We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's true ...boo hoo on the Wyndham”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #44 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Been coming here for a long time and loving it. Not anymore. Totally different feel. You can feel it the moment you walk in the door. $40 a day for cleaning? What a joke. We are timeshare owners and will be now giving our business to the hotel who is owned by your previous owners. ( inn at the opera by shell vacations) the Wyndham could learn some lessons from them. So sad ...basically the end of a good thing. Not impressed.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank kdbca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

This used to be my favorite hotel in San Francisco, one of the few hotels that did everything right… Now, under new ownership (Wyndham) it went from 10/10 to below motel level in one swoop. Who has ever stayed at a hotel where housekeeping service / cleaning of the room / removing of trash / replacing of dirty towels, etc. is only offered on the fourth (4th!) day of your stay, really??? You cannot be serious!!! As I said, this hotel had been my favorite in San Francisco for years, but unless this new Wyndham owner removes that ridiculous “green initiative” policy, this most recent stay was certainly (and sadly) my last stay at The Donatello. It’s such a shame, here was one hotel that had everything going for it (great location, spacious rooms, great staff, great value) and now… what a shame! How to ruin a gem of a hotel by implementing one ridiculous policy (which, no matter what the official line for it is, has obviously more to do with cost cutting and work force reduction than caring for the environment or the well-being of their guests, for that matter – a clean room should be considered a basic part of any hotel stay, hygiene should matter to the owner of any hotel).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NYC_Hamptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here dec- jan 2014 for a week and had a very pleasent stay. Concierge was very helpful and the rooms are very big and comfortable.but cleaning is done only once in 4 days. That was a bit of inconvenience caused.very close to the main shopping areas.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank supra0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

A lovely large and modern room right in downtown San Francisco. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The in-house restaurant, the Zingari, is excellent. The location is perfect for visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoenisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our large and modern rooms to your satisfaction. We also appreciate your kind words about our staff and will pass the message to all of them.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
The Donatello Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have been staying at the Donatello since the early 1980's, and have seen many ownership changes and more management changes. And the hotel stayed very good and in recent years with major room renovations actually improved.

But all that has gone. When we checked in we were not advised of ownership changes and major changes. When we returned after the first night stay to find our room not serviced by house cleaning and advised by the front desk that rooms are now serviced every fourth day!!!! Since most guests stay 3 days, this means no maid service. The reason given is that Wyndham Hotels and Resorts.is the new owner and their Green program policy permits the Donatello management to implement this maids service change. But there is nothing on the Wyndham Hotels and Resort Green Program that mentions this and no other Wyndham Hotels and Resorts reviews on Trip Advisor indicate this is a standard policy. So it a rouge policy of the Donatello management.

I may have stayed here for 30 years, but I will not stay here again until there is daily maid service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank L R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great hotel for families. Room was very large, especially for city. Kids said pullout sofa was most comfortable they've slept in. Liked having kitchenette for breakfast and snacks. Clean and modern. Kids loved having a tv in the bathroom. Used the workout room each day and loved the Friday night wine & cheese reception. Having access to the club level for coffee, tea and hot chocolate was a bonus. Windows open in rooms for those that need fresh air.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talden1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our amenities like the sofa bed; the partial kitchenette and the TV in the bathroom. We appreciate your positive review and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very nice boutique hotel within walking distance of major downtown shopping and attractions. Staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms have been recently redone and are very large and have a mini kitchen with refrigerator. The property is also a time share so be prepared to be asked to attend a session - you don't have to accept (they'll give you a parking voucher worth $30 if you attend). There is a restaurant in the hotel but we didn't try it. The best thing about this location is you can walk to many shops, restaurants and attractions in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Mason Street as there is a club that is quite noisy on Friday and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank datspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that you found the hotel's location convenient. Almost everything is within walking distance and our guests love that.

We appreciate the lovely review and we hope to see you again at the Donatello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,338 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
608 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,087 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,199 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £124 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing