We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Very helpful Staff!”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #41 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, Very helpful Staff!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed three nights, room was small but very clean and fresh.
Staff is very very helpful.
Great location, everything is actually just around the corner.
Compared to price, hotel is much better than what you paying for!
Just great!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JensOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations and location. We appreciate your kind words and will share this information with our staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    970
    167
    55
    21
See reviews for
686
1,206
108
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is primarliy a time share hotel, a Shell Vacation property, in the prime of Union Square. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the decor is modern. The room was in good condition and everything worked. They do charge $50 per day security deposit which is credited after check out. So beware. The staff are friendly, helpful and the concierge's are very helpful, transprtation which muni bus, trolley to take. The wine party on Friday, we were given the incorrect time, not a problem, as it seems to have been more of a time share sales pitch. Beware there is a nightclub across on Mason with very late weekend hours, The noise level even at 8 floors up is not condusive for sleep, it quiets down at 3AM. Sirens all night long and then the trash and bottle pick up at 6:30AM. The hotel is nice, but, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay as high up as possible to avoid some of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itzaCamdenCty_NJ_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

If you are looking for room space, this is where to book! We enjoyed a very spacious room with microwave and refrigerator. The staff was very helpful and assisted with our every need. The location is a block away from Union Square, close enough to enjoy it all, but far away enough to get away from the noise, although you will still hear street traffic (but that's every city). We definitely enjoy our stay here and would stay again at the drop of a dime. Thanks Donatello!

PS...the TV in the bathroom mirror was great!!! Can shower and not miss ESPN!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hi Omar,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your unit space and accommodations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We was there in July last year. A block away from Union Square is fantastic location,rooms are big and very comfortable,in the top floor nice room to relax read the papers coffee , tea and hot chocolate is free .Nice quality toiletry .we have breakfast in the room SUPERV...We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Visit the relax lunch on the top floor wonderful terrazza. Good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viajera60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit space and resort accommodations. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were happy with all aspects of the hotel and particularly the helpfulness of the bell concierge.. Room was spacious and well equipped and the Club was a nice place to relax except that we weren't told that we had to put the sauna on in advance ourselves so didn't have time to have one! Jacuzzi was very enjoyable. Sadly the breakfast was not included but there are plenty of good places to go in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit space and jacuzzi. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A hidden gem in downtown SF! One block from Union square. Staff can't do enough for you, and the Club on the top floor is Great, and the concierge in the club was very helpful in arranging tours and shows! Will return next year.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dkkrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was able to assist with any needs. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Donatello is a famed hotel of the past, now part of Shell Vacations, which we got on a time share exchange for a week. The room was a bit plain but nicely appointed, clean and very good beds and nice bath.The two concierges we talked with very helpful, and the location was walking distance to everything we wanted. find the flat street route and you can walk to fishermans Wharf.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell W, Social Media Team at The Donatello, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for providing this great feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations and resort location. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,201 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,613 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#56 of 229 in San Francisco
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,763 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
570 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing