We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, superb location!”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #44 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, superb location!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel was lovely - particularly liked their extra details such as the TV in the bathroom. The only thing missing is a swimming pool but with so much to do in San Francisco we probably wouldn't have had time to use it anyway. Location is ideal for shopping though I think we should have done some more research on dining nearby before we arrived. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and found the TV in the bathrooms lovely. Other guests have reported that they are spending more time in the bathroom than usual... but do like that option especially if they want to watch something different from the rest of their travel companions. With so much to do in the area, a swimming pool is not in demand but you can get a day pass at CLUBOne which is half a block on Mason St. They have an indoor swimming pool as an option if needed.
We appreciate your nice review and we hope to see you again at the Donatello on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    957
    162
    55
    21
See reviews for
666
1,200
108
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

a great hotel, the room was very spacious and comfortable. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Concierge was great with loads of local knowledge to help you make the most of your time in San Francisco. Great location not far from Union Square and many other tourist sites.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonJ785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Jon,
Thank you for this great feedback. I will make sure to pass your kind words to our Concierge. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It was a long hard search to find a hotel for my parents anniversairy that wasnt too expensive and nit to boring. I found the Donatella, but skeptical because there was a king bed and a pull out couch (my bed) when driving it was difficult to find but the GPS saved us. When there we were greeted with valet parling 28$ per day (good price) and super nice people. When entering the room we thought they gave us the wrong room. Because it was so HUGE and MODERN. A MASSIVE TV, comfy beds, free wifi, a kitchen, and a tv in the mirror so you can watch while getting ready! They also have free coffee, hot cacao, and tea 24/7. Also a complimentary free cheese and whine up at the lounge. We didnt use the pool, sauna, or restaurant but i hear they are great! The Donatello will always be my go-to hotel for san francisco!

Room Tip: Go towards the inside to avoid some san-fran noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berkana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel last year while I was attending a conference in San Francisco. My husband and son also had accompanied me so we chose a studio. It's a fairly big sized room and the location is within walking distance of Moscone center. Quite a number of tourist attractions are within walking distance and public transport is also very conveniently located.
The bathroom has a lovely TV which I really like. Every night they provide lovely chocolates for their turn down service. The staff is very polite and helpful and yet non interfering. The hotel has a nice Italian restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can get noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalindi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Kalindi,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us found comfort in our rooms. We are always looking for opportunity to make every guest’s stay a memorable one. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future. We are looking forward to having you again at the Donatello on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Thankfully I had a GPS, because driving around in SF could be a little confusing with all the traffic, taxis, and one-way streets. Drive slow in front of hotel or you'll miss the parking structure and have to drive around again. Staff is very friendly and are willing to point you in the right direction or hail a cab for you. Rooms are large with a little kitchenette. Depending on the direction you face, outside traffic noise can keep you up. With so much to do, we didn't spend time in the room, but from what I did see, it can be very accommodating. The room had a very comfortable bed with a LARGE tv facing it. Even the bathroom had it's own tv in the mirror so you can watch whatever while you get ready. We missed the complimentary wine tasting and did not try out the spa or sauna, but heard both are nice. There is a restaurant that had entertainment at night and we had drinks and listened to music. Hotel is in a good location and of walking distance to many attractions.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ElleStamsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We exchanged through Interval to stay at this hotel right near Union Square. It was a perfect location to walk to tons of different places and quick to public transportation. Everyone at the hotel was accommodating and friendly. There are lots of reviews about how they don't clean each day, which is not a negative for us at all since we nearly always stay at timeshare and that is pretty typical.
Great:
-room was large enough for 2 people
-club level had access to the roof and complimentary coffee and tea
-location - can't beat it!!
-bed was super comfy
-people at the front desk, valet, concierge were all helpful and friendly

Negatives (really, small things)
-need more hangers in the closets
-bathroom could use a facelift
-we didn't realize the window was open until our last night there - check this when you arrive!

Overall we had a fantastic week in San Francisco. The things to do there are endless, and the weather was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car_and_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

From the moment we checked in, the staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable, even for us, a family of five. Price was very reasonable, and the location was great. Close to Union Square and to the Cable Car stop, so you can easily move to anywhere in the city. We didn't try the restaurant. We will definitely stay at The Donatello next time we go to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the opposite side of the elevators, since the ones located at the same side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatochevasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found comfort in our rooms. Thank you for your kind words about our helpful staff. They truly make a difference and will continue to strive in making our guests feel right at home.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
The Donatello Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,491 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing