We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CLUB Donatello - not for us !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #40 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“CLUB Donatello - not for us !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived an hour too early for check in and were directed to wait on the top floor area. We were greeted by Christopher (Concierge) who was quite chatty. My husband went down at check in time to be told roo. Wasn't ready and to check back in 15 mins, to which he asked them to ring up Andes us know. Thirty minutes we hadn't heard anything and my OH asked the concierge to ring down. He then said they had rang up but as he couldn't see us he didn't do anything!! Not a good start.

The room was ok but with a dreadful view of dirty back area. We also had noise from the outside AC power unit.

We stayed for four nights and every day something was 'missing' from housekeeping, towels, glasses, etc etc. Turn down service wears around 6.30 pm which was a little early to say the least.

No breakfast service here and we didn't eat on site for evening meals.

Location was good which was it's redeeming factor for us. Perhaps we would have been better in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on this information to the Club Donatello Management. Sincerely, Steven McCabe, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,346
    938
    156
    54
    20
See reviews for
652
1,186
107
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
206 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Donatello. Very comfortable and spacious room. The sofa sleeper was quite nice when I had friends join me in the city for my last night. Plenty of room for all of us. Everyone was very nice and courteous with the exception of the bartender at the on site restaurant. He seemed very "put out" when we stopped in to grab a glass of wine to take back up to the room with us. Other than that tiny issue, the stay was great. The location of the hotel is very good too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zinwinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. I will let the restaurant manger know of your comments about your experience. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This was the best hotel during our visit to the US.
Everything about this place was just right- location, room and service.
It is right at the corner of Post St and Mason St.
Very conveniently located with the cable car stop just a block away.
Lots of eateries nearby.
Cafe Mason and Pine-crest are great for breakfast. Try Chabaa for a home style thai meal.
Some nice Japanese places also around the corner.
There is a huge Macy's at Union square and tons of other shopping down the road.
Fisherman's wharf is about 20 mins away by car.
The parking is expensive at 30 $ a night.
There is a car rental, Reliable, opposite to cafe Mason. They have free parking at their garage behind the hotel and cars are available at decent rates.
The room was spacious and well equipped with a microwave, fridge, cutlery and sink.
The front desk and bell boys are very helpful.
The service is good.
We had a perfect stay of 3 nights here. Would love to stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. Thank you for the kind words about the front desk and bell staff! I will be sure to let them know. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Four of us enjoyed our stay at the Donetello in May (2014). The rooms were lovely and comfortable, the service was excellent, and we especially enjoyed the bar (terrific bartender!) We had a great dinner, and enjoyable snacks. The location right on Union Square allowed us to wander, and was close enough to transportation. We loved out stay. The only caveat about San Francisco, was our unfortunate experience at the Legion of Honor museum. We had our rental car broken into and our valuables stolen. Beware visitors! Leave nothing in your car.

Green Features: Very impressed with re-cycling and other Green practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggielke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. Sorry to hear about your misfortune at the museum. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I love this hotel. I spent a week there on my first trip to San Francisco. The rooms are spacious. The beds are really comfortable. The staff are all so friendly, especially the concierges. The location was perfect, near lots of stores and the cable car lines.
The only thing that might bother some people is the traffic noise. But I had ear plugs so it wasn't a problem.
I would definitely stay here again. It's great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjsctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. I will let the Concierge staff know that you enjoyed your interactions with them. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great location, value and the staff are excellent. Spent a week at this hotel as part of a time share exchange. Welcome happy hour with a very brief introduction; complimentary coffee/tea daily in the Club. The exercise room is small but adequate-the spa is tiny and not recommended. On site Italian restaurant was a very good value and I recommend their happy hour menu. Parking was priced fairly for the area and also included valet parking with in and out privileges. The bus line is in front of the hotel; very convenient for attending SF Giants games. BART station was a five minute walk and one of the Cable car lines stopped around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back as rooms in front can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sinfinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDonatello, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. I'm glad to hear you took advantage of our complimentary amenities offered in our Club level. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at week at this downtown hotel which was within walking distance of a variety of shops and eateries as well as many of the city's attractions. Staff was wonderful about directions and suggestions to ensure our vacation was enjoyable. The restaurant in the hotel was a nice way to end the day after a day of traveling - very quiet and great service in addition to delicious, well presented dishes.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms are on a side with a view of neighboring buildings - perhaps the even numbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyK76837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Front Office Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Traveler, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Donatello. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco! Sincerely, Steven McCabe, Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,341 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing