We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great access to Union Square”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #42 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed on the 9th floor. Room was OK, and larger than normal. Had a sink, microwave, and refrigerator. Bed was very comfortable. Concierge level is really not concierge. Only served coffee and hot chocolate, no snacks, no drinks, and you could not remove newspapers and take to your room. If you're a smoker, there is a small space outside for your use. We were told if you stay at the hotel and eat at the restaurant (Zingari's) or have drinks at the bar, that you would get 10% off your bill. It didn't happen, and when checking out they said the Concierge was mistaken and would not credit the charges. So we just disputed the bill with our credit card company, and let them settle it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room at the Donatello. The restaraunt is a different entity from the hotel, but I will pass along the information to them. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 2,660 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel 3 nights in April 2014. Very clean, very large rooms and great house keeping! The bed was very comfortable. Cable car stop is near by at the Union square and several good restaurants like Cheesecake Factory at Macy's and Sears restaurant (not related to Dept.store) are within a short walk. Best priced valet parking in the city. The Hotel has a fantastic view of the San Francisco Skyline from the concierge floor. We enjoyed our stay at Donatello.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akl397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the housekeeping department! We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Steven McCabe, Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My room was on the 5th floor at corner overlooking the JW Marriott, definitely was not noisy. Great location to union square literally a block. Rooms are semi suits with an extra sofa bed...and kitchenette. Room had an amazing surprise in bathroom. Staff was accommodating and attentive..all you have to do is ask...

Room Tip: This hotel is in city, and old design, there is a nightclub across stress..looked quite popular. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocoplum19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Donatello during a trip with my siblings. I was very happy with the service at check in and check out; the staff were very accommodating. This is a great central location in the city; however, anticipate lots of walking if you plan to be at the Bay Area more.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Battletaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Staff upstairs at the top where great. Especially Lester he helped me with all my needs in terms of arranging where to go to Alcatraz and where is a nice place to eat. The fact he went beyond and helped and actually called up several places shows the dedication that the professionals here show the patrons. I would commend his superior for great training. Other than that great staff at the top. The rest of the trip was flawless and perfect. Thanks Donatello!

Room Tip: Away from Mason!
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank 779ryel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Got a good rate at this place (I think) although if our room was 'newly refurbished' as claimed I wouldn't want to stay in one that wasn't - it was ok, but the refurbishment could have gone further - signs of original bathroom tiles etc were evident.

Generally very friendly and helpful staff, but try and avoid the time-share hard sell if you can at check-in (yep - 'free' breakfast and $100 credit offered, but if you've ever sat through one you'd know what I mean), and attempting to contact the hotel before and after staying via email was nigh on impossible since all the email addresses published and provided proved to be out of date. Oh yes, and the bell staff forgot to collect our bags when checking out - quickly corrected.

Overall, good location, good service and for what we paid (c. $250+tax for two bed room) good value. Oh, and the restaurant service was fantastic :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpIntlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. I will pass on the inforamtion regarding the tiles to the appropriate department and look to get that corrected. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here over Valentine's weekend 2014. The hotel is conveniently located, extremely well kept and has the best most comfortable beds I've ever slept in in a hotel. We stayed in a club level and enjoyed the extra seating space and use of the gym. The valet parking was also wonderful as it's difficult to park in SF. Overall wonderful stay/visit. We stayed 4 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. We are happy that you enjoyed the new beds and Club lounge! We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
613 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
4,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,205 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
1,870 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £119 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing