We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in ideal location - LARGE, modern rooms!”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #40 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 February 2014

WOW… hubby and I stayed for four nights early February this year. We were very pleased with the room which was spacious and newly refurbished with delightful, good quality furnishings. The Club level (which can be accessed by ALL hotel guests) was a nicely furnished quiet area with all day complementary coffee/tea/chocolate and a concierge to help with your tourist advice etc. There's also a modest gym on this level, with ladies and gents locker rooms and a small spa. Our room was serviced daily, and we found all the staff were extremely helpful, courteous and friendly. We would have liked to order breakfast at the hotel but to be honest, the choices were just not appealing. No matter, there are many restaurants/cafes/diners close to the Donatello which will provide exactly what you're after. Just one small thing… I don't think this hotel has double glazing and it can be a bit noisy even with the windows closed. Perhaps you might be able to request a high floor room if you're a light sleeper. We won't hesitate to stay at the Donatello Hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a high floor if you're a light sleeper as the street noise can be pretty loud in San Fra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wils0ncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very appreciative of your kind words about our staff and the additional amenities provided at the Club level. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
The Donatello Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 2,679 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed here the last week of January. As other have mentioned, they only clean your room on the fourth day of your stay. I feel we should have been informed of this when we checked in. Be AWARE the windows in these rooms open!!!! We spent six miserable nights with unbearable outside noises before reading about this on Tripadvisor!!! The windows were from wall to wall at the end of our room and although we opened the curtains each morning, we only opened them in the middle section. Apparently the cleaning staff opened them before we arrived. We complained about the noise on our second night, but no one suggested checking the windows. Our mistake as well, but I can't remember the last time we stayed in a hotel with working windows.
Now, the good things...large rooms, wonderful friendly staff, great location, comfortable beds. I would have given four stars if not for the noise. By the way, they did credit part of our dinner bill for the inconvienence.

Room Tip: Make sure the windows are closed!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel is right downtown, in the hotel district and an easy walk to Union Square and the theater district. The hotel has had all room updated, so it has modern amenities even thought the space is ample,with rooms much larger than a normal hotel room. And the staff is wonderful. The Donatello is a great hotel, in the right location, in the midst of a great city.

Room Tip: I think they have no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I brought 7 customers along with me this past November to the Donatello given the positive reviews I had seen. Rooms were adequate, though you really need to keep in mind this is a vacation hotel light on service. Just not anything approaching high touch at a typical 4 star hotel.

Most disappointing was the incorrect no-show charge they included on my bill as a parting gift. It's unfortunate their systems aren't more modern, making them prone to these mistakes. Even more surprising they weren't willing to do the right thing by removing it for the guest.

Won't be making the mistake of staying at the Donatello again.

Room Tip: North rooms exposed to the street of course are loud, Donatello doesn't have great insulation or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daly1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to hear that we couldn't assist you further in refunding the NO SHOW charge since you weren't able to produce a cancellation number. Your business is much appreciated.

Thank you once again for posting your concerns. It will serve as a learning tool to improve our service to our kind guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Been coming here for a long time and loving it. Not anymore. Totally different feel. You can feel it the moment you walk in the door. $40 a day for cleaning? What a joke. We are timeshare owners and will be now giving our business to the hotel who is owned by your previous owners. ( inn at the opera by shell vacations) the Wyndham could learn some lessons from them. So sad ...basically the end of a good thing. Not impressed.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank kdbca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This used to be my favorite hotel in San Francisco, one of the few hotels that did everything right… Now, under new ownership (Wyndham) it went from 10/10 to below motel level in one swoop. Who has ever stayed at a hotel where housekeeping service / cleaning of the room / removing of trash / replacing of dirty towels, etc. is only offered on the fourth (4th!) day of your stay, really??? You cannot be serious!!! As I said, this hotel had been my favorite in San Francisco for years, but unless this new Wyndham owner removes that ridiculous “green initiative” policy, this most recent stay was certainly (and sadly) my last stay at The Donatello. It’s such a shame, here was one hotel that had everything going for it (great location, spacious rooms, great staff, great value) and now… what a shame! How to ruin a gem of a hotel by implementing one ridiculous policy (which, no matter what the official line for it is, has obviously more to do with cost cutting and work force reduction than caring for the environment or the well-being of their guests, for that matter – a clean room should be considered a basic part of any hotel stay, hygiene should matter to the owner of any hotel).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank NYC_Hamptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here dec- jan 2014 for a week and had a very pleasent stay. Concierge was very helpful and the rooms are very big and comfortable.but cleaning is done only once in 4 days. That was a bit of inconvenience caused.very close to the main shopping areas.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank supra0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,397 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
630 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#16 of 231 in San Francisco
2,903 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £137 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing