We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and convenient downtown hotel.”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #42 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We had a great stay at the Donatello. The concierge was most helpful, the room was clean and more than adequate. It is easy to get to tourist sites, financial centers, Union Square and public transit from the location.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank tempetraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,618)
There are newer reviews for The Donatello
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 2,619 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2009

Large, comfortable rooms. Great location. Everyone in our group of nine loved this hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
Thank Gabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Travelling with a 4 year old is never easy and one of the things we were looking for when planning to goto San Francisco was easy access to all the city has to offer without a car. The Donatello is literally 1 block away from Union Square where you can hop on and off the trolleys to Fisherman's Warf. The rooms at the Donatello are getting a little dated, especially in the bathrooms, but there was nothing gross about it. The living area was very spacious for the 3 of us and the noise level (floor 9 in front of the elevator) was actually quite minimal. The front desk staff were courteous and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The only less than ideal part of the hotel is the small breakfast area and the very limited food inluded in the continental breakfast (just an assortment of muffins and donuts). We ended up taking the food back to our rooms. Overall the it served as the perfect base of operations for our 5 day trip and for $99/night, this was the best bang for the buck.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bm93travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Hotel is centrally located, just a block away from Union Square and easy access to public transportation, which was important, as it made it easy to move around. I was travelling with my 13 year old grandson, and everyone at the Donatello made us feel right at home from the minute we arrived until our departure. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the city and attractions.
Rooms are very spacious, clean and well appointed. Beds are VERY comfortable. Breakfast (continental) was included and very good.
High Speed internet was offered and free. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miaterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The staff was the greatest. I travel a lot in my line of business and I am generally alone. The Donatello staff ensured me that my stay would be great and it was. From Mark at the from desk, to room service and even the parking attendant made sure that my every need was taken care of . I have stayed in other resort hotels in San Francisco, but found this one and its staff great. As a solo traveler for business I was ensured by the staff that my stay would be great and it was. A big thank you to all of the housekeeping staff, the room was cleaned and fresh everyday. Again to Mark and the rest of the staff a big thank for the amazing experience. I will be back more often.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Hotel staff were very accomodating and efficient. The suites were beautifully furnished and super clean-quite upscale and modern. Boutique style hotel right in the middle of terrific shopping and restaurants to walk to. Numerous art galleries all around. Easy access to the cable cars and tour buses. The consierge was extremely helpful the valet parking were top notch and very speedy to take our luggage and car. Never had such a fast and uncomplicated check in. Entrance very classy with marble and wood. The best was an Italian restaurant on the 2nd floor and a cosy piano bar.You must stay there it was a real treat to be so taken care of.next time I will plan to stay longer and take advantage of the spa and fitness areas

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rutha33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Very large clean and modern rooms. Great value in superb central location. You're only a short hop from union sq and all the shopping etc. You're also very close to the trolleys that head up to the wharf.
The breakfast is not really worth bothering with but there are some great places near by.
We will return

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerrymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
5,274 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
1,183 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#9 of 230 in San Francisco
1,730 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £144 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing