We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Treasure in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #29 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Fairmont is a grand hotel, located atop Nob Hill at California between Powell and Mason. It is a perfect spot to catch both cable car lines. And when the cable cars are filled, get some exercise walking down the steep streets. The Fairmont is rich in history. The lobby and common areas are classy and architecturally pleasing. Our room 1208 was in the tower building, facing the city. The city views were fantastic. Great views of the water from the other side of the building. The hotel has been completely refurbished. Our room was pleasantly large and attractive. Great bed and linens. Liked the Keurig coffee maker in the room. Rooms in the main building of the hotel miss the views of the high tower but are large with equal amenities. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The Fairmont is in a beautiful neighborhood next to the Huntington Park and the Grace Cathedral. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoWithGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks very much for your kind words about the hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed the hotel and plan on returning. As you mentioned we are a very historic property and much of that storied past is on display throughout the hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering great service so I'm happy to hear you found the staff helpful and friendly. Huntington Park is one of the prettiest in the City and we are fortunate to be located one block away. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to host you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,027 - 3,033 of 3,464 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the moment you walk thru the door is like walking back in history. If you can gets suite in the old section the view over the city is spectacular the rooms are ornate and very interesting. Just to sit in the lobby and watch people let your mind wander and next thing you know your back in the day

Room Tip: The suites in the old section are the best. Only stay in the new tower if you like that sort of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. As you mentioned, we are a historic property and much of that storied past in on display throughout the hotel. Though we are admittedly biased, we feel our lobby is the most beautiful in the City and an example of "they don't build them like they used to." Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Beautiful hotel on top of hill. Great views . Location to cable cars awesome. You can access all three lines outside the cafe. Which has a great light breakfast at moderate cost. Get ready to walk up and down hills. Use cable cars as much as u can. Purchase day passes much cheaper. Hotel has lots of history that is well documented for all to see. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlioy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Firstly, this hotel is beautiful from the outside and you are in awe at the opulence and spender when you enter. As always with Americans, the customer service is second to none! We arrived and were helped immediately with our bags to the room.

once we checked in we were asked if we wanted to join the Fairmont Presidents Club, this is something you should definitely do as its free and it entitles you to free unlimited wifi at any hotel. This saves you $13.99 a day. Not that we were scrimping as this was the first leg of our three week honeymoon and we had shelled out for a suite in the towers section of the hotel.

On entering the room were were amazed at the quality of the decor and furnishings, everything looked new and the suite was very big. It consisted of three large rooms, a bathroom, a bedroom and a separate living room and dining area. The L shaped room had windows all around with panoramic views of the city. As San Francisco is very hilly, this Knob Hill location which is one of the highest points is perfect. The room came with a telescope and a perfect view of the bay and Alcatraz.

We were staying for 5 days and we regretted not having breakfast included as with out a car you have to either take a cab, cable car or walk! WALKING is not for the faint hearted from this hotel. You will lose a few pounds on these hills! ;-)

The hotel concierge were phenomenal, they knew it was our honeymoon and we were greeted with a champagne and strawberries on arrival and we also managed to get them to circumvent the huge waiting times at two popular places, The Cheescake factory and R&G House. Normally there is a 45 min to 1.5hour wait time and no reservations allowed at the Cheesecake factory but the concierge made a call and we were literally seated on arrival, we were overwhelmed and very happy, (Thank you Steve from concierge), The other place, R&G was a chinese and again, there was a huge massive queue outside with people waiting to get in, Tommy from Concierge again worked some magic and we were literally pushed right to the front, again, Thank you Tommy.

During our stay at San Fran, we went to Alcatraz, visited Lombard street and various other attractions, What I will say is, I regretted only hiring the car for the drive down to LA and would recommend people get a car even though the traffic is bad.

The cable cars are good fun and we bought a three day pass, this was a mistake and I would say to people that unless you are willing to queue for 1 - 2 hours or get up very wary, its not worth it and you are better off ensuring you have $5 in your pocket to jump on if you see there is no queues.

There is only two bad things I can say about this whole trip, one I would have liked it to have an onsite pool for a dip and there were some what looked like used q-tips in the container, I contacted concierge about this who were apalled that this was the case and took care of it immediately.

I wouldn't let this put anyone off, this hotel is AMAZING and we can't wait to return.

THERE is on more negative and I am keeping this separate from the above as this was Hertz who have a desk in the hotel.

We booked the car over a year before our stay, we intended on driving down route 1 to LA as its one of the most beautiful roads to drive in the world, We booked the car for 7am as its a good 400 -500 miles and we envisaged 8-10hrs.

Jannay the Hertz attended was not only late getting there, but I had to get the concierge to call her to find out that she had told us to be there for 7am when we enquired the day before but had told another disgruntled customer that she wouldn't be in until 7:15. So she basically lied to us, when she eventually turned up at 7:30am, she was very nonchalant about the car hire and informed me that there were no cars as they'd locked themselves out of the compound. She lied and tried to fob me off and the cars eventually turned up 2hours later and we had to deal with more traffic as a result.

When we arrived at San Fran I immediately contacted Hertz via email, I still am YET to receive a response. SHOCKING, as a gold member and renting an expense prestige car I would have expected better. The car was dirty, smelly and had some electrical problems with the headlights not working 100% of the time.

Again, the above is merely the Hertz side of it and nothing to do with the hotel, merely informing people who may be using Hertz as its within the hotel.

One last thing, don't forget your bill will include significant taxes, whatever price you were quoted, at at least 15% on top
Hope the review helps

Room Tip: Towers rooms have views of the Bay, we were in suite S2, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBateman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your extremely kind words about the hotel and congratulations on your wedding! We are thrilled to hear you chose to spend such a momentous occasion as your honeymoon with us. The tower suites offer some of most stunning panoramic views of the City and Bay and I'm sure made for the perfect backdrop. We pride ourselves on delivering engaging, personalized service so I'm happy to hear of your encounters with our Concierge team. We feel fortunate to have them turning moments into memories for our guests. Thanks again, congratulations on your wedding and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very friendly staff, nice room and a totally enchanting place to stay. We stayed there three nights, and just walking in the lobby entrance is a fantastic experience. I would definately recommend this place as you can find really good deals, it has a great location, good views and good service. Having a drink at the Tonga bar was also a great experience and something I would recommend just for the fun of it.

The two negative things we encountered: A somewhat offensive garage manager, and the overprized breakfast buffet (sure, 5-stars hotels may charge almost whatever for their breakfasts, but 32$ for a not more than ok buffet is still over the top. We had it just the first day, before finding out that the fenomenal Honey Honey cafe 5 mins away had far better breakfasts for less money).

Still - it is one of the best hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 220Andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thanks for your sharing you recent experience at the hotel. It sounds like you had a great stay and definitely are open to returning. I'm happy you were able to visit Tonga Room as it is certainly one of a kind and not to be missed when visiting San Francisco. I apologize for your encounter with the garage manager and hope that didn't too negatively affect your stay. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After an over night flight we tried to check in at 8am...and we were allowed to! We were so happy to be able to go take a nap and shower and change to start exploring San Francisco. The front desk staff was nice, the hotel lobby is really fancy and the room, while a tad on the small side was nicely decorated and furnished and provided with enough room. There was a large closet as well where one could put their luggage/clothes. The products in the room was a nice touch (bath products, very comfortable bed, coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea). The location is very good and close to exploring different areas of San Francisco. Would recommend this hotel.
Become a member of their loyalty program so that you can get free Internet and access to their gym.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear you had such a nice visit and we were able to accommodate your early check-in. I'm sure that was a very welcome occurrence after a long night of travel. I'm also pleased you found the hotel well-appointed and our location central. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Mona Lisa is the world's most famous painting, not its greatest; this hotel is not a world-class hotel, it is merely very famous. You're paying for pretense, not luxury and it's poor value. They charge steeply for things which are free in almost every other hotel. For the same price, you could get dramatically more luxury in another place; what you're paying for is the ability to claim you stayed at the Fairmont, much like DeBeers makes you pay steeply for useless rocks that it has convinced the world are precious. That isn't to say it wasn't nice; it was extremely nice, but only a "look but don't touch" kind of way.

I'd stress that we wanted to spend a lot of money in SF and have a good time so the price itself isn't the issue, the issue is that we felt we got poor value for money. For over $700 per night we think a large bathroom, free wifi, curtains that actually close and maybe some complementary coffee or breakfast in the morning isn't too much to ask for. Basically the Fairmont seemed more concerned with how they could extract the maximum amount of cash from its guests than with how it could make them happy and comfortable. If you want to say you stayed at the most exclusive hotel in SF, take the Fairmont. If you want to be treated like a king and live in the lap of luxury, take your money to a good 4-star hotel instead, you'll get far more bang for your buck.

I would like to praise the staff by the way for being highly professional; our issue is with management.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,369 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
535 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,245 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £166 - £557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing