We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and gracious.”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #41 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harper
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious and gracious.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel is right downtown, in the hotel district and an easy walk to Union Square and the theater district. The hotel has had all room updated, so it has modern amenities even thought the space is ample,with rooms much larger than a normal hotel room. And the staff is wonderful. The Donatello is a great hotel, in the right location, in the midst of a great city.

Room Tip: I think they have no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    970
    166
    55
    21
See reviews for
686
1,205
108
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dana point, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I brought 7 customers along with me this past November to the Donatello given the positive reviews I had seen. Rooms were adequate, though you really need to keep in mind this is a vacation hotel light on service. Just not anything approaching high touch at a typical 4 star hotel.

Most disappointing was the incorrect no-show charge they included on my bill as a parting gift. It's unfortunate their systems aren't more modern, making them prone to these mistakes. Even more surprising they weren't willing to do the right thing by removing it for the guest.

Won't be making the mistake of staying at the Donatello again.

Room Tip: North rooms exposed to the street of course are loud, Donatello doesn't have great insulation or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daly1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to hear that we couldn't assist you further in refunding the NO SHOW charge since you weren't able to produce a cancellation number. Your business is much appreciated.

Thank you once again for posting your concerns. It will serve as a learning tool to improve our service to our kind guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Been coming here for a long time and loving it. Not anymore. Totally different feel. You can feel it the moment you walk in the door. $40 a day for cleaning? What a joke. We are timeshare owners and will be now giving our business to the hotel who is owned by your previous owners. ( inn at the opera by shell vacations) the Wyndham could learn some lessons from them. So sad ...basically the end of a good thing. Not impressed.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kdbca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This used to be my favorite hotel in San Francisco, one of the few hotels that did everything right… Now, under new ownership (Wyndham) it went from 10/10 to below motel level in one swoop. Who has ever stayed at a hotel where housekeeping service / cleaning of the room / removing of trash / replacing of dirty towels, etc. is only offered on the fourth (4th!) day of your stay, really??? You cannot be serious!!! As I said, this hotel had been my favorite in San Francisco for years, but unless this new Wyndham owner removes that ridiculous “green initiative” policy, this most recent stay was certainly (and sadly) my last stay at The Donatello. It’s such a shame, here was one hotel that had everything going for it (great location, spacious rooms, great staff, great value) and now… what a shame! How to ruin a gem of a hotel by implementing one ridiculous policy (which, no matter what the official line for it is, has obviously more to do with cost cutting and work force reduction than caring for the environment or the well-being of their guests, for that matter – a clean room should be considered a basic part of any hotel stay, hygiene should matter to the owner of any hotel).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NYC_Hamptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here dec- jan 2014 for a week and had a very pleasent stay. Concierge was very helpful and the rooms are very big and comfortable.but cleaning is done only once in 4 days. That was a bit of inconvenience caused.very close to the main shopping areas.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank supra0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

A lovely large and modern room right in downtown San Francisco. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The in-house restaurant, the Zingari, is excellent. The location is perfect for visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoenisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our large and modern rooms to your satisfaction. We also appreciate your kind words about our staff and will pass the message to all of them.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
The Donatello Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have been staying at the Donatello since the early 1980's, and have seen many ownership changes and more management changes. And the hotel stayed very good and in recent years with major room renovations actually improved.

But all that has gone. When we checked in we were not advised of ownership changes and major changes. When we returned after the first night stay to find our room not serviced by house cleaning and advised by the front desk that rooms are now serviced every fourth day!!!! Since most guests stay 3 days, this means no maid service. The reason given is that Wyndham Hotels and Resorts.is the new owner and their Green program policy permits the Donatello management to implement this maids service change. But there is nothing on the Wyndham Hotels and Resort Green Program that mentions this and no other Wyndham Hotels and Resorts reviews on Trip Advisor indicate this is a standard policy. So it a rouge policy of the Donatello management.

I may have stayed here for 30 years, but I will not stay here again until there is daily maid service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank L R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,196 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,612 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#55 of 229 in San Francisco
1,631 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,909 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 229 in San Francisco
4,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing