We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont San Francisco
Ranked #28 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Easily one of the loveliest hotels in SF! We stayed in one of the tower rooms, in the newer part of the hotel. Our room was glorious, with impeccable furnishings and a perfectly-appointed bath--great for luxuriating! The lobby and public areas were stunning, and we enjoyed looking through the shops and various lounges--each prettier than the next! Also enjoyed the numerous photo displays documenting the many notables who'd stayed there over the years and historic events that had taken place there--very enlightening! Staff were extremely polite and service-oriented, and went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Tower rooms were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your extremely kind words about the hotel. We welcome all guest feedback, but are particularly happy to hear from such a seasoned traveler as yourself. We are thrilled to hear you found the hotel so lovely and your room beautiful. We recently completed a complete guestroom renovation and feel our rooms bring a modern luxury to our classical hotel. Much of our storied history is on display throughout the property and it sounds like you spent some time exploring those images. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,925 - 2,931 of 3,365 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here July 2 to 6. When we checked in we decided to upgrade to a corner tower suite. Well worth the extra money. The views of the city were spectacular. The service was in true Fairmont style. The location is great for this hotel, central from Union square and Fisherman's wharf. Lots of restaurants in walking distance also.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheFort2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and your tower suite. We feel they are some of the most beautiful in the City and offer the perfect vantage point to admire the City and Bay. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

From the time you pull up to its elegant entrance, the 'wow' factor just increases! The lobby is majestic and awe-inspiring. Service is impeccable. The hallways are plush and luxurious yet bright and refreshing. The room was refined and elegant, very comfortable. New decor is refreshing yet maintains the luxury feel to the room. Love hearing the trolley bells as they go by, from the room. I will never stay anywhere else while in San Francisco! The breakfast buffet at the Laurel Court is amazing!!! Make sure you join the Fairmont Presidents Club before arriving to get the free wi-fi!

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower have better views and larger bathrooms with separate walk-in shower and bathtub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dancinghorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind words about the hotel. We aim to turn moments into memories for our guests and it sounds like we did that in your case. While we are admittedly biased, we feel our lobby is the most beautiful in the City and provides the "wow" factor you mentioned. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great Place to stay, especially the view. Super Friendly Staff and a great place for romantic trip or business...........................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is a little pricey but worth it. It was incredibly beautiful. Staff was friendly & helpful. We used this Hotel not only for the amazingly delicious restaurant inside called The Tonga Room but also for our family/guests of our wedding to stay here. Meghan was very helpful and took care of us from the first moment we spoke with her. Being that we we're setting up a room block for our wedding guests, we had lots of questions and she always kindly & promptly got answers back to me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Chantelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful and there is so much history here. Every president since Taft has stayed here and the charter for the United Nations was drafted at this hotel!

The lobby was beautiful and the staff was very helpful! My Fiance and I came out to SF to get married and were staying at the Fairmont for 4 nights. When Scott at the front desk realized we were there to get married he upgraded us to a beautiful room with an amazing view. We watched the 4th of July fireworks right from our room as we have a view of the bay, the wharf and Alcatraz! They delivered us champagne and also recommended some great places to eat.

Location can not be beat there are three cable car lines that all intersect right by the Fairmont. It is so easy to take the trolley! If you are looking to be pampered and feel like celebrity this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay/alcatraz, 6th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice time with us and we were able to upgrade you for the 4th of July. I can imagine what a nice way to spend the Holiday that was! Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was absolutely stunning. With so much history for a hotel it was very interesting walking round reading through what an important role this hotel has played in San Francisco over the years. Very handy for walking to Fishermans Wharf, China Town and Union Square (or jumping on a cable car) will be returning here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSF, Online Marketing Manager at Fairmont San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks very much for your kind words. I'm thrilled to hear you found the hotel stunning! As you mentioned we are very centrally located with access to many of the City's top tourist destinations. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lucas Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,316 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,174 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
1,633 reviews
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Francisco

Address: 950 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94108-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £187 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-renowned, Fairmont San Francisco hotel presents an awe-inspiring picture of historic San Francisco. The grandeur of the hotel coupled with its reputation for impeccable service promises a truly memorable experience. Known for turning moments into memories for leisure and business travelers alike this luxury San Francisco hotel has been host to some of the most influential meetings and events, breathtaking weddings and personalized special occasions of the century. Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 592 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The hotel combines classic ambience with modern amenities. For business travelers, Fairmont San Francisco hotel accommodations features include a spacious work desk, multi-line telephone with voice-mail and High Speed Internet Access. Each of the hotel's spacious guest rooms and suites have been elegantly updated including flat screen TVs, luxury linen ensembles and pillow top beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Fairmont Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing