We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!!!!”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #40 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This is an amazing hotel and in a great location, close to everything. The staff is extremely accommodating and it's a great value. Loved the free breakfast too. The free internet was great to have too. Will surely stay there again!
(And for anyone who wants a great place to eat when there check out Lori's Diner, it's so reasonably priced for the area and the food is tasty!)

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shuggah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,003 - 2,009 of 2,675 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2009

I was travelling with a friend and it was my first trip to San Francisco. I was thrilled with both the great location and the hotel itself. The concierge and desk clerk when I checked in were both excellent. I don't remember their names, but I checked in around 1:30 PM on 3/19/09. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast was very fresh with nice selection for a continental breakfast. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zannala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We recently stayed at the Donatello with our two young children. It is in a perfect location 1 block from Union Square and the Powell Street cable car line. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and very large. We had a king size bed with a pull out couch and still had plenty of floor space. The room also had a nice plasma tv and a dvd which was nice for the kids after a long day exploring SF. There was also a continental breakfast with fruit, bagels, muffins, donuts and juice which made it easy to get an early start to the day. When I return to SF I am definitely statying at the Donatello.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We stayed at the Donatello recently with our 6 year old son. We had the studio suite with a king bed and sofa bed. The room was huge, clean, had a great area with sink, coffee-maker, fridge, microwave & toaster - plus some basics such as salt & pepper, plates, wine glasses & wine opener. The staff was fabulous and extremely helpful! Highly recommend for great room, great location & great staff!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krinker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

The Donatello is a nice place because of its location in Union Square and cleanliness of hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, though the pillows could be better. They were very flat, but large enough to fold over to have adequate fluff. The housekeeeping staff was pleasant and helpful. They offered extra towels/linens and turn down service daily, though we did not ask for it to be more environmentally responsible. The continental breakfast provided was convenient as we preferred to sleep in and eat in our rooms each morning. We appreciated the perk, though the woman concierge was quite rude. She did not smile and watched over us with her arms crossed. She even had the nerve to ask me what room I was in even though she saw me sign in! The front desk staff and others were friendly and courteous. They acknowledged us with a smile or greeting every time we passed through the lobby. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Donatello and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Great place to stay close to the cable cars and transportation, easy to get to everything from the donatello, like union square fishermans wharf the castro and other sight seeing places. The staff were very friendly and helpfull and the rooms very spacious and clean. buffet breakfast that was a bonus as well as we wern't expecting that.
you are given a welcome pack when you arrive which helps you decide on any tours or sight seeing trips you might like to plan

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dahmac1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We've stayed at the Donatello several times over the last 2 years. This trip was the first with our 2 young kids. It was great. The service has always been friendly and speedy, the location in Union Square was great for us, and the room we got was very spacious (some rooms are bigger than others -- ask when making your reservation if you need more space for more people). The rooms all have only one bed, but there is also sofa-sleeper in each room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisdls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
618 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,384 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
4,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#91 of 230 in San Francisco
1,903 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £146 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing