Donnatello is in a great location (just around the corner from Union Square) and has a couple of excellent cafes nearby, which are great for breakfast!
The rooms are a little old fashioned and could use an update, but were clean and have everything you need.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteNHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Room clean and very spacious, beds very comfortable. Location excellent just off Union Square. Staff was very friendly and informative. Good restaurant and live music in the hotel bar were a great place to end the day. Perfect base to see the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RE-ZAGREB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,057 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,411 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing