We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel and great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #40 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
1 review
“great hotel and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

A great hotel in a great location. Very good value. Our room had an outdoor terrace which was fantastic (only some rooms have this). I would stay there again if going to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QPRTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,346
    938
    156
    54
    20
See reviews for
652
1,186
107
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

Our stay at the Donatello from May 23-28 was truly wonderful! The hotel staff were pleasant, efficient and friendly. The hotel room was spacious, homey and well equipped.Internet was fast and free.
The hotel is centrally located, just a short walk to Union Square-the transportation center, shops and restaurants.
It is a gem. We intend to stay in Donatello whenever we go to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaKobeJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

This was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. I was satisfied in every way. Great location, could walk everywhere in San Fransisco and it was in a great upscale area. The staff was very pleasant, room was large, clean, well equipped and very comfortable. It felt very upscale. The concierge gave us some great tips on Napa and places to eat in the city. I would most defintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njgirlNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

We were 2 adults with our 2 "20 something" kids on a family vacation for 5 days. Read a lot of nice reviews here and went for it. Requested room away from street and got what we wanted. Service was wonderful and quick for any request we made. We were within walking to all major shopping, nice resturants, and street cars. It was much nicer staying downtown instead of in commercialized Wharf area. Room were VERY spacious and clean and nice furnishings. Shower head was the only complaint. Bathroom was clean, but a little dated. Would stay here again any time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlgreenindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

We ( coming from Switzerland) had been mooving our son from Tennessee to San Francisco,and we had been staying for a month in the Donatello. We had been absolutely satisfied. First of all a very warm reception has been given to us. The room had been spacious and very nice, and it had always been spotlessly clean.
The hotel has also a nice bar an a very good restaurant. We enjoyed our stay so much and we absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Paule E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

It is a nice hotel at the very center of the city (close to Union square), easy to approach, close to the commercial center (Union square) and to all main means of city transport. The services provided to us were very good. The hotel staff was very prompt to serve us well and immediately. The room, the WC (and the beds) were big and continuously kept very clean. The price of the room was very good. Many fittness services were provided free of charge. The "continental" breakfast, which was also included in the room price, was not very rich but acceptable. The room ("Club") in which the breakfast was provided (self-service) was rather small, but we never experienced any problem in finding a table.In general the value for money of this hotel is very high.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarantis010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

We recently stayed 2 nights in the Donatello whilst on our honeymoon in the US.  We booked the Donatello based on previous trip advisor reviews and it lived up to the reputation.  The hotel is excellent, rooms are large, comfortable and well furnished with sofa/bed, plasma tv, fridge, coffee, kitchen sink, plates and cutlery.  Because we were on our honeymoon we were upgraded to a balcony room and given complimentary champagne upon arrival.  Jesus, along with all the staff at reception did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and welcome at this hotel.  Location is excellent just 1 block back from Union Square and so close to everything.  Free internet computer in the lobby for those without a laptop is great also.  We would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaHDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,342 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing