We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #41 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

You couldn't wish for a better location in San Francisco. This hotel is right in the heart of the city.

We received a very welcoming experience by the Reservations Manager and a chatty welcome to the 'Club' upstairs by the concierge too. I think we looked too much like travellers to be soft sold a time share deal but I was armed and ready from the previous posts!

Modern clean room with plenty of space. Single glazed windows made for an uncomfortable stay for the light sleeper in the party (me) so do ask for a room away from the road if this will bother you. Though the hotel couldn't have done anything about streetworks at 1am!

Enjoy San Francisco, it's a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road as the windows are single glazed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Our towels were changed daily despite us leaving them on the rack as directed to avoid them being changed. The policy is great if its enforced.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippy_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you've enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the tips posted for other Trip Advisor visitors as well. We look forward to having you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    970
    165
    55
    21
See reviews for
685
1,205
108
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Ok...so this hotel is far from horrendous but we had a problem with the air conditioning that took 3 complaints to get some action, the cleaner came in and didn't take the rubbish but took a paper and articles we were keeping off the unit (not in the bin or anywhere appropriate to take). But to make it worse we never had one apology from the hotel. We were awake at 4.30 am one night with noise from the air conditioning and they sent a security guard who didn't listen to the noise and there was no excise for the paper. Small things but when you expect high quality all important

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Traveler,
I apologize that we couldn't give you a positive experience during your stay. We tried researching for any records of air conditioning issues from guests but we couldn't find any from our logs. We are responsive when the Air Conditioning is not working properly because your comfort is very important to us. I also informed our Housekeeping Manager regarding the trash that wasn't picked up in your room. We will utilize these as training examples for our Associates. Again, I apologize that we didn't take better care of you while staying with us.
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

What a great place to stay!! We just came home from a week's vacation in San Fran and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Hotel staff was so nice and helpful and the room was great and hotel was well located just one block off Union Square with all kinds of shopping and transportation. Restaurant was excellent as well. Would love to stay here if I was going to SF again!!

Room Tip: The area is located in the city so, yes, there is noise, but people have to realize if they are in t...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle reminders and bags were in evidence. There were also friendly reminders about not wasting water and reusing towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Judy,
We appreciate your kind words about our staff and your nice review of the restaurant as well.
Our associates do make the difference. They give spectacular customer service to keep our guests happy and we like seeing the reviews on TripAdvisor. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and were very impressed with everything. nothing to complain about either, except 1 night sounded like someone was hoovering, but the hotel compensated us with $50 to spend in their restaurant, so generous too, would stay here again thats for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiej57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Traveler,
We thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you've enjoyed your stay with us. We like to keep our guests happy and comfortable. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We went to California to drive down the coast from Napa to LA. San Francisco was a stop along the way. Booked this hotel based on previous reviews and was totally pleased. We had a large corner room, very comfortable including a wet bar, microwave and a small fridge. And as stated in a previous review, there was a TV in the bathroom! Location was good as we were able to do all we wanted utilizing public transportation or by foot. Staff was great and it was nice to have the club room available. We were approached upon registration about time share, but after stating an hard and fast "not interested" we were never bothered again. Did hear a little street noise, but no enough to really complain. Would stay here again if we ever get back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!
We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the staff, amenities, location and the TV in the bathroom. We appreciate the lovely review and we hope to serve you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We've stayed at the Donatello for 4 nights have been been pleased with the service of the hotel staff. As it's just one block away from Union square you'll reach all the sights easily.

Rooms are spacious, clean and provide everything expected and needed. Breakfast is available as room service (12/16USD for single or double). For hotel guests and club members a roof top terrace is available (free coffee).

When next time in San Francisco I'll return to the Donatello for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for posting a lovely review of the Donatello. We do appreciate the mention of our helpful staff and the convenient location. Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa, canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Donatello is a good mid-range hotel situated close to Union Square and all the activity. I was with my wife and daughter. Many hotels have issues with 3 people, but the Donatello rooms are large enough to handle even 4 people if need be. There is a concierge and fitness area - lounge on the top floor. The concierge people are very helpful and informative.
The only downside was the pesky Vacation Time Share sales people who descend upon you like a dog with a bone, even though you have just flown for 8 hours and not in the mood for a sales pitch

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accurate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Donatello, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Traveler,
We appreciate your kind words about the Donatello and our staff. We try our very best to provide a positive stay for all our guests. I apologize that your experience from our Sales department was less than satisfactory. We will share your review to our site leader to use as a training tool.
Thank you.

Chris Magsakay, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,193 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,612 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,631 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,908 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing