We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Giant rooms, contemporary feel, great service, INEXPENSIVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #42 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Giant rooms, contemporary feel, great service, INEXPENSIVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

We got a great deal on a room here -- the "Recession Special" for $101/night. I booked a stay here largely because of the large room size-- all their rooms are over 400 square feet -- we were traveling with our 14 month old, and I wanted lots of room since we were putting up a pack and play. I also liked the location next to Union Square, a safe, nice shopping area in San Francisco and central to all neighborhoods.

The rooms are HUGE. Our room (708) just happened to be laid out perfectly for a baby... there was a small enclave as you walked in that was the perfect size for the pack and play, and slightly removed from our section of the room. So when we put him to bed at 8pm, we didn't have to sit in a dark, silent room. My parents had a room next door, and theirs was laid out a little differently, but also very cool.

The rooms are decorated very contemporary and stylish. I liked it a lot. There was a fridge where we could store all of our baby food, a microwave, coffee maker, second sink (right next to the bed, which I loved in the middle of the night), and utensils (!). You could live here and cook all your meals if you wanted to! The room was so huge, there was room for 2 chairs and a sofa.

Also, there was a continental breakfast that was free every morning on the top floor. Nothing fancy, but a nice, unexpected bonus. Get there early because they did run out of things.

We loved, loved this hotel. The people there were INCREDIBLY friendly and accommodating. I can't recommend this place enough, especially for the value and if you're traveling with a baby.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarJar319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    942
    158
    55
    21
See reviews for
660
1,189
108
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

Great place to stay. Excellent location. Nice big clean comfortable rooms. Very friendly helpful staff. Complimentary breakfast & tea & coffee anytime in a comfortable sitting room which overlooks the city. Enjoyed a nice meal in the restaurant as well. If coming from the airport it's a cheap ride on the Bart Train to Powell Street Station & then a short walk to the hotel. Same going back to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

I have been to SF a number of times and have stayed in a number of hotels. I was impress with the Donatello Hotel First in centrally located, an step away from restaurant, cable cars, Union Square, and best fashion store in town. Rooms were spacious and clean, staff very friendly and the Restaurant AAA+ I would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolmarMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

We had a great rate for the off-season which always allows for overlooking certain things, although the room was just fine. The front desk staff are very hospitable. The location, just a block from Union Square, is convenient. A detail I appreciate is that the windows can be open for fresh air. I brought my 6 year old with me on this business trip and it was perfect for her. I've stayed at the established hotel and the entitled quaint inn in the Union Square area and I will opt for this hotel first the next time I have to travel to San Francisco because of the value.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

I picked this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews. The reviews were accurate. I stayed for two nights. The room was very clean and quiet. The bed comfortable. The staff helpful. The location outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimosatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

We stay the Donatello when ever we go into San Francisco. It is just a block off Union Sq. and 1 to 2 blocks to a number of theaters as well as great restaurants and clubs. The rooms are really large with plenty of room to spread out. The hotel has valet parking right on the premises and getting your car takes no more than 5 min. or so. The staff is great, friendly and helpful. Since we lived in SF for 35 years until 2005 we don't usually take advantage of the Concierge services. We have eaten in the Zingari Restaurant in the past and it is top notch. One of the many things we like about the Donatello is the fact it has nice bar with live jazz and a happy hour. All in all it is the best deal in town!! We have stayed at two other hotels of similar size, price and location, but you can not beat the Donatello. This is our home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkdw2byrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

Whenever we take a trip to San Francisco and need to stay in the Union Square area, we select The Donatello. It is just a few blocks from Union Square, the major department stores and great restaurants are an easy walking distance. The personnel at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and are equipped with microwaves, refrigerator and dishes plus the usual TVs and CD/radios. Since my husband is handicapped, we have received extra, friendly help from the bellmen and since we frequent often, they are most gracious to us. The hotel is not fancy but it is attractive, comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SacramentoSFFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,056 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,407 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing