We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality services - value for money”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #41 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 June 2009

It is a nice hotel at the very center of the city (close to Union square), easy to approach, close to the commercial center (Union square) and to all main means of city transport. The services provided to us were very good. The hotel staff was very prompt to serve us well and immediately. The room, the WC (and the beds) were big and continuously kept very clean. The price of the room was very good. Many fittness services were provided free of charge. The "continental" breakfast, which was also included in the room price, was not very rich but acceptable. The room ("Club") in which the breakfast was provided (self-service) was rather small, but we never experienced any problem in finding a table.In general the value for money of this hotel is very high.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarantis010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,942 - 1,948 of 2,633 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

We recently stayed 2 nights in the Donatello whilst on our honeymoon in the US.  We booked the Donatello based on previous trip advisor reviews and it lived up to the reputation.  The hotel is excellent, rooms are large, comfortable and well furnished with sofa/bed, plasma tv, fridge, coffee, kitchen sink, plates and cutlery.  Because we were on our honeymoon we were upgraded to a balcony room and given complimentary champagne upon arrival.  Jesus, along with all the staff at reception did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and welcome at this hotel.  Location is excellent just 1 block back from Union Square and so close to everything.  Free internet computer in the lobby for those without a laptop is great also.  We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaHDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We are Shell Resort Elite owners (from New Jersey) and have been to several Shell resorts and upscale destinations. We are regulars at The Donatello whenever we are in San Francisco. This hotel is not the most posh but for the location, comfort, amenities, and the super friendly, courteous staff, this hotel ranks up there. As soon as we walked in, the front desk welcomed us warmly. Our room was not ready because we got in early. So we went out for a quick lunch and when we returned our room was all ready with our luggage inside. We were given a room in the upper floor so we did not hear the city noise. The rooms and the hallways though could use an upgrade to make this hotel really outstanding. Their concierge staff has been superb and accommodating. Morgan worked with us on our dining tastes and she hit a 'home run' on every recommendation. The housekeeping staff always smiled and greeted us. The hotel is in Union Square right by the theater district and there are lots of galleries to see. The cable car, shops, restaurants, and a nice mall are all walking distance. This is a hotel that should be on everyone's list. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btsca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

The Donatello will far exceed your expectations. The rooms are large for San Francisco, clean and classy. The decor is trendy and the beds & linens are super cozy. From the moment you walk in, the staff at the Donatello seems eager to welcome you and to make your stay and visit to the City amazing. Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaLuxuryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

If you want to be pampered with the utmost kindness, courtesy and caring assistance, make the Donatello your home away from home while in San Francisco. The staff - Moises, Jesus, Ed, Romie, Joe, Tony, and Ed (along with everyone else) - is the most accommodating, knowledgeable and cheerful group of people we have ever met. They went above and beyond with every request we had -- from telling us about great places to dine to securing tickets for our two-day Open Top sightseeing bus to arranging for our transportation to/from Napa and to the airport. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and quiet. Yes, quiet -- in downtown San Francisco just steps from Union Square and thousands of people. Rooms were equipped with a fridge, small micro and coffee maker. Twice we phoned the desk for service and twice someone appeared at our door within a minute or two. Unlike others who registered some disappointment about the continental breakfast, we were quite pleased -- fresh pastries, fruit and juice; robust coffees and several teas; hot instant cereal; and daily newspapers offered in a cozy library/den setting with a fireplace and outdoor access. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SierraRose2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This hotel has a brilliant location, and is great value for money.

A nice safe, central, clean and tidy hotel.

We had just come from pretty much a five star hotel in Vegas so were a bit nervous about what this hotel would be like. The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. Everything was in good condition.

The hotel rooms were nice and quiet, and the staff friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was excellent. It was less than ten minutes walk to the main shopping area on Market Street, and the gorgeous Union Square was about five minutes walk, if that. So many lovely restaurants around to choose from, and not far from the central cable car route.

We hada great time in San Francisco, no doubt made more enjoyable by staying in a lovely cosy hotel. I felt very at home here, both in the hotel and San Fran.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoTack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

This hotel's staffs are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in Donatello for 3 nights and found that the location is perfect for taking public transportation. So a rental car is not needed. We didn't use all the available facilities but the daily complimentary breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
602 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
1,740 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
1,193 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £128 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing