We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and enjoyable stay with great top-floor Concierges!”
Review of The Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Donatello
Ranked #41 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marazion, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“A comfortable and enjoyable stay with great top-floor Concierges!”
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I spent 9 comfortable days at the Donatello while my partner was in SF at a conference, and found the rooms spacious and comfortable. They look somewhat dated, but one warms to that, and the convenience of having the space and a fridge and kitchen area is appreciated.

Breakfast was limited but pleasant, not least for the opportunity to chat and pick the brains of the wonderful concierges - Poldi and Peter. They were a mine of information, and have extensive files of the same to hand to assist you in your sight-seeing and restaurant booking!

Don't bother with the hotel restaurant - very average - go across the road to Fino's for good Italian food! (And don't forget the 'Cheesecake Factory' at Macey's - what a find!).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    970
    167
    55
    21
See reviews for
686
1,206
108
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We thought this was a fantastic hotel. We really enjoyed the Friday night wine tasting.. The staff was very helpful in offering tips on navigating the city.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The Donatello for the most part met my expectations during my five night stay.

After researching sites like Trip Advisor and finding an excellent rate at this hotel, I decided to give the Donatello a try.

The rooms were quite large with ample space to spread out. The queen-sized bed was comfortable. I was fortunate enough to get a corner room and experienced minimal hallway traffic and noise. The room's layout and cleanliness were good but the quality of furniture and lighting seemed below average for this level of hotel class. Since I was on the fifth floor, there was also a fair amount of street noise.

The bathroom was a pleasant surprise with a convenient layout, plenty of counter top space and clean towels. Overall feeling of cleanliness was extremely high similar to what one can find at a five or six star hotel.

The continental breakfast was basic but good. Sliced bread, bagels, donuts and pastries and fresh fruit were available. Coffee was quite good and served hot. Every morning, the tiny breakfast room and outside deck areas were crowded with as many guests as it can hold.

The fitness center is across from the breakfast room and small with one treadmill, cycling machine and some free weights.

The Donatello is little more than one block away from Union Square and about five blocks from the trolley car station. During the day, the area around the hotel seems to be relatively safe. Many nights walking back to the hotel was uneventful with a decent amount of people and cars still going through the area.

Most memorable was the friendliness of the hotel staff. They were very approachable and helpful and keen on making your stay a pleasant one.

Overall the service was highly commendable with generously-sized and comfortable rooms. The hotel is unpretentious and well-kept. The Donatello can offer tremendous value when staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omegamoon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Great location with good size rooms, friendly service, great value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I stayed at this hotel for only one night, but wish I could have stayed longer. The value for the price is excellent. I traveled with my husband and my brother and the room was spacious enough to accommodate all three of us. The location could not have been better, a short walk to Union Square and the cable car lines. Our room was very clean (the bathroom was a bit dated, but clean). We stayed on the fifth floor and were not bothered by any city noise. I would highly recommended staying at the Donatello!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The Donatello was a great place to stay! The rooms were very clean and were very spacious! We had great service from the concierge, Carlos, he was great! The bed was really comfortable and we had no street noise in our room! And the location was excellent. The trolley stop is only 1 block away and it gets you right to Fisherman's Wharf and Lombard Street. And it's fun to ride! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, LA
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2009

The room was huge, lots of storage space, very neat and clean. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was, perfect location, easy in and out. The concierge was very helpful, she made reservations for us for dinner and for some of the attactions, no additional fees. The happy hour was always the perfect way to the end of a wonderful sightseeing day. All of the hotel staff made us feel very welcomed.
The restaurant was great. The waitstaff were very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,199 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,613 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#56 of 229 in San Francisco
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,763 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
570 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donatello

Property: The Donatello
Address: 501 Post Street, cross street - Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Donatello 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Located in the heart of San Francisco's fashionable shopping and theater district by Union Square is the spacious Donatello. Settle into tastefully appointed rooms and enjoy the top floor fitness center, with a whirlpool spa and private saunas, which provides the perfect retreat after a day exploring the city. You can take a cable car up and down San Francisco 's colorful neighborhoods or explore the many streets of Chinatown. And when you work up an appetite in a city know for its cuisine, the Zingari Ristorante, located onsite, is a Northern Italian feast for the taste buds. Fully experience fine dining, theater and shopping in San Francisco at our luxurious retreat in the exciting City by the Bay-a San Francisco getaway perfect for romance, leisure and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel San Francisco
Donatello San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing